We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not nearly as bad as most of the reviews”

Alaska Coastal Lodging
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alaska Coastal Lodging
Ranked #43 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

Although I did not have a stellar experience, this was much better than I expected based on the reviews I read beforehand. The TV was basically useless, and I had to push the lid inside the back of the toilet down every time I used it. Other than that, this place was fine. It is not fancy, but it is a short walk to downtown Seward, and you can park right outside your door. I would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

I was a bit worried when I booked this place because of previous reviews, but I decided to take a chance. We wanted to have a little more room to spread out towards the end of our Alaska Vacation and this place provided that room. We were traveling with two teenage daughters and stayed in the two bedroom unit. The key here is to manage expectations. It's not a fancy hotel. If you want that, don't book this place. It's a simple, decent apartment. It was clean, relatively comfortable, and everything worked. I especially appreciated the coffee maker and the daily maid service. One suggestion to owners -more hooks and racks in bathroom would be useful (as well as a little broom). I didn't regret staying there.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016

When we booked this was just about the only place left and I understand why. when we arrived we saw signs "absolutely no smoking" but the smell of stale smoke when we walked in was overwhelming. The beds are from hell. Also they deduct $50 if you don't leave the kitchen clean but no plug, dish cloth or washing up liquid. Total dive.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Margie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Well, I guess beggars can't be choosers and we booked our room late and needed space for three of us and this place was available (we were also traveling with friends who booked the adjacent room as well). Turns out that there was a reason why this place had rooms available.

On the positive side, it is centrally located between the harbor and the Sealife Center and you could walk to either side of town within 10 minutes. It also had on site parking. The bathroom appears to have been renovated since earlier reviews and is clean and functional.

There were numerous reasons why I am only awarding one star (and I am not usually too picky). The suite is very very basic with no character. We happened to be lucky enough to be there on a couple of warm days but that made for a very warm suite even with the windows open. The area was very loud, mostly in the back alley where the other units and nearby housing was located. The unit had a musty odor that never really went away even with the windows open. The sheets for the sleeper sofa/futon did not fit the bed and were not totally clean anyway, nor was the futon/sofa itself. There was no mattress pad for the futon, so we used the blanket. The sheets or mattress for the bedroom had an undesirable odor (maybe from previous smokers?) even though they appeared to be clean. The dishes we used were "mostly" clean but we felt compelled to wash them before we used them. Once we turned the refrigerator down it worked well but was loud and right near the foot of the bed if we had the bedroom door open.

It was definitely not worth the price we paid. Lesson learned is not to wait too long to find places in Seward.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRF84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

We made other arrangements as soon as we saw the condition of our suite.

The wood door and the door frame were split. This made it hard to open the door and lock the suite! Only one burner on the gas range worked properly. The steam heat registers were in poor condition. We tried to turn the "thermostat" (dial with no indicators) on but the room did not warm up during our two hour stay. A home-made "headboard" fell off the wall and onto the bed when it was bumped. It was made of heavy plywood and was barely secured to the wall with light weight picture hooks. When we contacted the proprietor, she would not give us a full refund, referring to her cancellation policy. We felt that a full refund was justified since the accomodations were completely unsatisfactory, unsafe and unsecured. We are still in dispute with her.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EliseCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2009

My husband & I stayed at the Marathon View with great trepidation -- it was the only hotel room we could get for the 4th of July weekend in Seward. Thankfully, we found a very friendly young couple now running the place (for only the last couple of weeks, we found out). Our room was clean, with fresh paint, new fixtures and appliances, and new flooring. This is an older hotel, and the room we had was small, and only had a view of an alley. But the price reflects this. The front rooms had a better view, and also cost a bit more. Of course, we didn't come to Seward to sit in the hotel room, but to enjoy a fun weekend outdoors. Please don't let the previous management dissuade you. Oh, and although I noted that the service was only average, that's only b/c this isn't a hotel which has much service involved -- other than checking in -- it's a very small place.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2008

What an incredible disappointment. Where do I begin? The moldy smell, the unwashed sheets that we feared were bedbug infested, the taped towel "curtain", the scary soiled carpet, the bathtub with disturbing brown spots, the "Marathon" view of a dumpster (complete with being woken up by the garbage truck in the morning)? How about the fact that this garage-turned-into-"condo" gem cost us $150/night?! Wish I saw these reviews and had the sense to stay away. This made a Motel 6 look five star. So scary that we didn't even dare set foot in the shower.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ersatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
1.3 km away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 13 in Seward
1,134 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 13 in Seward
592 reviews
0.7 km away
Best Western Plus Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 13 in Seward
408 reviews
5.3 km away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
5.8 km away
Box Canyon Cabins
Box Canyon Cabins
#17 of 46 in Seward
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Coastal Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Coastal Lodging

Address: 524 Fourth Avenue, Seward, AK 99664 (Formerly Marathon View)
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Alaska Coastal Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marathon View Seward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing