We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“very good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Farm Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #34 of 44 Seward B&B and Inns
milan
Level Contributor
109 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2010

excellent place. Very clean, near Nash road, also with an big old yellow dog. Big rooms, breakfast and staff are ok.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngeloMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    9
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
12
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

We had a 2 night reservation the The Farm B&B. We reserved a kitchenette that had a queen and a twin bed with a small kitchen. The instant we walked in the door we didn't like it. It is poorly maintained and smelled very badly of smoke. The carpet was stained and I felt like everything was falling apart. It was worse than any cheap motel I have ever stayed at. The worse part was we found a mouse in the tub - it was alive. We promptly told the owners and told them we would be staying somewhere else. I would never never go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redfordrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seward hotels

Minneapolis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

I guess when I booked my trip to Alaska and booked a B&B, I thought it would be something quaint and memorable. I guess this place met the requirements I looked for but I would not go back or recommend it.

We were given 1/2 of a double "cabin". The floor inside was slanted and the vinyl flooring in the bath didn't meet at the seams exposing the plywood and glue. The shades in the bath were too small for the windows and slats were broken so anyone could get a good view inside. Certainly no bare feet on this floor.

The owner was pleasant at breakfast but it was just bread, cereal & juice. We seamed to be the only people there for the night. Glad I only booked one night!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 09max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkel en Rodenrijs, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2008

We stayed in one of the rooms above the breakfast-room. The main house looks as if it needs some painting. The room was nice, with enough room and no unnescessary stuff. Our bed was made every day (I don't need it). The bathroom was very basic, but the problem is that you have to trust that the people in the room at the other side of the bathroom do not forget to unlock your door.
The young (little above 20) woman that we met at our arrival was very friendly. One of the older women that run the B&B wasn't, her sister (she told me that she came every summer to help) was very friendly all the time.
The breakfast was okay, with no special things. It was not a breakfast that add something to the stay. Take your own bread, cereals, and one has the samen breakfast.
On arrival, one gets astonished by the trash, wrecked cars etc. that you meet on the road, just before the B&B.

  • Liked — Quite cheap
  • Disliked — The trash around
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Meinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2007

The Farm Bed and Breakfast isn't a Bed and Breakfast. It is a very basic old farm like place with many rooms for rent. The rooms are clean but do have a stale smell. Older couples work behind the counter, some who are quite nice and others who's behavior seem to be discouraging you from staying there. The price is right at $70 - $80, but don't expect a "Bed and Breakfast". Expect a clean and very basic and run down room. The breakfast is nice for a basic serve yourself continental breakfast with cereals and toast. Again think budget accomidations!

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Run Down, People who work there smoke a lot!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lovtotravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2007

The Farm B&B in Seward was okay. It was easy to find by directions of the owners in email. When turning down the road that leads to the farm, it was trashing and uninviting. The Farm itself was not what I imaged it to be from the pictures. We stayed in the EZ-Room. It was clean. The beds were hard and the bathroom was okay. We were not greeted by the owner but found our key in an evelope on the front door. When we entered, there was a smell but it was better in the room. We had cable TV and phone. The linens were clean. We didn't eat breakfast because we couldn't stand the smell. Just outside was a garage where a woman sat in a recliner and smoked. Not inviting to me.

  • Liked — The room was clean
  • Disliked — The hard beds and the smell
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Pjavellana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2006

The outside look was not great but just OK. When we entered the office, we felt stale smell. The room was also very stale smelly. Even though it was rainy, we had to open the window to reduce smell. However, since the smell was deeply imbedded, opening the window didn't help much. The inside the room was cluttered with the owners' belongings and many unnecessary itmes were there. The bedroom linens were not dirty, however not comfortably neat either. The bathroom was clean but low quality.

We had to get by one night with hope that the night goes by quickly. It was not anywhere near the level of decent hotel or other well-managed B&B.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaughALot99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
5.4 km away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
1.7 km away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
3.5 km away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel
0.9 km away
Exit Glacier Lodge
Exit Glacier Lodge
#8 of 44 in Seward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.1 km away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farm Bed and Breakfast

Property: Farm Bed and Breakfast
Address: 11828 Salmon Creek Road, P.O Box 305, Seward, AK 99664
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing the Farm Bed and Breakfast Inn in beautiful Seward, Alaska. The Farm Bed and Breakfast was originally a "truck farm", its previous owners having raised and sold vegetables, rhubarb, strawberries, and raspberries. It was purchased by the Hooglands in 1968 as weekend retreat, and for a few years the garden continued; a pet goat, couple of pigs, ducks, and chickens were added. The place became known locally as "Hoogland's Farm", so when it became a bed a breakfast, 'The Farm' seemed an appropriate name. The farm house, built in the 1920's, was renovated in 1988 and became a bed and breakfast in 1989. Over the next few seasons, the cottages, bungalow, and kitchenettes were added. The idea of a bed and breakfast was Jack's, and for several years he was an integral part of the day-to-day operation: serving breakfast, telling tall tales, and overseeing all aspects of the B & B. However, because of failing health the last few years, these duties have been assumed in part by his wife Joanne, daughter Carol, son Ricky, sister-in-law Jeanette, and various nieces, nephews, cousins, and grandchildren. Our goal is to provide a quiet, restful place to stay in a natural setting for a moderate price. The Farm is large enough for small tour groups and small enough for the independent traveler. Children and seniors are welcome. We have a variety of rooms like cottages with private baths, kitchenettes, and cozy rooms in the main house. If you find your way to beautiful Seward, Alaska, please consider stopping by the Farm... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing