We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just left and I am already wanting to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Northern Nights Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 46 Seward B&B and Inns
Tavernier, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just left and I am already wanting to go back”
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Great food, hosts, location, anything and everything you could want in a Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fedxchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    6
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2010

We stayed only one night but it was very nice. Here's a synopsis:

Rooms: They have four rooms and we had the two upstairs. Private bathrooms which were very clean, enough hot water for me and two others around the same time. Our room had a queen and a pull-out twin. The queen bed was quite comfortable but the twin was very, very squishy probably due to being a pull-out. The night we were there was quite warm (65-70 F) and our rooms were a little hot even with the window open. Now, as a disclaimer: Seward isn't hot very often.

Shared Space: There is a dining room and a living room as well as their deck to enjoy.
Check in is after 5pm which was a little late for us but they will hold your luggage or check you in early if you arrange it beforehand.

Food: There were freshly baked cookies for us to eat as well as chips and sodas/juices available at all times. We were given a choice between blueberry pancakes and french toast for breakfast - we chose french toast. Breakfast had *almost* too much food :-)

Location: Situated on 6th Ave it is half a block from the Sea Life Center, one block from the bay and half a block from "downtown" Seward - the street with all the shops. Very nice location!

In conclusion, a very nice place to stay. Friendly and knowledgeable hosts and as Great-grandma says "I've never seen a place so clean!"

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank astcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2009

Location first attracted us because we did not have a car but could walk to everything from this location. However, the hostess and host were full of information and helpful in any way we needed. The place is clear and easy to relax in the common areas. Breakfast very good and allowed input on what we liked.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerryandMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level 6 Contributor
677 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

This was truly a wonderful place to stay. The room was small but fine. We had the living room available to us which was quite comfortable to relax in. The host and hostess were incredibly gracious, knowledgeable about things to do and both are great cooks. There were fresh cookies, muffins, chips and beverages available all the time. The breakfast was cooked fresh each morning at a mutually agreed upon time and included things like blueberry pancakes, fresh fruit, muffins, cereal, juice, coffee and tea. The location was great, right downtown and a block from the SeaLife Center. It exceeded my expectations and I'd stay again in a heartbeat. In fact, hope to go back sometime soon. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EnjoyTraveling64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2008

This was our first experience at a B & B and it was simply fantastic. I and my wife did a last minute booking and got to stay at the Northern Nights. Initially we were skeptical as we had no reviews to go by for this stay. But on our arrival the Sutherlands (host family) made all that anxiety disappear. We were very well taken care off especially in the food department. The place is just a block away from the harbor and the downtown too is just walking distance.
All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KID1381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
559 reviews
0.1 km away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
2.0 km away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#5 of 14 in Seward
92 reviews
0.2 km away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#7 of 14 in Seward
152 reviews
1.8 km away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#6 of 14 in Seward
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Nights Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Nights Bed & Breakfast

Property: Northern Nights Bed & Breakfast
Address: 225 Sixth Avenue, PO Box 491, Seward, AK 99664
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located near the downtown area and Alaska Sealife Center. A bike/walking path is only 1/2 block away, which meanders along Resurrection Bay. Guest accomodations include 4 bedrooms with private bathrooms,use of the living & dining rooms, deck and WiFi. Breakfast includes fresh baked goods,juice, fruit and with blueberry pancakes or french toast. Your Hosts are long time Alaskans and enjoy welcoming guests to Seward. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Northern Nights Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing