We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will not be disappointed”
Review of Bakery Nouveau

Bakery Nouveau
Ranked #1 of 107 Bakeries in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“You will not be disappointed”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I love this place SO much I can only allow myself to go every two to three months. EVERYTHING is good. Pastries are divine, pizza is incredible, chocolates to die for. There's always a line, but it moves fast. YOU WILL LOVE THIS PLACE.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank katdarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    756
    128
    20
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“As good as France”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

http://www.bakerynouveau.com/menu/index.php

Master baker William Leaman trained in France. He was captain of the 2005 Bread Bakers Guild Team USA, where he led his team to victory at the Coupe du Monde de Boulangerie (World Cup of Baking).

I’ve watched him from the start, when he was looking for customers. Now the line is out the door on week ends and the few tables are packed.

Everything is excellent – bread, pastry, candy, sandwiches, pizza... He’s always experimenting with new recipes. His standard baguettes, croissant butter, almond, chocolate are better than many bakeries in France. He will even have olive fougasse, macaron, and madeleines. The cakes and pastries are not only delicious, but gorgeous.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dadhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing baked goods”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I love Bakery Nouveau. It's out of the way for me, but I still make it there. Frequently a long line (out the door in many cases), but worth it. Also, the pastries aren't the cheapest, but they are worth it. Hey, butter is expensive!

Must try the twice-baked almond croissant. I'd get that over the chocolate one even if you are a chocolate-lover like me. The cakes are all amazing too (I love the chocolate cake that looks like a fairly simple one - it's one the best chocolate cakes you'll ever eat).

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JoshMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The line is an obvious sign of goodness”
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Always a line, but always worth it. Since you waited so long, you should probably order a few extra goodies to take home. You won't regret it!

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank MrButton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“If I could recommend one eatery in Seattle, this would be the one.”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I live in West Seattle and I travel a lot and bakery items are my favorite weakness. <g> If I can find a great bakery, my whole day is happy. Bakery Nouveau is, bar none, the very best bakery that I have ever been to *in the world* - literally. This place surpasses every Parisian and old-world bakery that I have ever been to. I bring friends, family, clients, and overseas visitors here and everyone raves about Bakery Nouveau.

What makes their product line head and shoulders above the rest? First of all, they have brought the quality of Texture to a level that (unless you've experienced Bakery Nouveau) you just have never tasted; The pastries have a single layer of crisp thin buttery exterior, flaky yet moist on the inside, and they all just melt in your mouth. Every loaf of bread also offers this contrast in texture which is nothing short of incredible. Truly amazing. Secondly, they season with true/original/authentic flavor, not just sugar and lard...and they use in-season fruits et al.

Other reviewers will no doubt cite that their signature piece is their Twice Baked Almond Croissant (which is faboo), but honestly, you CANNOT go wrong at this place. It is unbelievable. I know that some people will drive 50 miles to have their pizza by the slice. Personally, I'm a super fan of their oat & date bread, parisian macaroons, and their specialty desserts (sold whole or by the slice, these are the specialty desserts that are beautiful to look at but even more delicious than they are pretty.) Be prepared for a long line, particularly on weekend mornings. But.It.Is.So.Totally.Worth.It !!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank katielaughs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bakery Nouveau also viewed

 

Been to Bakery Nouveau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing