We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
57
12
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
12
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit spruce trees ground coffee downtown seward coffee maker place to stay laundry facility mini fridge grill cabin kitchenette firewood stove sleeping
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 71 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2017

We stayed at several cabins during our visit and this was absolutely one of our favorite places. The facility was run by the owner's sister and brother in law. They could not have been more inviting. They will go out of their way to make sure you have any information you needed for activities or places to go, including places only the locals are aware of. They have a laundry facility, gas bbq's, a community fire pit under a gazebo, firewood, etc available right on site. I would definitely recommend this as place to stay!

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2017

My sister and I spent two nights in Cabin #1 at the end of July during a weekend visit to Seward. The location was great--we were only about 5-10 minutes from downtown, but the site had the peace and secluded feeling of an area much farther in the countryside. We also walked around the roads nearby and enjoyed taking in the beautiful spruce trees and shrubbery.

The cabin itself was perfect for sleeping--we had one full-sized bed with a little eating table that was perfect for late-night Phase 10 games or for an early-morning breakfast before heading to town. Cabin #1 is also equipped with a kitchenette, including a stove, microwave, mini-fridge, coffee-maker, and toaster, not to mention mugs, plates, and utensils. They also provided ground coffee and tea bags, in case you forgot your own. Very convenient!

It was a little cool the weekend we stayed there, but there was a nice picnic table outside with a grill in case you wanted to barbecue. We DID take advantage of the nearby campfire pavilion to make s'mores one night. They provided firewood, kindling, and lighters at the site, which was great, and you could donate money toward the firewood ($6) at the laundry station. (Speaking of the cool weather, we did turn on the radiator in the evening, and it worked very well--our room was toasty warm.)

The cabins (#1-2) are a great place to stay if there are only two of you traveling. Plus, Abbie the manager was so kind and glad to answer any questions we had. We would happily recommend Camelot Cottages the next time you're stopping by Seward!

Room tip: Bring marshmallows to make s'mores over the campfire! Also don't hesitate to walk the roads nearby--beautiful woods and incredibly peaceful!
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marshap434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2017

Loved our little cottage. Plenty of room for two adults and two teens. Staff friendly and helpful. Laundry facility available. Each cottage had their own outside table and chairs, plus a community area for campfire. Beautiful wild flowers. Less than 10 minutes away from downtown Seward!

Room tip: Close to Seward
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pteshoales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2016

Judging from the reviews, it appears that there may be a significant quality gap between the cabins and accommodations we were offered.

Location: Just outside of Seward proper and convenient (by car) to the various attractions, but down unpaved roads. You'd think that this would mean charming low-density wooded areas, but in fact the density of homes is quite high, which eliminates any sense of peace and isolation. The neighborhood is also rife with people who spend the evenings tearing down the streets in trucks and doing burnouts and donuts on public roads in broad daylight, which isn't exactly conducive to a sense of tranquility. The staff arranged to leave the key in the door for our late-night checkin, but we were initially blocked by a dog belonging to a neighbor that had wandered over and was growling at us.

The Room: The Apartment, above the shop, is a quaint space good for a couple with kitchen area, microwave, coffee making facilities, loveseat, television etc. However there are some standard amenities that it does without that are serious problems. The establishment claims wifi, but the signal doesn't reach this unit. There is exposed wiring, the smoke detector is disabled, and no toiletries were provided (despite ground coffee being provided - go figure). There was what appeared to be uncleaned vomit on the inside of the main door. Further, the bed is not an actual bed but a mattress pad atop a futon. Finally, the door has a window that is not covered, allowing anyone outside to peer in and see the entire space.

When checking out, the proprietor tried to charge us some 15% more than the rate we had already negotiated.

All in all, not a wonderful experience. Next time we're in Seward, we'll probably stay in town.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank raiaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2016

We stayed in cabin # 2 this past June for 5 nights, and we were so happy! First, the cabin was perfect and you need--clean, comfortable, dark enough to sleep in the 24 hour daylight, and safe.The bed was very comfy! It was my husband's 40th bday when were there, and Abby took the time to even get him a cute gift! They go above and beyond here at Camelot cottages, and you will not be disappointed. It is only 7 min ride to the heart of Seward and close to the hiking around. We highly recommend it!!

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jennamccrory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews