We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the life!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seattle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shafer Baillie Mansion
Ranked #5 of 28 Seattle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Driving up to the b&b, you would think you'd stepped back in time to when things were simpler & life was grand or, it's the latest set for a movie! Capitol Hill reminds us a lot of Vancouver Shaughnessy & the mansions you can find there. The house has many period pieces, down to the light switches but don't be fooled - you will find modern amenities like low-flow toilets & flat screen tvs.

Brenda welcomed us with a quick tour of the house and after dropping off our things and grabbing a couple bottles of water (always available as with coffee, tea, chocolates & pastries), we took the walk down to Pike Place. (Walk along Broadway & down Pike to really get a feel of the neighbourhood.)

We were glad to take another reviewer's advice to book the Queen Anne room as it was indeed quiet & we enjoyed the dual-head shower. Climbing into the queen poster bed and slipping between the soft clean sheets was absolute bliss. We woke up to a very satisfying breakfast complete with pretty much everything you could want: cold cereal, packages of hot oatmeal, three different cheeses & other packaged cheeses (babybel, laughing cow, squeezable philly creamcheese), smoked salmon, prosciutto, hard-boiled eggs, croissants, bagels, toast, jam, marmalade...the list goes on & on! (After breakfast, you can take a walk to Volunteer Park & even pop into the Lake View cemetary to see Bruce & Brandon's grave sites.)

Brenda is very warm & friendly and since we are very low maintenance guests, we didn't mind only seeing her upon arrival and at breakfast the next day. We definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants a lovely & peaceful place away from everyday life.

Room Tip: The Queen Anne room is very quiet & has a dual-head shower with great water pressure.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gc15982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbmansion, Owner at Shafer Baillie Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2012

Thanks for a wonderful review and very apt comments. Our innkeepers, Brenda and Glenn, are most definitely warm and friendly. Each of our 8 rooms and suites is quite different and has its own unique charms; your comments about the Queen Anne Hill Room are certainly spot-on. We hope to see you again in the future!
Ana Lena & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
There are newer reviews for Shafer Baillie Mansion
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2012

This is a wonderful building with even better hosts. You must stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahPickering1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

A friend had recommended this place to us and we are ever so grateful to her for that tip. We enjoyed our third floor room with every amenity supplied and slept in a most comfortable bed. The breakfast was delicious and Brenda was helpful and welcoming, even giving us two tickets to the Seattle Art Museum for the Gauguin and Polynesia exhibit. We were able to walk to a good restaurant close by (Coastal Kitchen) and then find the buses the next day for travel downtown. The weather was windy and wet but we felt sheltered from the storms, partly thanks to the umbrellas thoughtfully provided. We appreciated the sitting rooms and tea/coffee and snacks/chocolate provided throughout the day. The mansion is beautifully decorated and restored and could be the set for an American Downton Abbey!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burnabytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

When our "usual" B&B was fully booked, we ended up staying here...and this is now our new favorite B&B (we visit Seattle frequently to see family). The location is great, the rooms are very comfortable and the hosts could not be more friendly and helpful! You don't need a car; public transportation is only a block away......and the breakfast buffet....outstanding! The BEST B&B in Seattle in my opinion!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetb39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My title says it all. From the decor of the rooms to the hospitality of the Innkeepers (Brenda and Glenn), the Shafer Baillie Mansion has the feel of home but the beauty of an early century mansion. Almost the entire first floor is open to guests, the woodwork and furnishings are beautiful with a lovely sunroom to add a slightly more modern touch. Brenda and Glenn made us feel so welcome and cared for and the breakfast they serve is delicious. A peek into most of the bedrooms left me stunned at how gorgeously decorated they all are with each room in a different color scheme. Any room would be a delight to stay in. Thank you so much to Ana and Mark (owners) for providing us with such a wonderful Seattle visit!!
Renee and Riley

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

My daughter and I stayed here in June for 3 nights. It was the perfect location in Seattle for us, as we did not have a car. We could walk downtown, to the Pike Place market, or to the ferry terminal. Breakfasts were excellent, and the hosts provided 24 hour coffee/tea (wonderful tea choices!) in the dining room. The house is very quiet, in a residential area, but a 5-10 minute walk from some interesting ethnic restaurants and shops, which we very much enjoyed. The room was comfortable, and as pictured (on the 3rd floor). I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annapolisgal526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I was on a whirlwind trip of the Seattle area. My highlight was definitely my trip/stay to the Shafer-Baillie Mansion. Glen was very helpful giving me directions to the mansion over the phone and showing me around the place. It is such an amazing property. The bed was amazing, room was bright, spacious bathroom and larger than I expected flat-screen television. He also was very helpful in recommending some great local places to eat along 15th! Unfortunately, I had to leave extremely early the next morning, and Brenda offered to pack me a to-go bag. I was so touched at the feast she had packed which lasted me all the way back on my trip to the east coast. My only regret is I did not get to stay longer. I will definitely be back again. One last note, I was a bit apprehensive about the parking being on the street...but they were right, there was plenty of parking on the quiet residential street!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#29 of 102 in Seattle
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at the Market
#1 of 102 in Seattle
2,699 reviews
Broadway / Capitol Hill
11th Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
Greenlake Guest House
#1 of 28 in Seattle
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shafer Baillie Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shafer Baillie Mansion

Address: 907 14th Ave E, Seattle, WA 98112-3903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range: $182 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent 14,000 sq ft Tudor mansion, exquisitely restored and ideally situated on Capitol Hill, where you will find the gracious atmosphere of a bygone era with the comforts and amenities today's travelers need. One block south of Volunteer Park on Seattle's original "Millionaires' Row," minutes from all major area attractions including downtown, Pike Place Market, Seattle Center (Space Needle, Experience Music Project, Pacific Science Center, opera, ballet, Chihuly Garden and Glass Museum), waterfront, University of Washington and much more. Eight guestrooms and suites with private baths. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shafer-Baillie Mansion Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing