We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of Kona Makai

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kona Makai
Reviewed 25 February 2008

Not so good. Property looked nice and the grounds were well maintained. But...the condo is dated and you can tell. Water heaters are very small and turned way down (to conserve energy) so showers were short or they were cold. Shower curtain also smelled like wet dog. yuck. Mold in bathroom on the painted wall by shower. Looks like it had been painted over instead of fixing the problem. Kitchen had a major ant problem and it wasn't even tried to be covered up. Lots of ant killer left sitting out on the counters! Besides this, the place was in fairly decent shape. The bed was comfortable and the linens clean, dishes were clean and plentiful. The complex is quiet and not a place for kids. (Strict no swim diapers rule on the door to the pool.) Also, pool and hot tub shut down at 8-9pm. I would suggest booking elsewhere, but if you had to, this place was OK. I would personally not go back.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hawaii-Chik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2008

We saw Kona Makai on the web in 2001 and stayed there for 3 weeks that year. It was so good, we returned in 2006 for another 3 weeks - both visits were in condo 6/306. This year (2008) we will be there for 4 weeks! Does this tell you it's an ok place to stay?!! A quiet location, well kept gardens, no crowds around the pool or jacuzzi. Fabulous oceanfront setting - watch the spinning dolphins from your lanai! Secure entry/exit & parking. Condo beautiful & well equipped. Free WiFi internet access & local phone calls. Have never walked to shops, but would expect it would take about 30 mins to Kailua-Kona centre Hawaiian time!

Watch this space for an update on our return in the autumn, maybe even with photos!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank liftdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2007

We spent two weeks in Condo 2304 and this is my honest opinion of the complex.
The grounds are well kept, the location on the ocean is awesome, and the pool area is nice. Our condo was nicely furnished, clean (the ants aren't too bad you just can't leave anything out for them).
The a/c in the living room kept cutting off and didn't put out much cool air. We call the Property Network about it, a guy came to look at it said it needed a part replaced, and he had to ask the mgmt. company about it first, and we never heard from anyone again. Thank goodness the a/c in the bedrooms worked great!!

Now for the general atmosphere of the complex, what I gather there is a few older couples that live there, and I get the impression their not overly enthusiastic about "renters" staying there, especially ones with children, or people that might be on vacation and expecting to have a little fun that isn't between the hours of 9am-9pm. We were there with another family who had younger boys that are well behaved, that were pretty much "harassed" by the full-time occupants, over a few little rules they might of thought of breaking, and believe me they got ALOT OF RULES!!!

They complained when they were playing a quiet game of "Marco Polo" I believe that's Rule #9 being broken, they complained when they had their little feet in the Spa ( mind you nobody else was in it, even the "ones" complaining were outside the gated fencing around the pool). It wasn't that they even speak to you in a nice way, they were down right rude.

We were out on our lanai one evening around 10pm, laughing and listening to music, honestly not being loud at all, here comes another one of "them" to complain and notify us there's a curfew!!
Really???? I can't believe if people were in the condo's with their windows shut and their a/c on, there is no way they could of heard us!!! Now if they stick their head out the window and listen real hard then yeah, they probably did hear us!!

These "people" just seem very unhappy and hell bent on making others the same. So I say as long as the owners of these condo's keep taking our $, knowing we're on vacation expecting to have a good time and bringing children, then they need to get over it, or go find a nice "assisted living complex" to live in.

The manager was a nice guy, I don't envy his job trying to keep these people happy. I actually saw him ask a adult swimming alone to leave the pool, because by golly is was 9:01 pm.
We were there when Hurricane Flossie actually never came in, but anyways Monday nite, when it's way off the coast of the OTHER SIDE OF THE ISLAND moving very slowly, they took up on the the pool chairs and closed the pool!!! So all day Tuesday a perfectly nice day w/barely a breeze and no rain, we had no pool to set out at. And we went left Wed. morning still no hurricane and no pool!!

Well I hope this helps any of you thinking about staying there, I suppose it's just a matter of choice. So Good Luck!!



  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Sunluvnme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2007

Our trip was from June 30-July 14th. We stayed in unit 6301. It had an amazing wrap around lanai with incredible views. The unit was clean and comfortable. We never saw the management during our entire stay, however some of the guests told us that they are new and friendly. Pool area is nice but pool needs to be refinished. We had an amazing two weeks at this ocean front condo. The landscaping is beautiful. Took some great pictures. Met very nice people. We used the barbeque a few times. They are putting in all new ones. Our children met other kids and we went and bought ping pong balls for them all to use. We got in the water right below the condo after seeing many others snorkel and swim there. That was a neat treat. Loved watching the dolphins and turtles swimming by everyday. We even happen to see a manta ray one morning gliding along. The parasail comes by everyday and the pirate ship was a fun thing to hear and see. We did the Fair Winds to Cpt. Cook and had the most amazing time. If you like sushi -Fujimamas was excellent we did it twice. Kona Brewing Company had great pizza first night not so great the second but the beer is amazing. Please don't hesitate to stay at this well appointed condo - we were a little afraid due to previous reviews but had the best vacation yet.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank e&mristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2007

My wife and I stayed here for 12 days. On our previous trip to the big island, we styed at the Casa de Emdeko. This one-bedroom unit was superior in most respects. First the beefs. Don't expect to enjoy the night air because the screen door on one of the lanais is broken and the other one doesn't lock. Both ceiling fans, living room and bedroom, are permanently fixed in the slow position. The air conditioner in the living room is on a timer with a maximum limit of 90 minutes. Expect to get your exercise turning it back on and forget about leaving and returning to a cool interior. There's an ant infestation in the kitchen. We added an additional six ant traps to those already present on every surface to no avail. Score: ants 1, humans 0.

Now the pros. The unit appears to be recently remodeled with new tile in the bathroom and kitchen, new appliances and new carpet in the living room. The furniture is clean and all of the appliances work. The kitchen is stocked with every cooking implement you'll need. There is a TV in the bedroom and a TV and mini stereo in the living room.

The complex has plenty of parking, some of it covered by the tennis courts. The pool and hot tub are fenced and this area closes exactly at 9:00 p.m., no exceptions. One night, the manager kicked us out and locked all of the gates. The hot tub switch is around 100 feet outside of the pool/hot tub enclosure and remember to take your key because the gate locks behind you. The grilling area, which fronts the ocean, includes tables. Covered tables are located in the cabana.

This complex is typical of others in the area, in need of some major renovatation within 10 years. However, the quality and price can't be beat.

One note of caution regarding the rental firm I used, Sunquest Vacations. They tried to overcharge me for both of my rentals.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dzhugashvili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
211
Reviewed 22 June 2006

We stayed in unit 3205 for seven days and enjoyed it so much we extended our stay a further four days. The one bedroom unit was well equipped with everything you could possibly wish for to make a romantic break special. Washer/dryer, microwave, fully equipped kitchen, heaps of towels, air-con, ceiling fans & cable tv are I believe standard in most of the units. Especially wellcome were the little touches (left, I suspect, by the owner) such as candles for dining on the lanai, the blender for mixing the all-important cocktails for sundown, spices in the kitchen, dictionary for scrabble addicts and the well stocked medical chest we unfortunately had to use ( . . . I suspect the owner is a registered nurse).

The complex itself is quiet, nestled amongst beautifully manicured gardens, on the ocean front, set back from the very busy Alii Drive. Only twelve residents live there full-time, most of the units are vacant mid-year and we didn't see any kids (a blessing since we were there during summer break and just wanted a romantic idyll). The pool and hot tub are great, although my one criticism of the complex is that there is no shade around the pool which, as a natural red-head who burns easily, ruled out lounging beside the swimming pool after day-time swims.

We didn't hire a car as we had been to Big Island before and just wanted to chill out. Walking into town was great exercise, although not to be attempted in the heat of the day. Avoid the Mexican restaurant (called, um, . . . Three Hombres?) closest to the condos - expensive and mediochre at best. Dining at the more expensive Kona Islander Inn was a real treat and well worth the money.

Wouldn't hesitate to stay at Kona Makai again - wish I was there now!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
16
Reviewed 30 April 2006

My husband and I had the opportunity to stay at the Kona Makai on the Big Island of Hawaii and it was wonderful! The beautiful oceanfront location of the complex as well as the breathtaking oceanview from the lanai was fabulous. The unit itself was located on the South side of the complex, which we were told is the best side for the sunset views. The condo was well equipped, bright and very clean. We were able to snorkel & scuba dive right in front of the complex and the oceanfront pool & jacuzzi were an added plus after hiking all day. The complex was very quiet and we looked forward to the evening gathering by the pool to watch the sunset. We will definitely be staying here again! if you are looking for an economical and convenient place to stay on the Big Island, the Kona Makai will not disappoint you.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
2.6 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
2.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
2.6 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,914 reviews
0.7 km away
Aston Kona by the Sea
Aston Kona by the Sea
#3 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
610 reviews
1.1 km away
Kona Reef Resort
Kona Reef Resort
#11 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Makai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Makai

Address: 75-6026 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2366
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $200 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kona Makai 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Also Known As:
Kona Makai Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Makai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing