We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We highly recommend this B & B!!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moose Den Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #62 of 126 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 September 2009

This was such a joy to stay at this B & B.....the owners are the nicest and most accomodating couple. We loved our stay and appreciated the privacy and quietness of the surroundings.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2009

We absolutely loved this Bed and Breakfast. The rooms were beautifully decorated, large and clean, and they even provided a small refrigerator for our use. We stayed in the Deck room and our daughters had the Moose Room but we all enjoyed the large deck overlooking the wooded area. The sheets were heavenly and the beds wers so comfortable, we all slept like babies. Best of all was the hospitality of Rico and Kamsiah, they were so friendly and eager to give us any traveling tips they had. Breakfast was delicious, too with lots of variety to suit anyones likes. The location was great for arrival into Anchorage airport. We would definately stay here again and will recommend it to all our friends!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genolee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Moose Den B&B last month and were thoroughly delighted. Rico and Kamsiah are fantastic hosts and helped make our introduction to Alaska very enjoyable. We stayed in the Walrus room, which was nice and big. The bathroom vanity has plenty of space, the bed is especially comfy, and everything was super clean! We were lucky enough to have two mornings to sample the excellent breakfasts; I especially liked the fact that you had plenty from which to choose. The location is out of the way a bit if you don’t have a car—though in a beautiful neighborhood—but the area is quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seasider113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

This place was very clean (and I am very particular about this), very well kept and has new and modern furnishings. It is in a nice, quiet neighborhood in South Anchorage. Very helpful and accommodating hosts. We even saw a moose grazing in the front yard! We stayed 2 different nights here, once in the Deck Room and once in the Nugget Room. Both were equally as nice. We would definitely stay here again and would definitely recommend to others. This was one of the best places we stayed during our 17 day Alaska vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LUV_TO_TRAVEL_TEXAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

This was our first B & B experience and it couldn't have been any nicer. Rico and Kamscia were the most gracious hosts, welcoming us into their lovely home with kindness and consideration. Their home was beautifully decorated and very, very clean. The guest rooms were so comfortable that if I wasn't excited about visiting Alaska, I would have stayed in the room for the day and enjoyed the luxurious bedding. The breakfast was delicious and the conversations entertaining. I was also very pleased when we didn't have to travel more than a few minutes from the airport to get to Moose Den. What a relief after a very long day. I highly recommend this wonderful establishment and promise you won't be disappointed. I can't wait to return someday. What a gem!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kadensgigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

We spent four nights this past week in Anchorage and chose the Moose Den among several B & Bs in South Anchorage that we had considered. (Their Web site, with its good room photos, helped us decide, as did the availability of a private bathroom -- something we've learned not to take for granted.)

My husband and I enjoyed Rico and Kamscia's hospitality and general helpfulness, as well as their quality-built and comfortable new home. Kamscia's breakfasts were delicious and more than filling. With an amply sized bathroom in all the rooms, a nice-sized television and very comfy beds, we were at home from the moment we got there. As an added bonus, we saw a moose right in the yard as we returned "home" on two consecutive nights.

For us, this place was perfect, as it was close to the home of a family member we were regularly visiting in South Anchorage. However, it really is a great location and would be a very good choice for anyone considering a stay in the Anchorage area, whether for one night or for several.

As the owner of a vacation rental myself, I'm very conscious of "all the little details" and have to say I'm most impressed with the Moose Den and would recommend it to anyone looking for a quality, hassle-free place to stay while visiting the great state of Alaska.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TallahasseeLassie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2008

We had such a difficult time trying to find a decent hotel in Anchorage for under $250, and all the highly ranked b&b's were booked. Finally, after searching and searching online, we found the Moose Den B&B. I think it wasn't booked up because it was further from downtown, about 13 miles south of the airport. This didn't matter to us as we have a car and was heading to Whittier the next morning anyways. The location was very easy to find, and although the neighborhood initially looked suburban, the road eventually led to a wonderfully woodsy property that contained the house. The house looked new.

The layout- the owners live upstairs. Downstairs, there are three suites which all have their own bathrooms and leading out to a hallway with shared private entrance. The house is situated with gorgeous forest views on all sides of the home.

Pros: Delicious breakfast of vegetable omelet, reindeer sausages, buttered toast, and Costa Rican strong coffee. Our room, Nugget Room, was moderately sized (big enough to fit our pack-n-play portable crib for our son), and most importantly, VERY CLEAN. This is my highest priority, and I am very picky- I was pleased that the room and bathroom was spotlessly clean with modern, new furniture. The desk was useful and the unit had wireless internet. Windows had darkening shades (not black-out, but darkened enough for us). The owners were very nice and welcoming, we are not typical b&b people, but felt very comfortable and welcomed by the owners. They also made us feel comfortable with our 18-month old son (even making a comment that it was okay for him to make a mess at the breakfast table!). They also didn't mind that we had to arrive at 2am due to our late flight.

Cons: Don't leave the front door open too long, as there are mosquitoes outside by the door! We arrived after midnight, and inadvertently left the door open for awhile while unloading our luggage. Mosquitoes LOVE my blood, so we had to kill a couple of them before going to bed.

All in all, we felt so grateful and lucky that we found this place- it was at least $100 cheaper than the cheapest decent hotel we could find in Anchorage for our travel date! We will definitely return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank katinSanDiego_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
31.3 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Eagle River/Anchorage Are
45.8 km away
Hotel Alyeska
Hotel Alyeska
#1 of 2 in Girdwood
2,129 reviews
8 km away
The Lakefront Anchorage
The Lakefront Anchorage
#7 of 74 in Anchorage
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Comfort Suites Anchorage International Airport
9.4 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anchorage
12.1 km away
The Hotel Captain Cook
The Hotel Captain Cook
#6 of 74 in Anchorage
1,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moose Den Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moose Den Bed & Breakfast

Address: 12170 Hilltop Dr, Anchorage, AK 99515-3239
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range: $127 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moose Den B&B is located in Anchorage, Alaska, 13 minutes south of ANC Airport. From the B&B, the south side business center - where Alaska's largest mall, Wal-Mart, Costco, sport shops and restaurants are located - is only 6 minutes North; downtown Anchorage is 15 minutes further North. The 5-bedroom house is new, constructed in 2007. Located in a 2-acre secluded forested area where the moose give birth to their young. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moose Den Bed & Breakfast Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing