We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“I now see that other travelers have...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Seattle University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Seattle University
Ranked #92 of 102 Hotels in Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I now see that other travelers have...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

I now see that other travelers have had a similar experience to me at this hotel. The hotel is indeed a bit outdated for the price and location (which is good), however, I can usually overlook outdated facilities as long as my basic requirements are met. First, I want fast and reliable, free internet. Here the internet is free but it's a very poor connection. It hangs up and restarted a lot. When it is running it's running slow. Second, I want enough blankets that I can stay warm. I usually sleep hot and have nothing but a sheet. However, here I was cold and had to wear socks and listen to a very loud air conditioner (in heat mode). I have stayed in far worse hotels so it's not awful. With a few small touches, this hotel could be so much better. One good thing I almost forgot to mention. 4 outlets beside the bed. I wish most hotels did this so you can plug in your cell phone and laptop and not have to unplug the light and clock.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sfhostel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    125
    166
    154
    148
See reviews for
274
92
67
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Twisp, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

I was afraid I was going to get bed bugs. Great location, but room smelled as soon as I walked in. Bathroom smelled like urine. Sheets were wrinkled like the bed had not been changed. Old crummy shower no light bulb in lamp. Very over priced for what you got. Hallways filthy. Only thing good is location.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

I stayed here with my gf and another couple for a short 2 day shopping trip at the beginning of September. The location is very good as it is located in the university village and across the street from a good mall.

We stayed on a room on the third floor and it reminded us of an old, outdated apartment. We had read some poor reviews but we were willing to give it a chance based on the great rates offered to us by expedia. It wasn't worth the value. Although the girls were disgusted by the carpeting, the draping and the stains on the couch and the sunken in cushions, it was spacious and the bedrooms seemed adequate enough. However, all 4 of us received a maximum of maybe 2-3 hours of sleep each. The beds were extremely uncomfortable, and would constantly creak at every movement. There was also a construction crew that began working outside the hotel at 6am and that woke all of us up as the paper thin walls allowed us to hear every word said between the construction workers as well as the constant drilling and sawing.

I've stayed in some pretty bad hotels, but this one takes the cake by far. Like another previous review stated, unless your homeless..AVOID!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cypanadero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shirley3591, Manager at Travelodge Seattle University, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. I am disappointed that your room was not up to our standards during your stay. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. Please know that we are updating our property with renovations and I believe you’ll find our accommodations more to your liking next time you are in the area. Thank you for commenting on our location. It is perfect in many ways with restaurants and shopping across the street, easy access to the highway and the University of Washington only a mile away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Across from University Village (Mall) and near the University of Washington, the Travelodge is probably the most reasonably priced motel in the neighborhood, but we have watched it slowly go downhill the last few years we have stayed there. The rooms are typical in size and furnishings, and are clean for the most part, but, wear and tear is becoming more obvious: there were hooks for pictures on the walls, but one picture was missing. Similar hooks remained in the wall for a bedside lamp, but it had been replaced with a table lamp. The corners of the bathroom floor hadn't been cleaned recently. The pool and hot tub are not open. There are cracks walls. Still the location is great and there is (limited) free parking. The breakfast room is tiny and therefore crowded. The breakfast is very limited. A few annoying things include a charge daily for the safe in the room even if, like us, it is not used. The phone also has to be set up by the front desk for "800 number" calls, something that is not apparent unless you ask after getting continued busy signals. Yet the staff is accommodating and the location is very good.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredtraveler142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

The only good thing about this hotel is that it is close to the starting line for the Seattle to Portland Bicycle Classic.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UsFromSaltLakeCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

Not a travelers dream hotel, but lets you affordably stay in University district. The location is great if you're looking to stay in that part of Seattle. But the hotel won't impress.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgiechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

Old, run-down, not clean, overpriced. We are travelers who don't mind small, budget or older lodging, but this was really unpleasant all the way around. Had the 2-bedroom apartment (reminded me of some of the cheap apartments I had to rent as a poor college student) updated in the 70's, perhaps. Air conditioner didn't work, so it was extremely stuffy all night, noises from neighbors on balcony precluded opening windows for ventilation, and paper-thin walls which let us hear the snorer next door made it not a good sleep. There was very old furniture and the unit was not maintained. The office smelled heavily of smoke, though the surly clerk insisted it was a non-smoking hotel. Cramped little breakfast room with packets of oatmeal, cereal, and the smell of smoke. Bottom line, only if you can get an extremely low price ($50-60?) and have nowhere else to go, might it be worth it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmilingSojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
University Motel Suites
#70 of 102 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Bellevue
Residence Inn Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bellevue
The College Inn
The College Inn
#90 of 102 in Seattle
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Bellevue
Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Seattle University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Seattle University

Property: Travelodge Seattle University
Address: 4725 25th Ave NE, Seattle, WA 98105-4105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 102 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Seattle University 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just two blocks from the University of Washington and right across the street from a major shopping center with easy access to all of downtown Seattle's finest attractions. This is a TOTALLY NON-SMOKING facility. Large families, business travelers and extended stay guests really love our reasonably-priced yet spacious one and two bedroom apartment style rooms featuring a full kitchen, separate dining and living areas, plenty of closet space and a balcony. Utensils available upon request. There's something for everyone at the Travelodge Seattle University located a couple of blocks from the University of Washington! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Travelodge Seattle University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Seattle University Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing