We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely place to stay”
Review of Bacon Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bacon Mansion
Ranked #11 of 28 Seattle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Olde Worlde style mansion in a quiet and attractive residential area close to amenties and bus route. Very comfotable with excellent service from Daryl the owner.

Room Tip: Book early, its very much in demand.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawkes-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
There are newer reviews for Bacon Mansion
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2011

My family and I travelled to Seattle for our nephew's wedding . The mansion they stayed in was already booked by their immediate families. They had recommended this gem of an inn about 3 blocks from where they were getting married. The place is conveniently close to a park and a bus stop that goes into the Pike Market and other surrounding areas. The rooms are very clean and well maintained. The house itself is full of history. Darrell, the innkeeper, is such a sweet and helpful person. He went beyond his way to make sure we got to the wedding on time ! What a surprise to find he is also a cook and bakes wonderful, delicious breakfast muffins !

Room Tip: Unable to write here. Something wrong with the sys
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billandzeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

I stayed at the Bacon Mansion for 6 days. I was taking a workshop nearby and made reservations online. I told the owner I was sensitive to scented candles, allergic to down, and sensitive to smoke.

When I arrived my room was so clean and comfortable. I really looked forward to sleeping there too because the bed was so comfortable and the bathroom was so clean. I took several hot baths in an old clawfoot soaking tub that was as clean as the one I have at home.

The coffee in the morning was great, breakfast a delight, and the community spaces inviting. The art on the walls in all of the rooms was interesting and the neighborhood was one I enjoyed walking around in.

This B and B is not like a chain hotel and that is why I recommend it too. You can get a real feel for the neighborhood and in this stately old mansion that has been kept up so well it just feels cosy.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone and plan on staying again when I come to study in the area next year. You can walk to restaurants, museums, and shopping. I just love the area and the feel of the lovely old mansion.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank therese36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

My family had a pleasant stay at the Bacon Mansion this past week. My two sons were on their college break so we decided to stay away from downtown Seattle to have easy access to get to the ski slopes, Boeing Tour, and Shilshole Bay Marina to charter a fishing boat. It was also close enough to get downtown to the Pike Street market and underground tour.
The Capitol room was so spacious for our family of four. It had a private bath which made our family more comfortable.(bath robes provided) Our college boys loved having wi-fi to use their computers.
Daryl King ,the owner/proprietor, provided us with a simple but delicious breakfast. We would always let him know if we had to leave very early the next morning and he would make sure something was left for us in the room to have the next morning. The days we were at breakfast gave us a chance ot meet those staying at the mansion.
The personal service made us feel very much at home. The living room was a good place to get away from family members to read a book or make a phone call.
We felt at ease walking in the neighborhood at night. There was a large grocery store near by with a huge wine selection and many places to eat,

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birdie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

Stayed two nights with my daughter. Very enjoyable. Located in a residential part of Capitol Hill, the Bacon Mansion is within walking distance of parks, cafes and restaurants, chocolate & groceries. Close also to downtown, either by bus or walking.

Stayed: September 2010
Thank rainyshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Our bags were delayed at Victoria, B.C. Daryl the owner was suspicious about this. His manner was standoffish and generally unfriendly. Daryl presumed we had less cash than the other guests because we choose to travel by bus! If only he knew we are both high powered professionals working in the City of London.
Breakfast was too simple and easy for Daryl - muffins, fresh fresh, yoguart and cereals.
The house was grand and comfortable. Situated in Capitol Hill - its close to good coffee shops, resturants and Elliott Bay Bookshop (10th Avenue) but alittle far from the centre (15-20 min walk).

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ros4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baconmansion, Owner at Bacon Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2010

I appreciate the input, but I will continue to offer all of my guests tips and information of what they have available for them to see and different options for transportation including cost vs time trade off. I do this regardless of which room they are in or however they arrive here. This guest felt I was singling them out for some reason and was apparently offended. Knowing who they were or where they work, would not of made any difference to us as they seem to suggest.
I regret the misunderstanding of my surprise that the bags didn't make it with them, as I couldn't believe that could happen on the Victoria Clipper. I was not suspicious in any way of anything. With the relationship soured on that, I apparently could do no right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Bacon Mansion. It was an easy walk to Cornish College of the Arts so I'd highly recommend it if you have business there. It's in a gorgeous residential neighborhood yet convenient to parks, shops and restaurants. A couple of times we walked downtown and took a bus back. It's a fairly long walk downtown, but it's all downhill and very doable. Daryl, the owner, is fairly quiet but friendly and helpful. We spent a couple nights downstairs in the Emerald room. My family liked this spacious room, though I found it a little too dark in the daytime. Perhaps a lighter color on the walls would help. We then moved to the Carriage house which was very comfortable. Except for the pull out sofa, the mattress isn't all that comfortable but kids don't mind. We enjoyed talking with the other guests at breakfast, but I agree with some of the other reviewers in that it was fairly light and pretty much the same every day. We've been to Seattle many times but were thrilled to find this little gem of a B&B and neighborhood. From what we could tell, there is no computer available for guest use but we had a lap top and their was WiFi.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NWtravelers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#31 of 102 in Seattle
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at the Market
#1 of 102 in Seattle
2,700 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#49 of 102 in Seattle
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bacon Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacon Mansion

Address: 959 Broadway E, Seattle, WA 98102-4528
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Broadway / Capitol Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range: $161 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bacon Mansion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Seattle's Capitol Hill in a quite landmark neighborhood just two blocks from the Broadway Business district and one mile north of downtown. Large living room with grand piano, leaded glass library, formal dining room and patio with fountain. Rooms are of great variety with no two being alike. Close enough to everything, yet far enough away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bacon Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bacon Mansion Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing