We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location to Seattle Space Needle area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown
Ranked #68 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We stayed at the Dexter street location. No free breakfast but we purchased some stuff and used the fridge and mircowave in the room. No pool or spa there either. We had purchased the City Pass for $59 a person so with 3 of the attractions within walking distance it was great. Parking in Seattle can be very costly. The monorail stop was also at the Space needle and took you to the downtown shopping area with Pikes Market only 4 blocks away. Cost is $2 each way. Nice stay

Room Tip: Nice room with sofa and chair and good size work table for work station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue4az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hijhatfield, Manager at Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2011

Thanks for commenting on the hotel! I'm so glad you had a good time!

Please come back and visit us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

427 - 433 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed here 2 nights pre-cruise the end of July 2011. The hotel was fine, not fancy but the price was decent for a clean, very good sized room close to things in Seattle. The TV is old style, the bed was just ok, but the room was good sized and the bathroom was nice and clean. They provided a coffee maker in the room but no complementary breakfast. There is a restaurant onsite that is ok. This hotel is close to the Space Needle and Ride the Ducks, Seattle Center too. You have to do a circle around the hotel to get to these places as there is a median blocking off the street behind the hotel. This is not a problem though, as going around there were restaurants, drugstores, etc. available.

There were a couple shuttle buses available for people to ride to the piers to get on their cruise ships. Did not need an advance ticket.

We would certainly stay here again if we wanted to be close to the Space Needle area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvtrvl525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hijhatfield, Manager at Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2011

I just want to thank you for sharing your thoughts with us regarding your last stay!

We're really glad that you had such a good time, and we hope that you come back and visit us soon!

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed here three nights as we were holidaying in Seattle. Front desk staff were awesome they let us check in early and provided accurate directions and helpful tips.
We were disappointed that this Holiday Inn had no complimentary breakfast. There was a restaurant right beside it, but of course this was not free! The room was large, clean, somewhat dated and they are undergoing some renovation, so this will help. We felt very safe in this location, as we walked to many locations from here. The underground parking was safe and secure for our vehicle. As you can expect you will pay to stay close to all the attractions in the middle of summer and we did - glad I got some priority rewards points out of it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brentom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hijhatfield, Manager at Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2011

Thanks for your comments!

It's good to hear that the front desk took such good care of you. They really are a great team, and an asset to the hotel. I'll be sure to pass your comments on to them.

I wish we could provide a complimentary breakfast, but unfortunately it would compete too strongly against our restaurant! We do have Best 4 Breakfast rates, though, that include a $20 voucher for breakfast over at the restaurant.

Thanks again for staying with us, and for taking the time to fill out a review for us on Trip Adviser, and thank you for being a member of Priority Club! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

A little run down however they seem to be renovating.
Walking distance to a lot of Seattle attractions.
Good place if you just need to sleep after all the sightseeing

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hitechwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed on two different nights before and after a cruise. Room was large, cheerful, and clean. Had advised of early arrival for return visit and were accommodated by getting a room before noon. Really appreciated the attention and help with transportation to cruise terminal. Staff were helpful, friendly, and efficient. Would recommend this hotel for a good place to say at a decent price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraveledtheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hijhatfield, Manager at Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments about our hotel!

I'm so glad we were able to get you checked in early, and that we were able to help you with your cruise transportation!

Please come back and visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed for one night only, thankfully. The hotel may be a 10 minute walk to downtown, if you can contend with the homeless, which we wont. The monorail would have been a good option. As Priority Club Gold members, we got upgraded to the 6th floor executive level. Other than dedicated computers and freshly made coffee, nothing much to talk about. The room was small and the bathroom was really cramped. The quality was not even as good as many of the HI Express we have stayed at. Parking was reasonable, but you have to wonder what the area is like when you have a rolling steel door to enter the parking under the building. OK, but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GRFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hijhatfield, Manager at Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us!

It's sad, but true, that Downtown Seattle has a large population of homeless people, and the City of Seattle actually has some really great programs in place to help them to find jobs and housing. We actually donate to many local charities ourselves to do our part in helping out.

It would be pretty much impossible to walk anywhere in Seattle without passing by a homeless person, and I certainly understand how that could be unsettling to someone that is not used to it, but thankfully the majority of these individuals are good people, that are simply trying to get their lives back on track.

For the convenience and the safety of our guests, we do have a secure key-access underground parking facility, with a standard garage-style automatic door. We also have a security guard on staff that walks the premises.

Just to avoid confusion from other readers, it's actually Platinum members of Priority Club that are rewarded with complimentary upgrades, and of course these are based on availability. It's awesome, though, that the front desk were able to upgrade you for free. While there is not much of a difference right now between the 6th floor and the other floors of the hotel, we've found through guest surveys that the modest difference in rates is more than justified in having a secured floor with its own extended business center, but at this time we are also considering dissolving the "Executive Floor" rooms into standard rooms in the future.

As some others have mentioned, we are in the process of a multi-million dollar renovation, and many of our rooms have already started to transform. Hopefully next time you stay with us we will have finished with this project, and you will get to witness the changes that we're working on come into fruition.

Thank you again for your comments, and please come back and visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I tagged along with my wife on a business trip for this stay. I had some accounts in downtown Seattle that were within walking distance (long walk), so I managed to get some business done also. The hotel is going through room renovations, so not everything is done yet. We stayed on the sixth floor east side...which is the only side to stay on if you want any kind of a view. Otherwise, you're looking at another building. The eastside, however, faces a fairly busy street, so noise is a bit of a problem. The higher you go, the less a factor this is.
Our room had not been renovated yet, but it was, never the less, large, clean, and comfortable. I rated this stay as Average, but I would say slightly higher...but not all the way to Very Good.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heywoodya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hijhatfield, Manager at Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2011

Thank you so much for staying with us!

I'm glad that you had a good time, and that you were able to get some work done while you were here. Please come back and visit us again!

Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Lake Union
Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#46 of 104 in Seattle
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown

Address: 211 Dexter Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-5105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $144 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Seattle Center is conveniently located 4 blocks from the Seattle Center where you can visit our city's top attractions, including the Space Needle, Pacific Science Center, Experience Music Project, and Key Arena. Within a mile of the hotel, you are able to explore the historic Pike Place Market, Pioneer Square, Seattle Art Museum, and enjoy some of Seattle's great shopping centers, including Westlake Center, Nordstrom and Pacific Place. Our hotel is also a wonderful place to stay if you are planning on watching our Seattle Mariners, Seattle Sounders FC, or Seattle Seahawks. Within 2 miles of us are Safeco and CenturyLink Fields as well as the Seattle cruise terminals. Our central location also makes it very easy to venture out of the downtown area and explore the many quirky and distinctive districts which truly make Seattle unique, including Capitol Hill, Queen Anne, Ballard, and Fremont. We are also conveniently located if you are visiting Seattle Pacific University, Seattle University, Pacific Lutheran University, or the University of Washington. Our friendly and knowledgeable staff is here to ensure you have a relaxing and comfortable stay in the Emerald City and are happy to assist with directions, reservations and trip planning so you are able to make the most of your time in our city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Seattle Hotel Seattle
Seattle Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing