We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveller rating
284
10
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
284
10
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ballard view room woodland park guest lounge green lake bed and breakfast craftsman style home charming neighborhood easy street parking large private deck bath salts luxurious bedding every amenity breakfast was amazing future stays each morning seattle area relaxing stay
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 296 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2016

This was our first visit to 9 Cranes, and I'm so glad we found it. It will be our Seattle base from now on -- so long as we can get reservations! (It books up fast.) Shelley is warm and relaxed but obviously very attentive to detail -- the rooms were impeccably clean; breakfast was delicious; our registration and (after-hours) arrival were smooth and welcoming.

The location (Phinney Ridge district) is great, and the inn sits on a quiet street of old houses a couple of blocks from Phinney Avenue. You can walk to good restaurants, Green Lake, the Woodland Park Zoo . . . and it's central enough to be convenient for driving elsewhere in Seattle.

We stayed in the Phinney Ridge room, which was spacious and luxurious, with an extra bed available in an adjoining room. The ensuite bathroom was beautiful. The house is a gorgeous old Craftsman that has been beautifully restored.

Altogether an ideal B&B experience!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeftCoastGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2016

Spent 3 wonderful nights at the 9 Cranes and fortunate enough to stay in the Ballard View room. Very comfy bed and room, GREAT views, Awesome Breakfast and Wonderful host. Very residential area but within walking distance to many restaurants.

Room Tip: We loved the Ballard but be aware of the steps up
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2016

We stayed in the room- Phinney Ridge- excellent accommodations, great breakfast, great people!
Have been there a couple of times but always meet others who keep coming back.
Nice neighborhood, quiet area but close enough to downtown. Visited the Chihuly exhibit this visit.

Room Tip: One on the first level if you don't like stairs also one on the third top with an accessible deck.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2016

This place is real gem! Shelley is so welcoming and the breakfast was amazing. The inn is convenient to great neighborhoods and restaurants and not far from Downtown. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable, private and quiet. I really couldn't recommend a better place to stay while in the Seattle area!

Room Tip: Call for availability. All rooms are great, but some are larger.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Stacey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2016

We arrived at 9 Cranes Inn after flying into Seattle from Salt Lake City. We'd had a long day and were tired by the time we arrived. We were greeted by Shelley and her shadow, Phillip, a cute little Shih Tzu, who was quiet and unassuming. Shelley made us feel at home immediately. She is bubbly and full of energy but also considerate of tired travellers and provides you with space when you need it. After a tour of the Inn she showed us to our room. We stayed in the Ballard View Room which is on the third floor and is very private. The room includes a roof-top deck with views looking out across the neighbourhood. The bathroom is roomy and tastefully decorated with a spa bath that has a window looking out onto the deck and skylights which add a lot of light and makes the room feel bright and airy. The bed was extremely comfortable and is placed against a wall which is opposite to the French doors that access the deck so each morning you can open the curtains, lie in bed and enjoy the view. The room is well appointed and the decor is elegant but not overstated. Shelley is an exceptional host. For example, my husband left a brand new shirt he had bought in San Diego in the cupboard of the B&B we had stayed in while we were there. We arranged for the manager of that B&B to post the shirt to Shelley who had it waiting for us when we arrived. We also had friends who, without us knowing, had arranged to send a gift basket to us as a welcome to America present. They had contacted Shelley a week or so before we arrived and she helped them organise a suitable gift basket to be delivered and waiting for us in our room which was a great surprise. Breakfast each morning was fantastic. Shelley is a great cook and the conversation around the table was always relaxed and interesting. On our last night at 9 Cranes Inn we wanted to go to a fancy restaurant and Shelley suggested Canlis which is difficult to get into at short notice. Without hesitation, Shelley called the restaurant and managed to get us a table that same day. She really did go above and beyond our expectations. I use the word "fun" in the title of this review because Shelley really is full of fun. In the late afternoon we had "wine hour" with Shelley and her husband, Mike, and that was one of the highlights of our stay. Mike has spent time working in Australia and it was great talking to him about our home country. His knowledge of Australia and our colloquialisms is very impressive and on par with what we expect from any of our Australian friends and neighbours. We enjoyed our afternoon chats with Shelley and Mike so much it was very hard to drag ourselves away from their company on those afternoons. We really have nothing but great things to say about Shelley and Mike and would highly recommend 9 Cranes Inn as your home away from home when visiting Seattle. The location is close to shops and restaurants and a short drive from some of the main tourist attractions. We walked to a pizza place one night for dinner which was a very easy walk. If we're ever in Seattle again we would not hesitate to stay at 9 Cranes Inn. Shelly, if you're reading this, we think you and Mike are great! If you're ever in Brisbane you really should look us up. We'd love to show you around.

Room Tip: The Ballard View Room was great with a private roof-top deck overlooking the neighbourhood.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews