We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #24 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Really enjoyed my stay at this University district hotel. Room was very comfortable, quiet and clean. Good seating, counter space in bathroom. Liked having the soap, shampoo and conditioner in push button dispensers. Hotel has only 6 floors which was nice. Free parking while staying is also a big plus.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio G, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at Watertown and for writing a review. I am glad you enjoyed our location in the University District and found your room comfortable, quite, and clean. Those three points are the very basics of hospitality and we take pride in offering them consistently for every guest. I hope we can welcome you back to Watertown next time your travels bring you to Seattle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    300
    71
    26
    16
See reviews for
325
238
53
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

The other reviews indicate what a nice hotel this is, so I’ll just add a few notes. First, we stayed in the larger sized room (double the size of the basic room) and it was well worth it. Nice touches include a lot of counterspace in the bathroom to lay out all your stuff, a wooden bench, larger sofa bed, mini-refrigerator and small microwave, and Keurig coffee machine with a selection of coffee and tea pods. Instead of those tiny bottles of shampoo and bar soap that doesn’t dissolve in water, this hotel has liquid dispensers (see photo) which I prefer. The toilet/tub room has a motion sensor that operates the fan, which is very quiet. The hair dryer afixed to the wall also has a built-in night light. The room comes with 2 terry-cloth bathrobes of the kind you find in hotels (thick and heavy so you won’t be tempted to stick one in your bag on the way out). The king bed was high quality with good quality linens and comforter. As mentioned in other reviews, the hotel doesn’t provide a free breakfast. Instead, they have a Starbucks-like coffee boutique with pastries and light food. It’s open until 2pm, after which the management puts out reasonable quality free coffee and mini-cupcakes in the lobby. The free parking is underground and the spaces are tight. We had rented a compact car with this in mind and it worked out well. Security is good; a key card is required to access the garage and to operate the elevator. Internet is via free hotel unsecured wireless. The hotel lobby has a pantry with drinks and snacks you can buy; there’s also a grocery market across the street.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PA88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio G, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience at Watertown. It sounds like you took full advantage of most of our room amenities and features. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed our spacious Studio Suite room type which features the sofa bed and extra seating area. ALL of our room types feature a mini-fridge , microwave, Keurig, wooden bench, and liquid amenity dispensers. As always parking and internet is completely free for hotel guests and Pineapple Café patrons. We stand behind the product and services offered at Watertown and aim to leave a lasting positive impression on all our guests. Thank you once again for your review and patranoge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We have stayed at this property since it opened. We like the secure parking and the van to the downtown. The rooms are efficiently appointed and have quality linens and towels. We were disappointed to find the complimentary breakfast replaced by the Pineapple Cafe, where limited items may be purchased. It's not as good as it used to be, but we would return to the Watertown Hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the pop machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHS60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio G, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Watertown. It’s through comments from valued guests that allow us to correct any inconsistencies in either our product or service as well as acknowledge our staff for a job well done. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed our complimentary secured parking garage and shuttle to downtown. We have upgraded our food and beverage options by opening the Pineapple Café in our North Lobby. We can now offer our guests a menu of breakfast and lunch sandwiches, espresso drinks, pastries and more. Hotel guests receive 15% off the low prices. I am eager to welcome you back to Watertown for your next trip to Seattle. Allow me to personally make your next reservation by emailing me at agebran@watertownseattle.com. Please let me know if I can be of any other service to you. Thank you again for your review!
Antonio Gebran
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall uk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

This is our 4th/5th visit to the Watertown but the first time since it was taken over by Pineapple. Previously, I found the service and 'extras' next to none but i do feel it has slipped. I e-mailed them twice before I arrived and failed to get a reply which was unusual and a little frustrating. The complimentary breakfast is no longer and it was so convenient when you had a long day ahead of you! The delicious cookies are also no longer and replaced with tasteless cupcakes and although the room was extremely clean (as before), there were things missing that were there before. I am not sure if they still do their 'a la cart' which offered certain luxuries but I saw no reference to it. The free, secure parking is excellent and the free wi-fi in reception is also useful. Our stay was comfortable but as others have said, it is slipping and I will look elsewhere in future before I book the Watertown again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicsoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio G, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Thank you for your taking the time to review your experience at Watertown. I apologize and am concerned that your emails did not reach us and were not responded to timely. We strive to respond to emails within 24 hours in all cases. I will research this further and make necessary adjustments in our procedures.

As you have acknowledged, we have changed our food and beverage programming by opening Pineapple Café in our North lobby. Different from previous buffet offerings, which we could no longer execute consistently , we now serve fresh house-made lunch sandwiches, in addition to the breakfast offerings of espresso drinks, breakfast burritos, pastries, cookies and more. Watertown Hotel guests receive 15% discount off the low prices for all items.

We hope that our continued offering of amenities such as complimentary secured parking and free WiFi throughout the hotel will weigh in your booking decision in the future. We hope to welcome you back.

If I may be of any personal service to you, please do not hesitate to phone me directly at 206-826-4253

Thanks again for your feedback!
Antonio Gebran
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Great location if you want to be in the U District. Staff was friendly. Not particularly good on restaurant recs, but then they wee pre pretty young. Rom is large and the bed comfy. Wifi was fast. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gawdpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketchum, Idaho
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Still LOVE the Watertown! The hotel is clean, friendly and well kept! I realize that breakfast is not included , but this is not really that important. i would much rather have free parking and free internet. Seattle has plenty of places to eat. Just saying...
The front desk staff are VERY helpful!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunvalleygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitka, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

I have been staying at the Watertown when in Seattle on business for the last 3 years. I loved all the special perks that made a business stay turn into a pleasurable experience. The last time I stayed at the Watertown was over Christmas on a personal vacation and I was very disappointed by several things. It has been sold to the Pineapple company (or, some such name) and there is no complimentary breakfast, there are cheesy pineapple cupcakes in the lobby, there are no longer Aveda products, or good coffee in the rooms. The perks are that it is in a great location, there is free parking, internet, and the service is very good.

There is nothing wrong with the Watertown now but it is not as special as it used to be. Too bad.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Bellevue
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#61 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bellevue
Residence Inn Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 4242 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105-6009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colorful and contemporary, urban and upscale- Welcome to Watertown Hotel. Located just four blocks from the University of Washington, Watertown Hotel is the ideal hotel whether your goal is academic or adventurous. Here, you're not only close to campus, you're close to everything Seattle: The Pike Place Market, Space Needle, Seattle Waterfront and world-class shopping and dining. So check in and chill out. We're always at your service when you Staypineapple at The Watertown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing