We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun”

Alaska Native Heritage Center
Book In Advance
More Info
US$135.00*
and up
Alaska Native Heritage Center Tour
Ranked #22 of 179 things to do in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Alaskan native culture is presented through storytelling, dancing, craft-making and simulated, life-sized villages representing each of the five main indigenous groups.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed listening and having the Alaskan heritage explained and shown to us! Even saw a moose on the way in!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank M9414VNandrewh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"native games"
in 72 reviews
"young people"
in 86 reviews
"outdoor exhibits"
in 29 reviews
"story telling"
in 34 reviews
"gathering place"
in 17 reviews
"dance performance"
in 17 reviews
"cultural groups"
in 20 reviews
"cultural experience"
in 19 reviews
"small lake"
in 30 reviews
"guided tour"
in 55 reviews
"answer questions"
in 45 reviews
"free shuttle"
in 58 reviews
"different cultures"
in 24 reviews
"native peoples"
in 47 reviews
"anchorage museum"
in 66 reviews
"great place to learn"
in 22 reviews
"arts and crafts"
in 17 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 1,480 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2018

Me and my friend went to this place to see the Alaskan heritage, but unfortunately it was disappointing experience, there was no guides in most of the cottages to explain to us what we see in them and no noticeboard in the cottages to explain the use of the tools and the items kept there. The dancing show was nice.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank flona98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Beautiful museum with an interesting collection. They have replicas of native housing located around the lake and each house has representatives from the tribes explains the lodging and other details. There was a native dance performance while we were there as well as people selling their handmade goods. They had beautiful clothing display and other artifacts. The gift shop was very nice but we did not try the cafe. There are nice indoor and outdoor areas..

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank PittsburghBambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018

I took the trolley from downtown Anchorage to the museum. There are a few artifacts and signs to read inside, but the real gems are the outdoor displays and demonstrations. I recommend a guided tour. The guides tell you about themselves and their tribe before the tour starts. You visit multiple traditional, native Alaskan homes. Each home has a docent who gives you information about the structure, the families who would live there, and some items found inside. I spend a half day at the Center.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank familyvisit830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2018

You absolutely must go here. It is an excellent demonstration of the native groups of Alaska. The student dances and display of events in their Olympics was fantastic! We have been here twice - and spent an entire day - enjoying every minute.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank shirleymWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alaska Native Heritage Center also viewed

 

Been to Alaska Native Heritage Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing