We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The White House
Nearby Hotels
US$149
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Beach Roadhouse(Haines)(Great Value!)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
102
25
9
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
25
9
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade muffinscookie jarhard boiled eggscontinental breakfastgreat place to stayb and bhistoric accommodationupstairs roomserved buffet styleolder homerooms are nicely decoratedthe hustle and bustlespent one nightin townhome away from homeclose to downtownowners and staff
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 138 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2006

I enjoyed a very nice night here, small B&B, very homey. They had a very tasty breakfast in the morning, I really enjoyed the homemade muffins that I was smelling from my room.

The room was nice and clean, as well as the bathroom. They had nice amenities available, and more if needed provided you called the front desk.

It is located a few blocks off of the main tourist area of Skagway, but nothing more then a few minutes walk; Skagway is VERY small anyway.

Stayed: August 2006
Thank KBNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2017

Dear KBNY,
Thank you for your nice write up. With nine rooms, most folks think we are a big B&B, but the rooms are generally more of a bedroom size. It's all jargon, eh? Come and see us again some day. John and Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2006

The B&B is at the edge of downtown. You'll still be extremely close to downtown and can easily avoid the cruise ship tourists if you need to. The whole town is tiny - there is no drug store or theatre in town. The rooms are clean and spacious. There is usually no one in the lobby, but the staff can easily be reached by phone. The continental breakfast is OK - not great or fresh selection. They don't provide any type of shuttle service to and from the airport/ferry, but if you can take the SMART shuttle for a few bucks in the summer if you don't have too much luggage. The shuttle drops you off ~3 blocks from the B&B. Don't bother with the taxi unless you have a lot of luggage.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pandasfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2017

Dear C T,
Thank you for your comments. Skagway is pretty small, so walking is certainly an option. For those with bags or that don't get around too easily, the SMART shuttle is a very convenient option for a couple dollars. It is available to bring folks to our front door on request or pick folks up from our place, from 7am to 9pm, all summer long. Someone is always on the property, only a few steps away, but no, we don't stand at the front desk like you would see in a typical hotel. As far as fresh goes, the muffins are fresh baked every morning and we always have fresh fruit and hard boiled eggs. There is an entire page on our website that details our breakfast offerings, and I am contemplating some new items for this coming season that I am excited about. Thanks again for the write up. Keep on traveling, Jan and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Mulino Oregon
13
Reviewed August 28, 2003

We had a wonderful time and loved the owners. They had new private bathrooms. The hand made Quilts, decorations, and Antiques made it very homey. They had an extensive selection of books on the local history of Skagway and the White House. The food was good. I would definitely stay there again.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2017

We are still here and would love to have you back again. We have added a nice collection of Rie Munoz artwork this last year and John did a beautiful job with the dining room ceiling a couple years back. If you are in the area again, please stop by. Kind regards, Jan and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2003

The White house is located in a quiet neighborhood that is within 8-10 blocks of the harbor. "downtown" begins 3 blocks from the B & B. From the outside it appears to be simple, but when you enter the front foyer with the highly polished wood floors and the beautiful antiques you begin to see what a delightful place it is! The breakfast room is to your left where a generous cookie jar holds homemade favorites and any left over muffins from breakfast sit tempting you. Tea, coffee, and hot cocoa are offered anytime while you sit on a couch reading the vast array of gold rush titles the owners have collected. This is a place with a vision on the past! Breakfast is cold items, but plenty of them.
Homemade muffins ( Pineapple cream!) cold cereal, fresh and canned fruit, yogurt, bagels and English muffins with jam. Upstairs each room is decorated in a different theme. We had the patriotic red,white, and blue room with a vaulted ceiling. The queen sized bed was covered in a quilt made by the owner. The room was very clean and comfortable. The bath was modern and very clean as well.

10  Thank dawnp53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2017

WOW. Thank you for the detailed review. We are still baking our ever popular muffins and cookies. And we have added to the Gold Rush titles on the lobby. The history is so much fun. If you are ever in the area again, please stop in. John and I are still here. Happy travels, Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Všechny pokoje mají nádhernou atmosféru
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews