We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful Hotel, Lovely Pool, Great Service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Ranked #20 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Lovely Pool, Great Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

I stayed here for two nights with my husband and two children, ages 6 & 10. We stayed a Friday and Saturday night in a suite (490 sq ft) which was quite nice as we had a king sized bed and had privacy doors to shut between our bedroom and the living room, where the kids slept on the pull out sofa.

Everything in our room was elegant, good quality and comfortable... the lobby and Georgian dining room were gorgeous, and everything else (the stairs, the hallways etc) all continued the trend.

Location was perfect. Here's what I wanted to know before I went, and could not find information about, so here it is. The hotel is:

2 blocks from a grocery store

2 blocks from 2 drugstores

Exactly 4 blocks down (on 5th Ave) from the monorail ($2.50/adult, $1 kids) that takes you straight to the Seattle Center (Space Needle, Science Center etc)

Exactly 5 blocks from the entrance of Pike Place Market (2 blocks over to Pike Street, and 3 blocks down Pike Street). It's an easy walk.

Basically, it's EXACTLY in the heart of the retail core, with tons of restaurants, and entertainment within blocks. Also there's a town car that will take you to where you need to go at no charge, we got a ride once, but it's so fast to walk everywhere we just did that most of the time.

A great place to try eating, is at the cheesecake factory on Pike & 7th... AMAZING food...

The breakfast buffet was ok (nice fresh berries, fresh juice, the rest was basic sausage, eggs, potatoes, cereal... we got it as a part of the stay-cation and it was very convenient to eat there in the morning, but if you have energy to go out in the morning, there's many places you can eat that offer great buffets that I feel offer more for the $25/plate per adult the Fairmont charges for this breakfast buffet. Frankly, for that price and the quality of the rest of the accommodations, I was expecting something a little more gourmet. My little girl ordered the teddy bear pancakes though and she really loved them... I'd go once to try it out, and enjoy the lovely dining room, but keep your eyes open for other breakfast options as you're going around.

We loved the pool, which was perfect for the kids to play, and the large crystal clear hot tub (more like a hot pool) where we spent a lot of time. The pool area was well appointed and elegant, with skylights and palm trees giving a tropical feeling. There were constantly people polishing and tidying, making everything perfect. The bathroom in the pool/ health club area was BEAUTIFUL... everything you could want!

The staff were super helpful and eager to make everything perfect, they really put energy into answering our questions, taking care of small requests and going the extra mile... when one of the staff on our floor (8th floor) noticed we were heading to the pool and our son didn't have a bathrobe, she personally went and got one his size and brought it to the pool for us. I think her name was something like Zalenka, she was from Croatia... Anyhow, it takes energy and caring to notice something like that, and care enough to do something about it. I was very impressed!

Sleep quality was so so... the beds were beautifully made up with nice sheets and feather bed, and were comfortable and beautiful. The problem we had (no idea if this is common to all the beds, or just ours... of just ours because we're "bigger" people...) every time one of us turned over, the bed shook back and forth (as it was on a metal frame on wheels) and woke the other person up. If you're a bigger person and taking a queen or king bed, try lying down and seeing if the bed shimmies when the other person turns over... if so, call housekeeping and ask them to fix it! Basically, next time we go, we're getting 2 queens instead of a king... :-)

Bottom line is, hotel is beautiful, we loved it, and will absolutely be back next time we're in Seattle. For quality, service and location in downtown Seatte, we were very happy with the Fairmont Olympic.

Room Tip: I asked for a room within 10 doors of the elevator, to not hear noise but not have to walk forever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Britta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,767
    678
    190
    77
    40
See reviews for
579
1,020
139
650
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

This is a class hotel in the downtown area of Seattle but: $ 15 for internet for EACH device, $8 for water in the room, $+40 for valet parking. Heat was hard to control in the room and TV reception was snowy on a local channel. These trivial matters just do not match the ambience and advertised quality of the property.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marleypacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

I have decided that every time I stay in Seattle this will be my first choice for a hotel. My husband and I missed our flight out of Seattle due to a family emergency and we had to quickly find a hotel room at the last minute while being stressed out and tired. We booked at The Fairmont Olympic and couldn't have made a better choice. The moment we walked I was charmed first by the gorgeous decor and then by the professional and polite staff. After dealing with rude behavior for hours this was exactly what I needed to unwind and feel at ease again.

It truly has a lovely atmosphere. The food is thoughtful, delicious and elegant. The rooms are lovely, clean and comfortable. If you sign up for their free rewards program you also have free wireless during your stay... They serve an afternoon tea too. It really is just that wonderful.
If you need to almost guarantee a positive environment to be your home away from home while in Seattle I cannot recommend this location more!

Room Tip: If you purchase a room through Priceline or a similar service don't hesitate to go for the upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLSchiebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
port orchard
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Did a getaway trip to Seattle and the Fairmont was on a reduced rate. Service was excellent from the valet, to the doorman, to the concierge. The fitness center had precor ellipticals and the pool was warm and the hot tub had space for over a dozen people. The room was on the old side and our room had a leaky AC. The suite was well appointed and even had french doors separating it from the main living area. The location is also perfect. Breakfast at the Georgian was high quality as well.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mk2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We spent a week at the Fairmont in Seattle. Once we arrived we upgraded our room to a suite. The suites are nice and have lots of room along with a TV in the bedroom and in the main room. The decor was a little outdated. The room was quiet and we were able to open the windows a bit to let some fresh air in. The hotel staff was very nice and accomodating. Parking for the hotel is right across the street but is pricey per day (maybe not by Seattle standards). I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the downtown seattle area. Even though we had a car lots of restaurants, bars and sights within walking distance.

Room Tip: We were on the 11th floor and seemed to very nice and quiet there at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mover1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

The is a very nice hotel with nice rooms which are above standard for large chain hotels.
It's very conveniently located for the shops & restaurants - about 5 mins walk from the Crab Pot for man V food fans! Wild Ginger restaurant also highly recommended for delicious Thai food.I've always wanted to see Pike Place Market & the fish throwing vendors - worth seeing definitely, but what amazed me about the market was the fresh flowers & the cherries. Amazing!The seafood stalls are amazing, the chewing gum wall stinking and the overall Seattle experience fantastic. All within 15 minutes walk from the hotel. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cameroncity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
142 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

If you like old classic Hotels that have that "Old Lady" grace, then this is the place. Central to Restaurants and shopping and very easy to get to from Interstate 5, the main North South Freeway which goes through Seattle. Great staff and very welcoming. The valet parking is expensive but all parking in Seattle seems that way.
This is a great place to stay on the way through Seattle or for a weekend. The rooms are typical of an older designed Hotel but they have done a great job updating the rooms. Very Classy!!

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor and away from the elevators and ice machines. Higher up as the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rusty49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#5 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,940 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,734 reviews
Hotel 1000
#9 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Olympic Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Property: The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Address: 411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101-2507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#11 Business Hotel in Seattle
#13 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#16 Green Hotel in Seattle
#16 Family Hotel in Seattle
#18 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont Olympic Seattle 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from Seattle's most exciting attractions, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel combines traditional warmth with 21st century convenience and personalized service. Located in the heart of downtown Seattle, the beautifully historic 450-room hotel blends classic ambiance and Italian renaissance architecture with state-of-the-art amenities, including high-speed wireless Internet access in all guest rooms and public spaces, 24-hour room service, 24-hour concierge, a fully equipped fitness center with indoor swimming pool, and complimentary house car service throughout downtown. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel is excited for the next stage in this history with the start of a $25 million renovation. This renovation began on December 9th 2015 and is set to finish in July of 2016. The renovation will go floor by floor and will include buffer floor closures in order to minimize disruption to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Evoline ltd and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Fairmont Olympic Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel Seattle
Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Fairmont Seattle
Four Seasons Seattle
Seattle Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing