We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Historic Hotel with Great Service and Amenities”
Review of MarQueen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MarQueen Hotel
Ranked #54 of 102 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I've been to Seattle five or six times now and have stayed here on every visit but one. The property is a historic hotel, they have a great staff, good amenities, big rooms, perfect location and at a very affordable price. Definitely check this spot out if you're in need of a hotel in Seattle. OH! Cafe Ladro is attached which has one of the best (oh yes, I said it) cups of coffee in Seattle. Double OH! Easy Street Records is on the same block! Coffee...records....sleep....in the same block?!

Room Tip: Ask for a room along the back, which is away from the street, and very quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kreskin2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kdotto, Manager at MarQueen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing the MarQueen Hotel as your place to stay in Seattle! We're glad you enjoy the great amenities, service and location (including the coffee!). We look forward to seeing you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,216)
There are newer reviews for MarQueen Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

990 - 996 of 1,216 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

Beautiful Victorian rooms, high ceilings. We did request a quiet room, but as it was near the lobby, it wasn't as quiet as it could have been. I'd want a room not near a stairwell next time. Great location, full fridge and microwave, continental breakfast from 6-9:30am. Bus stop to downtown right across the street. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The Marqueen hotel is very well located in the Queen Anne neighbourhood, next to many restaurants, and a supermaket. It is walking distance to the city centre and very close to the Space Needle. The rooms are a little old, but very spacious (my room had a small sitting area and kitchen). The breakfast provided is only coffee, bagels and cereals, but is ok to start off the day. There is also a cafe in the hotel. Staff were very kind and helpful. I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
Thank AnneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed here this past October for 3 nights for my husband's birthday. The room was very spacious as was the bathroom. We had a room with a king bed and a sitting area. We also liked having a mini-kitchen in the room. The location was perfect. Restaurants, bars, shopping right across the street and throughout the neighborhood. The best part was being able to walk across the street and hop on a bus that took us downtown in about 5-8 minutes since we did not rent a car for our trip to Seattle. Another nice feature was the short walk up the hill to a tiny little park (forgot the name) that has the MOST amazing view of Seattle. So good that we went back 3 times --the best was at night!
The front desk was very helpful and the hotel was very quiet. We did not see any other people out in the hallway or hear anyone. There was no noise from the street and we stayed on the first floor facing the busy street. My only suggestion for this hotel is to find another room to hold the breakfast in. It was so tiny that a couple of mornings people had to wait to enter. The food and coffee were fine. I especially liked the brand of yogurt served.
I would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bastrop52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We have stayed at this hotel a number of times and are experienced enough with the property to give honest feedback.

First and foremost: Avoid rooms facing the two restaurant/bars across the street when staying on weekends. Our most recent stay - room 205 - put us right across from the boom boom boom of the sound system in one or the other of the clubs. Not good. They blaze on until two in the morning on Fridays and Saturdays. We noticed our proximity to the establishments when checking in, and my wife remembered once before when we stayed and the drunks spilled out onto the sidewalk, noisy and obnoxious.

In an effort to avoid a repeat of this disturbance, we called the front desk for a change of rooms and the clerk insisted that since the triple-pane upgrade to the windows in the previous year, noise disturbance had been eliminated. Wrong answer. We decided (regrettably) not to change rooms and toughed it out for two nights.

This clerk (Michelle) was slightly patronizing - courteous and professional, but still a bit insincere and apparently not super happy to be where she was. Maybe we caught her on an off-night, and that was probably the case. We are positive people, and were eager to make our rarely experienced weekend-away-from-the-kids a good time. But we did, while checking in, ask for a room on the top floor (a request that she ignored).

In a nutshell, on weekends expect to choose between view or restful sleep. The side of the building away from the noisy street faces another building = blank wall, dark, dreary. Also, in order to get a reasonable choice of room, get checked in early - say before 4:00 PM or so.

Otherwise a comfortable place. Like I said, we have stayed at Marqueen numerous times and find it to be an average value in a place where stuff is incredibly overpriced. Also, I want to reiterate aside from the small conflict with the night clerk, the staff is top-notch. I made it a point to tip the valet and the maids. They worked very hard to make my stay enjoyable.

At this point, I cannot say for certain that I would spend 150 or so a night again unless I knew exactly which room would be offered.

Room Tip: See notes in review
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sirdrivealot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kdotto, Manager at MarQueen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Thank you for your honest feedback! We appreciate your patronage and are glad you have enjoyed staying with us several times. Although our noise abatement windows have eliminated most of the neighborhood noise issues, we are still happy to honor requests for quieter rooms when available. As we take great pride in our service, we will address this with our staff and hope that next time, we can exceed your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We didn't realize how close this was to everything until we arrived. It was a short walk to downtown and Pikes Place. Our kids liked it so much they didn't want to leave. Most hotels are sterile, but this hotel was very homey. We felt comfortable from the start. The staff was very pleasant, the breakfast worked out great for us and we really enjoyed having Cafe Ladro right at the end of our hallway. We took a number of walks up the hill to see great views, enjoy a wonderful bakery and relax with a beer. Having a partial kitchen and dining area helped as Metropolitan Market is just down the street. Other hotels gave us the runaround because there were 5 of us staying in a room, not the Marqeen! Even with 5 people we had plenty of room and didn't feel as though we were stepping on one another. The downsides....our view was a mural on a brick wall, no airport shuttle (or shuttle of any kind) and occasionally sound from the front desk area would carry to our room at night. Overall though, this is an excellent hotel and I would highly recommend it. I just can't say enough good things about it.

Room Tip: Definitely the first floor, unless you don't have bags.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oakenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

These are historical rooms, truly authentic to the time. Very close to Key Arena for concerts. Many international restaurants within walking distance. The staff was very friendly & helpful.

One caution - no evaluator. There are some 1st floor rooms.

Recommend & I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtllpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at Queen Anne
#74 of 102 in Seattle
1,079 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#29 of 102 in Seattle
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MarQueen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MarQueen Hotel

Address: 600 Queen Anne Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-4012
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 102 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range: $175 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MarQueen Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Queen Anne's main street, and just a short distance to downtown Seattle, the MarQueen Hotel is in the center of a vibrant neighborhood close to local tourist attractions. Enjoy some of Seattle's most popular restaurants, nightlife, boutique shops, Pacific Northwest Ballet, Seattle Opera, and Space Needle, right outside our doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your MarQueen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing