We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, but that's about it.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #34 of 44 Seward B&B and Inns
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Clean, but that's about it.”
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We needed just a place to sleep and that's what we got. It was clean and the bed was comfortable, but the ambiance left a lot to be desired. The property next door was a run down trailer court and our son and daughter-in-law's room looked out on a garbage area. We left early the next morning after a so-so breakfast. I guess you get what you pay for and in reality, it didn't hurt us as we came late and left early. Don't think we'll be back!

Room Tip: There were rooms toward the back of the property that were likely better. Reserve early and you migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    9
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
12
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
SC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

The website picture must have been taken years ago. It's not neat and cute, it's old with paint peeling everywhere. The grass isn't mowed and none of the floors are level. I wouldn't have even checked in, except the owner was nowhere to be found and I decided it was clean enough for 2 nights without ruining my last stop in Alaska by having to go find a different place to stay. At breakfast the next morning (which was well laid out and had plenty to choose from) conversations with other guests revealed that their accommodations were no better. In our 'cottage' the thermostat was held together with scotch tape. Neither the door nor the sliding door had a screen-Alaska has mosquitos. All of the window blinds were too small-Alaska has 22 hours of daylight. Still no owner to be found-and who wants to beat up on the elderly lady who's there to set up breakfast? Live and learn and don't go back. It was our only disappointment in 10 days of Alaska wonder.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank southernyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seward hotels

Urbana, IL
Level Contributor
133 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Our family enjoyed spending two days in Seward and the location of this Bed and Breakfast was perfect for us, the hostesses are also very friendly and willing to accommodate early arrivals. They also allow guests to use laundry facilities which is great if you have been kayaking or fishing!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulu1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

First, you see the trailer park that shares a driveway (and to a large extent--a vibe). Then the main building (which seems nice). Then you roll past the wrecked lawn equipment and wrecked car into the gravel lot where the kitchenette rooms are. The deck was beaten, paint peeling. The paint on the door looked dripped on instead of brushed on. Ceiling fixtures were half exposed. The blinds were broken and couldn't be drawn. There was a pump that ran, loudly, every five minutes (really, we timed it) but they couldn't seem to find anybody to fix it. The maid quit, too, so our towels didn't get replaced. Breakfast was OK--fruit and cereal. On the plus side, it was cheap and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doggerol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milan
Level Contributor
114 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2010

excellent place. Very clean, near Nash road, also with an big old yellow dog. Big rooms, breakfast and staff are ok.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngeloMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We had a 2 night reservation the The Farm B&B. We reserved a kitchenette that had a queen and a twin bed with a small kitchen. The instant we walked in the door we didn't like it. It is poorly maintained and smelled very badly of smoke. The carpet was stained and I felt like everything was falling apart. It was worse than any cheap motel I have ever stayed at. The worse part was we found a mouse in the tub - it was alive. We promptly told the owners and told them we would be staying somewhere else. I would never never go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redfordrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

I guess when I booked my trip to Alaska and booked a B&B, I thought it would be something quaint and memorable. I guess this place met the requirements I looked for but I would not go back or recommend it.

We were given 1/2 of a double "cabin". The floor inside was slanted and the vinyl flooring in the bath didn't meet at the seams exposing the plywood and glue. The shades in the bath were too small for the windows and slats were broken so anyone could get a good view inside. Certainly no bare feet on this floor.

The owner was pleasant at breakfast but it was just bread, cereal & juice. We seamed to be the only people there for the night. Glad I only booked one night!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 09max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
3.9 km away
Bell in the Woods
Bell in the Woods
#1 of 44 in Seward
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.0 km away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
1.7 km away
Box Canyon Cabins
Box Canyon Cabins
#15 of 45 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
The Breeze Inn
The Breeze Inn
#5 of 14 in Seward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.9 km away
Exit Glacier Lodge
Exit Glacier Lodge
#7 of 45 in Seward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
5.3 km away
Northern Nights Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farm Bed and Breakfast

Property: Farm Bed and Breakfast
Address: 11828 Salmon Creek Road, P.O Box 305, Seward, AK 99664
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing the Farm Bed and Breakfast Inn in beautiful Seward, Alaska. The Farm Bed and Breakfast was originally a "truck farm", its previous owners having raised and sold vegetables, rhubarb, strawberries, and raspberries. It was purchased by the Hooglands in 1968 as weekend retreat, and for a few years the garden continued; a pet goat, couple of pigs, ducks, and chickens were added. The place became known locally as "Hoogland's Farm", so when it became a bed a breakfast, 'The Farm' seemed an appropriate name. The farm house, built in the 1920's, was renovated in 1988 and became a bed and breakfast in 1989. Over the next few seasons, the cottages, bungalow, and kitchenettes were added. The idea of a bed and breakfast was Jack's, and for several years he was an integral part of the day-to-day operation: serving breakfast, telling tall tales, and overseeing all aspects of the B & B. However, because of failing health the last few years, these duties have been assumed in part by his wife Joanne, daughter Carol, son Ricky, sister-in-law Jeanette, and various nieces, nephews, cousins, and grandchildren. Our goal is to provide a quiet, restful place to stay in a natural setting for a moderate price. The Farm is large enough for small tour groups and small enough for the independent traveler. Children and seniors are welcome. We have a variety of rooms like cottages with private baths, kitchenettes, and cozy rooms in the main house. If you find your way to beautiful Seward, Alaska, please consider stopping by the Farm... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing