We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique feel, great service”
Review of MarQueen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MarQueen Hotel
Ranked #53 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
chicago, illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“unique feel, great service”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Fist, yes, the hotel is old, and don't expect it to look and feel like a modern hotel. It has its quirks. But--the service was amazing and friendly. I felt so cared for, and it seemed they really wanted to figure out whatever we might need next. We like a quirky hotel with charm, so it was perfect for us. Also, it had plenty of room for our family of five and was so much more affordable than anything downtown. Good food within walking distance, as is the monorail to downtown.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank writingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kdotto, Manager at MarQueen Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're glad to hear you were were well taken care of by our friendly staff. We certainly like to make everyone feel at home! We're proud of our charming and quirky hotel and happy your family enjoyed it as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    407
    166
    74
    67
See reviews for
302
431
79
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

This hotel has no elevator, so be prepared to walk three flights of stairs for starters. The bedding was tired and worn out. Even the pillow cases were rough with the fibers pilfing out. The King bed was accurate, but it had to be the cheapest mattress one could buy. It's try's to impress with old world charm, but the faux wood frames were obvious. The bathroom was gross, and the sink wouldn't drain. I refused to shower there, and would NEVER stay here again. (sigh) Tired and would have loved a good night sleep.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girly77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Don't be deceived by the pictures on the website. This is a very old hotel... bed, sink, TV, floor, rug, everything is old. It is more like a two star hotel, rather than three stars. The continental breakfast has only bagels with cream cheese, yogurt, oatmeal and coffee. No juice, no milk, no cereal, no egg. On my last day(4/13) of stay, the hot water broke down in the morning and I could not take a shower. The hotel staff told me they were working on fixing it right away but was not able to until I checked out. They did not even apologize. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kdotto, Manager at MarQueen Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Although we did not meet your expectations this time, we always appreciate feedback from our guests. We do sincerely apologize for the broken boiler issue during your stay. While we did get this fixed as soon as we could, we understand the great inconvenience of this unexpected issue. We do thank you for staying with us - we value your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We booked this hotel through Expedia and we couldn't have been happier. The staff was consistently friendly and helpful. The room was very quaint and very clean. The room has a microwave and a full-sized fridge as well as a little breakfast nook. Continental Breakfast is served every morning until 9:30. The beds were comfortable. The noise (whether from street level or from other guests) was minimal although we stayed on the top floor and not facing Queen Anne Avenue. The neighbourhood has several restaurants nearby as well as a 24 hour grocery store. We will definitely stay in the Marqueen when we return to Seattle.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I picked this hotel because of the reviews on Tripadvisor. They were right. Everything about the hotel, from the friendliness of the staff to the cleanliness of the room, was top notch! There was a free wine tasting one night, with snacks; the continental breakfast was complete with lots of food and excellent coffee; the hotel interior was very well maintained; and the least expensive room we stayed in was large for hotel rooms and even had a 'breakfast nook'. I cannot say enough about the staff: very friendly, helpful, and always smartly dressed. Because it's an old historic hotel with no elevators, if you take a room on the second or third floor, you'll either have to carry your bags up some stairs or ask an attendant to help you. They are very willing to do that. An extra bonus was the two really good restaurants just across the street: Peso's Kitchen, and Toulouse Petit (they are served by the same kitchen!). Get there early if you want breakfast. They are very popular. The next time we come to Seattle, this is where we'll stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side, 3rd floor, overlook roofs (and you can see the Space Needle) but it is proba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ponderosajoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kdotto, Manager at MarQueen Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Wow! Thank you for the excellent review! It's great to hear we exceeded your expectations in service and accommodations. We're the happiest when we know our guests are enjoying their stay with us! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kreskin2207
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I've been to Seattle five or six times now and have stayed here on every visit but one. The property is a historic hotel, they have a great staff, good amenities, big rooms, perfect location and at a very affordable price. Definitely check this spot out if you're in need of a hotel in Seattle. OH! Cafe Ladro is attached which has one of the best (oh yes, I said it) cups of coffee in Seattle. Double OH! Easy Street Records is on the same block! Coffee...records....sleep....in the same block?!

Room Tip: Ask for a room along the back, which is away from the street, and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kreskin2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kdotto, Manager at MarQueen Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback and for choosing the MarQueen Hotel as your place to stay in Seattle! We're glad you enjoy the great amenities, service and location (including the coffee!). We look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Beautiful Victorian rooms, high ceilings. We did request a quiet room, but as it was near the lobby, it wasn't as quiet as it could have been. I'd want a room not near a stairwell next time. Great location, full fridge and microwave, continental breakfast from 6-9:30am. Bus stop to downtown right across the street. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at Queen Anne
#74 of 101 in Seattle
1,060 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#31 of 101 in Seattle
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MarQueen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MarQueen Hotel

Property: MarQueen Hotel
Address: 600 Queen Anne Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-4012
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MarQueen Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Queen Anne's main street, and just a short distance to downtown Seattle, the MarQueen Hotel is in the center of a vibrant neighborhood close to local tourist attractions. Enjoy some of Seattle's most popular restaurants, nightlife, boutique shops, Pacific Northwest Ballet, Seattle Opera, and Space Needle, right outside our doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your MarQueen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing