We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I wish that it was my home...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
City Garden Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 127 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alingsas, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I wish that it was my home...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

At first I came to this beautiful B&B to stay here for five nights in July. The B&B is really close downtown, it takes about 5 min to walk over there. The house/rooms are very nice and has a nice interior design. It is also a peaceful and quiet place to stay. Can’t forget to mention that the rooms are clean.
Vic did an excellent breakfast! They are very service minded and they gave me advice what I can see/do in Anchorage.
I really enjoyed to stay here, they made me feel really comfortable!
The best thing about this B&B is that I was lucky to get there even a second time in August (after doing a trek in Alaska). I really appreciate that Vic & Jerry are conscious about that there guests are having a good time.
The thing that I liked least was to leave Vic, Jerry and Alaska. My experience of this B&B is that if I will go back to Anchorage, I will go there!

Room Tip: From one of the rooms you can see the sea and the sunset. In another room you have a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
66
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

We were in the CG for 3 nights during our trip to AK in August. We split our stay in two as we were two days at the beginning of our trip and the last one before taking our flight back to Seattle.
As we get there the last day it was liked arriving home again!

Victor made our stay really nice. We really enjoyed his homemade breakfast and chatting! He is a nice host!

The place has only three rooms, the big one with its own bathroom and the other two sharing. Being only two rooms sharing was not a problem at all. The bathroom was very spacious and clean, as well as the rest of the house and bedrooms.

We where in the smalller one facing the street which was still very spacious. The bed was really confortable and the deco was nice, modern and functional.

We saw the McKinley from our room during our last day!!!!! awesome!

The house is in the "strip park" on the 10th which is a short walk to the middle of everything.
You can leave your car in the street just in front of the house. Actually the place is really peaceful and quiet. There are also other b&b around and the whole area is like a small residential area in the downtown.

We really enjoyed our stay and would say this is the place to be in Anchorage!

ps. also the smoked salmon we bought at a local store near the house was really good! thank you for the advise Vic!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redivan666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onekama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

My friend had read about this place in a tour guide and we were very pleased with everything about our stay. The bed was super comfy, the room airy and clean, and the breakfast delicious. Vic, our host, is a very well traveled person and could also direct us to things to see and places to eat in the Anchorage area. He was very kind and went above and beyond (he took us to the train station and airport) to make our two stays there go smoothly.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldkmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

Located in downtown Anchorage, near shoreline, and near a park. The breakfast was good, the host was very accommodating and shared his knowledge of Anchorage and Alaska with us. He made excellent recommendations for where to eat and what to see. The rooms were clean, spacious and lovely.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TNTraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

Excellent room (clean and quite) and bathroom.
The owner of the b&b is a great person, very nice and friendly.
He is able to suggest great restaurant and place to visit.
We really suggest to stay in this b&b in Anchorage!!!
From Italy.
Eleonora e Federico

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oulx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2010

Excellent accomodation. Very private, and the breakfast was to die for. We loved the bees in the garden. Uncluttered, clean, artful decor. If we are ever in Anchorage again, we will book our nights here.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

Victor and Jerry, thanks for my stay first of all. These two incredible
guys are some of the most giving, interesting and helpful people I´v meet
on my now, 5 month old worldtrip. I would recommend this B&B to everybody, that
is going to Anchorage.
The interior is done in a very sophisticated mannor and the decoration
and art objects makes this B&B unique. There are lots of beautiful flowers
and plants (hence the name).
Both Jerry and Vic knows a lot about Anchorage and Alaska and have several
suggestions to attractions and restaurants.

Great breakfast, great beds and great people. What els could you ask for!

If you go to this place, I personal garentie that you wouldent be disapointed.

-Theis Gjørup

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theisgjoerup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#16 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#11 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#22 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Clarion Suites Downtown
#26 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Garden Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Garden Bed & Breakfast

Property: City Garden Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1352 W 10th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to City Garden Bed & Breakfast,located on the west end of the parkstrip in downtown Anchorage, Alaska. City Garden has accommodations of three rooms all located on the second floor. The master bedroom has a private bathroom and solarium. The two front rooms directly overlook the parkstrip and have views of Cook Inlet and Mt. McKinley. All rooms have queen-size beds with down comforters. City Garden is a non-smoking establishment ... more   less 
Also Known As:
City Garden Bed & Breakfast Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing