We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A little way from the city center...but that's a good thing!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline
Ranked #66 of 102 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersBronze level
Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A little way from the city center...but that's a good thing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

A nice hotel that is currently being refurbished. We stayed in a refurbished room that was comfortable and quiet. The front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast folks were having a tough time keeping up with demand and it was crowded. It looks like the room being used was not the normal room due to the remodeling, so that may have been part of the issue.

It's about a 8 mile drive to Seattle Center and the Space Needle, but it's a straight shot right down Hwy 99 and is right on the bus line if you want to leave the car. The nice thing about being out of the city is that the hotels generally have free parking which can be pretty pricey if you stay in the city downtown area.

A good hotel at a decent price, with friendly folks...we'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acdfpic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    105
    44
    17
    7
See reviews for
90
70
18
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Checked in after a long flight from the east coast and where I am used to getting a good rate paid 110.00 for a basic room. We stayed in HIE's throughout the US on our trip back (driving) and the most we were charges was 89.99. We were tired so we checked in and lo and behold the fire alarm went off about 4 hours later. Got 20.00 back...not happy. The excuse I was given was that this was a new hotel and it was having issues with the electronics....really? Then I was told..."well, this IS SEattle". Huh? I have stayed in almost every major city in the US...when did Seattle become number 1? San Francisco was cheaper. Whatever....but this left a bad taste in my mouth for Holiday Inn's

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayb2maui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear mayb2maui,

Thank you for your time in writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to enhance our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around.
We appreciate you bringing your concern to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, I hope we get the opportunity to show you some of our improvements on your next trip to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seattle.

Sincerely,
Bon V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We spent the weekend at this hotel and it was a most pleasant stay. It started with the front desk person who was was very attentive to detail and made us feel special. Later in the evening when we returned to the hotel we were offered free cookies to take to our room. The next morning we had a good breakfast (included) and when things ran out the staff were quick to replenish the dishes. Our room was spacious and very clean. OUr room rate was also very attractive. All-in-all we were very pleased with our stay because of staff who cared for us.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HAWK-TheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

This is a good hotel if you want to avoid the high price of parking in the city. Parking is free and the complimentary breakfast is a plus.
The hotel was renovating their rooms when we were there and we stayed in one of the renovated rooms so it was nice and clean. There is a microwave and refrigerator in the room which is very handy.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hcdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

We had a large room with two queen beds that was clean, comfortable and quiet even though the hotel is on a main road. Other rooms nearer the highway may have been noisier.

There was free wi-fi in the room and we had a warning message from our internet browser, but we used it and did not have any problems.

There was a buffet breakfast and we found plenty to eat – cereal, bananas, muffins, cinnamon rolls, bacon, and the pancake making machine was particularly good!

We stayed for two nights in the Holiday Inn Express & Suites during October 2011.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayForUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

I know it's an HI Express, but come ON.... This place is still stuck in the khaki-trench-coat and hair mousse of the 90s. It's a bid tired-looking, could possibly use a refresh.

Gripes: feels like it's in a crummy area on the north side of Seattle (oh wait, it is). Curved shower rod = good; shower curtain not long enough to fully close = bad. Elevators? They're not feeding the hamsters to run fast enough - elevators take a while. Nightdesk doesn't like to brew fresh coffee, as I apparently found my iced Poor Man's Mocha after the first sip. And into the trash can it went.

Par: Beds are decent, guest laundry machines work well (they even gave me a Complimentary dryer sheet, thank you very much..). Bathroom hardware did its job, minus the ridiculous shower curtain. Hot breakfast is standard HIE stuff, didn't disappoint. Wireless internet appears to be working well, so no disturbing of my pet peeve there. This is a satisfactory place for business travel; but we're on vacay, so it's kind of a bummer.

Would I/we stay here again? If there wasn't anything cooler available, ok.

Room Tip: Aurora Ave is a busy road. If that doesn't help you sleep, might be wise to get a room farther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhatHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

I booked this hotel because I knew I would need paking that is otherwise unavailable at the other 2 Holiday Inns downtown. It is a little further from the city center but still a straight shot to all the main attractions. We had to switch rooms due to the wifi connection not functioning in our room (too far from router) but other than that a good (fairly quiet), clean, comfortable stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bridges73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Northgate
Comfort Inn & Suites Seattle
Hotel Nexus Seattle
#71 of 102 in Seattle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline
Address: 14115 Aurora Ave N, Seattle, WA 98133-6942
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#16 Green Hotel in Seattle
#43 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, North Seattle is your home away from home. We invite you to experience the friendliness of our staff and greatness of a fine Seattle hotel. We are also nearby Seattle downtown, University of Washington (UW), Safeco Field, Key Arena, Seattle Waterfront, Seattle Aquarium, Washington State Convention & Trade Center, Northgate Mall, Shoreline Community College, Shoreline Conference Center and Woodland Park Zoo. Located just seven miles north of downtown Seattle, on Aurora Avenue North (Highway 99) with easy access to I-5, our location offers all of the convenience of downtown without the downtown inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity.ca and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Seattle
Holiday Inn Express Seattle
Holiday Inn Seattle
Seattle Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing