We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Only Place to Stay”
Review of 9 Cranes Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seattle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
9 Cranes Inn
Ranked #3 of 26 Seattle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2017

I recently stayed at 9 Cranes Inn for three nights and I could not have been happier. There is so much attention to detail and everything is perfectly clean. Shelley is a wonderful hostess. The breakfast was excellent. I could go on and on but I have run out of superlatives! I visit Seattle at least once per year and now I will not have to search again for a place to stay. I will be coming back again!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nharp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2017

9 Cranes Inn is located near the Woodland Park Zoo, Phinney Ridge, Ballard, and Green Lake so there is lots to do and see nearby. The inn itself is charming, warm and very clean and well appointed. Innkeeper Shelley has thought of every detail to make for a pleasant stay and her breakfasts are tops.

Room Tip: web photos and information is excellent and accurate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ssb2Centreville_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was well appointed and spacious. We were able to have a great chat with the owner and hostess, Shelly. She was great to talk with, helpful, and knowledgeable. Breakfast was wonderful! We look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank millergirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017

a delay in reviewing this wonderful place ( busy with daily activities )
my wife and i visited Seattle pre christmas last dec. to visit my daughter and son in law who live close to this B&B. the place is well kept, clean and shelley goulding is the perfect inn keeper anyone can ask for. she is efficient and unobtrusive. we particularly liked the very casual atmosphere created at the Inn ( access to various areas where coffe, tea and drinks were at our disposal .
our room ( upstairs ) was --needless to say very clean and tastefully furnished.
breakfasts are large and sumptuous!! unfortunately, we are not big breakfast folk --but still absolutely enjoyed reduced portions of her offerings. i even requested a recipe of her rolled filled omelette which she very graciously shared by e-mail several dys later.
we will be in the area often and hope to be proactive enough to guarantee a stay at this marvelous place
thank you for making our stay so pleasant

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rakesh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Well appointed room with view of the Olympic Peninsula (weather permitting). innkeeper knowledgeable and accommodating; custom served breakfast. Good location for Ballard, easy access to downtown if you want.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sabre42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016

On Returning It is just as good as I thought at first. The level of cleaning and the care of the people staying here made it seem as if noone had stayed in my favorite room since the last time.
The rooms are comfortsble. The beds and sheets are over the top the best. You will find a great nights sleep here and feel at home in the besitifully restored home.

Breakfast shines. Shelly is creative and adept at talented chef quality breakfast delights. If this was just a breakfastvrestaurant you eould find me often here. I dream of her crepes with fresh fruit.Super Delightful. Very pracful and interesting. Artisticly painted and superbly maintained. Nonstop delightful. The location is deep in a beautiful
Seattle community eithin walking distance of interesting restaurants dhops and two blivks from a buslinevto downtown/ airport connections.

Room Tip: Every Room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Travel333333A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016

This was our first visit to 9 Cranes, and I'm so glad we found it. It will be our Seattle base from now on -- so long as we can get reservations! (It books up fast.) Shelley is warm and relaxed but obviously very attentive to detail -- the rooms were impeccably clean; breakfast was delicious; our registration and (after-hours) arrival were smooth and welcoming.

The location (Phinney Ridge district) is great, and the inn sits on a quiet street of old houses a couple of blocks from Phinney Avenue. You can walk to good restaurants, Green Lake, the Woodland Park Zoo . . . and it's central enough to be convenient for driving elsewhere in Seattle.

We stayed in the Phinney Ridge room, which was spacious and luxurious, with an extra bed available in an adjoining room. The ensuite bathroom was beautiful. The house is a gorgeous old Craftsman that has been beautifully restored.

Altogether an ideal B&B experience!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeftCoastGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 105 in Seattle
2,767 reviews
Mayflower Park Hotel
#17 of 105 in Seattle
2,352 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenlake Guest House
#2 of 26 in Seattle
573 reviews
Broadway / Capitol Hill
11th Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
Pike Place Market
Pensione Nichols B&B
Pensione Nichols B&B
#8 of 26 in Seattle
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 9 Cranes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9 Cranes Inn

Address: 5717 Palatine Ave N, Seattle, WA 98103-5826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range: $161 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
9 Cranes Inn is comfortable, stylish, and conveniently located in the Phinney Ridge neighborhood. Within walking distance to shops, restaurants, and the bus to downtown. Also nearby: Ballard, Fremont, Green Lake, Wallingford, and Greenwood. Breakfast, wi-fi, and ample street parking included in rate. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing