We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Perfect.😎 Feel like a Seattle Insider”
Review of 9 Cranes Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seattle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
9 Cranes Inn
Ranked #3 of 26 Seattle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2016

On Returning It is just as good as I thought at first. The level of cleaning and the care of the people staying here made it seem as if noone had stayed in my favorite room since the last time.
The rooms are comfortsble. The beds and sheets are over the top the best. You will find a great nights sleep here and feel at home in the besitifully restored home.

Breakfast shines. Shelly is creative and adept at talented chef quality breakfast delights. If this was just a breakfastvrestaurant you eould find me often here. I dream of her crepes with fresh fruit.Super Delightful. Very pracful and interesting. Artisticly painted and superbly maintained. Nonstop delightful. The location is deep in a beautiful
Seattle community eithin walking distance of interesting restaurants dhops and two blivks from a buslinevto downtown/ airport connections.

Room Tip: Every Room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Travel333333A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2016

This was our first visit to 9 Cranes, and I'm so glad we found it. It will be our Seattle base from now on -- so long as we can get reservations! (It books up fast.) Shelley is warm and relaxed but obviously very attentive to detail -- the rooms were impeccably clean; breakfast was delicious; our registration and (after-hours) arrival were smooth and welcoming.

The location (Phinney Ridge district) is great, and the inn sits on a quiet street of old houses a couple of blocks from Phinney Avenue. You can walk to good restaurants, Green Lake, the Woodland Park Zoo . . . and it's central enough to be convenient for driving elsewhere in Seattle.

We stayed in the Phinney Ridge room, which was spacious and luxurious, with an extra bed available in an adjoining room. The ensuite bathroom was beautiful. The house is a gorgeous old Craftsman that has been beautifully restored.

Altogether an ideal B&B experience!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeftCoastGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Spent 3 wonderful nights at the 9 Cranes and fortunate enough to stay in the Ballard View room. Very comfy bed and room, GREAT views, Awesome Breakfast and Wonderful host. Very residential area but within walking distance to many restaurants.

Room Tip: We loved the Ballard but be aware of the steps up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016

We stayed in the room- Phinney Ridge- excellent accommodations, great breakfast, great people!
Have been there a couple of times but always meet others who keep coming back.
Nice neighborhood, quiet area but close enough to downtown. Visited the Chihuly exhibit this visit.

Room Tip: One on the first level if you don't like stairs also one on the third top with an accessible dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016

This place is real gem! Shelley is so welcoming and the breakfast was amazing. The inn is convenient to great neighborhoods and restaurants and not far from Downtown. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable, private and quiet. I really couldn't recommend a better place to stay while in the Seattle area!

Room Tip: Call for availability. All rooms are great, but some are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Stacey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We arrived at 9 Cranes Inn after flying into Seattle from Salt Lake City. We'd had a long day and were tired by the time we arrived. We were greeted by Shelley and her shadow, Phillip, a cute little Shih Tzu, who was quiet and unassuming. Shelley made us feel at home immediately. She is bubbly and full of energy but also considerate of tired travellers and provides you with space when you need it. After a tour of the Inn she showed us to our room. We stayed in the Ballard View Room which is on the third floor and is very private. The room includes a roof-top deck with views looking out across the neighbourhood. The bathroom is roomy and tastefully decorated with a spa bath that has a window looking out onto the deck and skylights which add a lot of light and makes the room feel bright and airy. The bed was extremely comfortable and is placed against a wall which is opposite to the French doors that access the deck so each morning you can open the curtains, lie in bed and enjoy the view. The room is well appointed and the decor is elegant but not overstated. Shelley is an exceptional host. For example, my husband left a brand new shirt he had bought in San Diego in the cupboard of the B&B we had stayed in while we were there. We arranged for the manager of that B&B to post the shirt to Shelley who had it waiting for us when we arrived. We also had friends who, without us knowing, had arranged to send a gift basket to us as a welcome to America present. They had contacted Shelley a week or so before we arrived and she helped them organise a suitable gift basket to be delivered and waiting for us in our room which was a great surprise. Breakfast each morning was fantastic. Shelley is a great cook and the conversation around the table was always relaxed and interesting. On our last night at 9 Cranes Inn we wanted to go to a fancy restaurant and Shelley suggested Canlis which is difficult to get into at short notice. Without hesitation, Shelley called the restaurant and managed to get us a table that same day. She really did go above and beyond our expectations. I use the word "fun" in the title of this review because Shelley really is full of fun. In the late afternoon we had "wine hour" with Shelley and her husband, Mike, and that was one of the highlights of our stay. Mike has spent time working in Australia and it was great talking to him about our home country. His knowledge of Australia and our colloquialisms is very impressive and on par with what we expect from any of our Australian friends and neighbours. We enjoyed our afternoon chats with Shelley and Mike so much it was very hard to drag ourselves away from their company on those afternoons. We really have nothing but great things to say about Shelley and Mike and would highly recommend 9 Cranes Inn as your home away from home when visiting Seattle. The location is close to shops and restaurants and a short drive from some of the main tourist attractions. We walked to a pizza place one night for dinner which was a very easy walk. If we're ever in Seattle again we would not hesitate to stay at 9 Cranes Inn. Shelly, if you're reading this, we think you and Mike are great! If you're ever in Brisbane you really should look us up. We'd love to show you around.

Room Tip: The Ballard View Room was great with a private roof-top deck overlooking the neighbourhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We were welcomed warmly by 9 Cranes Inn's vivacious Innkeeper and her Staff and we found the Inn totally delightful. While modern in the various guest rooms, it has lovingly preserved the wooden features and glass of its era in sideboards, door frames, doors, sills and flooring. Every room invites you to sit and relax far away from the bustling of the city. Yet, it is close to wonderful neighborhoods with excellent dining. There were so many places to go see--the Pike's Place market, the Needle, and even the zoo. We just wanted to rest and enjoy. The breakfast was delicious and filling, the table beautifully laid out.

Room Tip: Whichever you choose is a great one. 9 Cranes Inn is tucked away in a quiet neighborhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank dkoch45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 105 in Seattle
2,774 reviews
Mayflower Park Hotel
#17 of 105 in Seattle
2,357 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenlake Guest House
#2 of 26 in Seattle
577 reviews
Broadway / Capitol Hill
11th Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
Pike Place Market
Pensione Nichols B&B
Pensione Nichols B&B
#8 of 26 in Seattle
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 9 Cranes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9 Cranes Inn

Address: 5717 Palatine Ave N, Seattle, WA 98103-5826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range: C$163 - C$264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
9 Cranes Inn is comfortable, stylish, and conveniently located in the Phinney Ridge neighborhood. Within walking distance to shops, restaurants, and the bus to downtown. Also nearby: Ballard, Fremont, Green Lake, Wallingford, and Greenwood. Breakfast, wi-fi, and ample street parking included in rate. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing