We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
9 Cranes Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$245
US$189
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$296/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$231/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$234
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$248/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$240/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Max(Seattle)
US$179
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$229/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$290
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$234/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$248
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$285/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$399
US$351
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$391/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$178
US$173
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$193/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
269
10
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
10
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsballard view roomguest loungebed and breakfastcraftsman homegreen lakecharming neighborhoodlarge private deckcraftsman style housequiet residential streetbreakfast was deliciousbath saltsevery amenityluxurious beddingthe woodland park zoob and beach morningfuture stays
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 281 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2017

9 Cranes is in a charming neighborhood and has great curb appeal. Shelley's breakfasts are delicious and I love the lemon cranberry cookies that are always available. We have stayed in the Ballard View room which has a large private deck that looks out to the Olympic mountain range. The room is large as is the bathroom which is modern with upscale finishings. I'm definitely looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2017 via mobile

My mom and I booked the 9 cranes inn for our girl's trip to Seattle and boy were we glad that we did! We were warmly greeted and shown to our room, Phinney Ridge on the 2nd floor. The gal was so sweet...she carried my 49lb bag up the stairs . We were given a tour of the beautiful craftsmen home, which included a lovely dining area complete with two kinds of cookies in glass jars available all day and all night ; a guest lounge upstairs that had a coffee machine that made individual coffees and soups, complimentary sodas and fizzy water, and tea!

Our room was cozy and comfortable. It was lavender and silver which were relaxing and calming colors. We had a private bath which included make up remover sheets, bath salts for the tub, and delicious soap, shampoo and conditioner. The best part were the Turkish towels...lovely! The room had a king bed and an offset which had a pull out sofa bed...both were comfortable. Great mattress and sheets!

Best for last...the amazing hostess Shelley....she offered us advice for dinner, helped us make a reservation at Ray's boathouse, and made scrumptious breakfasts...you are in for a real treat!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Aprilnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2017

We spent 2 nights in The spacious Phiney Ridge room at the 9 Cranes Inn in Ballard. Large and very comfy bed, beautiful bed linen.Enjoyed the restful decor and the interesting art . Bathroom was a delight.Delicious breakfast cooked by Shelley our fabulous host. Lots of good information .Would have been happy to just hang out there for the duration but no we had a duty to explore.We thoroughly enjoyed wandering the charming neighborhood, down to the funky Fremont area. . Anyway less than a half hour on the bus into downtown Seattle. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2017

My wife and I recently spent five wonderful evenings at the 9 Cranes Inn. It's a lovely B & B in what, we thought, was a great location, in Phinney Ridge.
The home is situated on a neighborhood block, and only a short two block walk to the bus stop on Phinney Ave. While we had a car for part of our stay, we found the bus to be amazingly easy, convenient and a great way to travel either to the city downtown area or to an adjacent neighborhood, such as nearby Ballard.
Shelley is an excellent host and is happy to help in any way as well as provide restaurant recommendations, (which we listened to, and were happy we did), and suggestions of things to do, places to go and how best to get to where you are going. Likewise, she served a lovely breakfast each morning of our stay.
We recommend going into nearby Ballard as well as taking the ferry over to Brainbridge Island. One of Shelley's restaurant suggestions was to go to Ray's Cafe, (in Ballard), where we sat outside on the deck with fantastic water and sunset views.
As far as rooms, I can only speak of the room we had, which is the 'Ballard View' room. This room occupies the 3rd floor of the house and it's most outstanding feature is the private outdoor deck, which comes with the room. The deck is spacious, (maybe around 15' x 15'), and offers peace and quiet as well as lovely views to the mountains off in the distance. My wife and I very much enjoyed relaxing out on the deck after our day's activities-wonderful! The room itself is also quite lovely, comfortable king bed, ceiling fan, free-standing A/C floor unit, lovely bathroom w/jacuzzi tub w/bay window and views, and quiet and private as you occupy the top floor of the house.
Again, we found the location to be ideal. About 20 minutes on the # 5 bus to downtown Seattle, (and the bus system, we found to be excellent, running continually-I think every fifteen minutes, reliable, etc.). You're in a nice residential neighborhood, near/in walking distance of restaurants. You can walk to Ballard, (maybe a mile, mile and a half, etc.), which is lovely, lots of activity, restaurants, cafes, and so on. You can also walk to nearby Green Lake, which is lovely, and you're immediately adjacent to the park, which also houses the zoo. So, we found the location to be ideal for us and our purposes.
Again, we think the Ballard View room is wonderful and would, unequivocally, choose to stay in this room. I'm not sure how much extra the room charge is, but to have this room and the outside deck, from our perspective, is well worth the additional charge incurred.
All told, we highly recommend the 9 Cranes Inn and will definitely stay here, (without question), on any future visit to Seattle.

Stayed: August 2017
2  Thank 868robj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2017

Spent 2 days at this quiet little place in the Ballard room. Super clean and lots of windows and sunlight during the day. Loved the deck where you can enjoy the view on your own. Not to mention the host Shelley who was just so nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SUOJI C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews