We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Like staying with family” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moose Den Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moose Den Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #60 of 128 Anchorage B&B and Inns
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
236 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Like staying with family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

Staying at the Moose Den B&B is a bit like staying with family. The home has a "lived in" feel, unlike some B&Bs that feel like small hotels. The owners are very friendly and Rico sits at the dining room table, drinking his coffee, while guests have their breakfast. His wife is often in the kitchen at the computer and the two are willing to share lots of information about things to do and to share stories with you. They are very accommodating about dietary requirements if informed in advance.

Their B&B is on the soth side of town, away form the "downtown" area. If you have a car, this is not a problem and the price is lower than the downtown locations, making i a good value. We spent most of our time south of Anchorage on day trips, so the location was perfect. They are at the end of a road, surrounded by trees, so you don't feel like you're in the suburbs that you've just driven through.

The beds were very comfortable and there are blackout curtains in the room, which are helpful since it stays light outside pretty late in the summer. Memory foam mattresses were very comfortable and the room was spacious. We stayed int he deck room and although we did not use the deck during our short stay, it's large and provides lots of space for enjoying the outdoors if you want to sit out and read a book or watch for moose. One visited the property after we left for the day during our stay, but one of the other guests was lucky enough to see it.

The front door has a code entry, so the owners accommodate late arrival with advance notice. This is a very big plus for this B&B, as you do not have to disturb the owners. The only negative is that the doors to the rooms stick and you can sometimes hear other late-arriving guests. If you're a light sleeper, this can wake you up.

If you aren't looking to be in the middle of the downtown area and want to feel like you are a guest of the family rather than staying in a paid accommodation, this is a great place. If you prefer the anonymity of a hotel, this isn't the place. You will get to know the owners and the other guests over a liesurely breakfast, and may get some excellent tips on sites to see or things to do! Another great plus is that they let us check in online and print boarding passes from the computer in the kitchen.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMM2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tianjin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

We stayed a few nights and enjoyed! this is a peaceful place ,perfect for rest after a long journey,in the nature;we had the nice surprise to see a baby moose in the garden just the very day we arrived!! Rico and shamzya are really good hosts,very helpful and kind;the rooms are cosy and the mattress really perfect!! We recommend this place really!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank licciola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Vermont
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

We live in New England and have been to several B&B's here so imagine our surprise when we walked into a totally new home, especially designed for the comfort of guests! The best thing was Rico's knowledge of the area - it was hard to get my husband moving in the morning because he and Rico got into long conversations about everything from the local economy to the best way to smoke a salmon. Kam is also hospitable and gracious, and cooks a nice Alaskan breakfast. (Don't come to Alaska for a gourmet dining experience - good solid healthy food is what you will find here, fresh fruit, eggs, reindeer sausage, etc.) I'm sure we'll stay here again - reading the other critiques will give you the flavor. And yes -- CLEAN!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenMtnMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

The B&B was comfortable and clean. The breakfasts were adequate. The other B&Bs we stayed in Anchorage seemed a better value. They cost less and were located near downtown or by one of the trails. This was located away from most places in Anchorage. It was quite adequate and a nice place to stay and the hosts were very cordial, but the other places we stayed offered more as far as surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 123alwaystraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

A home from home, in a great setting...so nice to be in Anchorage but not downtown. We stayed in the Deck room, big, light and airy, finely furnished. Breakfasts were more than enough. Thanks Rico and Kamsiah!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Karen00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Grove, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2009

This was such a joy to stay at this B & B.....the owners are the nicest and most accomodating couple. We loved our stay and appreciated the privacy and quietness of the surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

We absolutely loved this Bed and Breakfast. The rooms were beautifully decorated, large and clean, and they even provided a small refrigerator for our use. We stayed in the Deck room and our daughters had the Moose Room but we all enjoyed the large deck overlooking the wooded area. The sheets were heavenly and the beds wers so comfortable, we all slept like babies. Best of all was the hospitality of Rico and Kamsiah, they were so friendly and eager to give us any traveling tips they had. Breakfast was delicious, too with lots of variety to suit anyones likes. The location was great for arrival into Anchorage airport. We would definately stay here again and will recommend it to all our friends!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank genolee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Dimond Center Hotel
#12 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Hotel Alyeska
#1 of 2 in Girdwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,786 reviews
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#31 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moose Den Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moose Den Bed & Breakfast

Property: Moose Den Bed & Breakfast
Address: 12170 Hilltop Dr, Anchorage, AK 99515-3239
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moose Den B&B is located in Anchorage, Alaska, 13 minutes south of ANC Airport. From the B&B, the south side business center - where Alaska's largest mall, Wal-Mart, Costco, sport shops and restaurants are located - is only 6 minutes North; downtown Anchorage is 15 minutes further North. The 5-bedroom house is new, constructed in 2007. Located in a 2-acre secluded forested area where the moose give birth to their young. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moose Den Bed & Breakfast Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing