We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poignant, memorial, and creative memorial”

Alaska Veterans Memorial
Ranked #53 of 179 things to do in Anchorage
Attraction details
Reviewed June 10, 2017

5 minutes from downtown is a very powerful and poignant monument to Alaska War Veterans. I was deeply moved by the stone bugle and the lovely brief poem honoring all those who have served. It reads in part, "My stone is red for the blood they shed....If I could be seen by all mankind, perhaps peace will come in my lifetime.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank JoeNathan9249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

3 - 7 of 27 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2017

A beautiful location, serene and peaceful, evokes a sense of great respect and appreciation for all those who have served their country. Take time out to pay your respects and breath in the beautiful clean mountain air.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank andromedainfusion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 16, 2016

Beautiful monument looking out on Alaska Range. Great hikes into Byers Lake area, bathroom stop and camping area!

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Shelley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2016

Pylons dedicated to service men/women of all military branches. Very impressive and educational. Small gift shop and very clean restrooms... It's a long way from the last ones and until the next ones! Stop!

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank spencers1621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2016

Stand tall Soldier / Sailor / Marine / Airman / Coast Guardsman / Merchant Mariner.. Visit and Salute each monument individually.

Sirs! Ladies and Gentlemen! Officers and Men! Alive and Deceased! I Salute You proudly and I Thank You So Very Much for your service!

Since July of 1992 my first ever visit, I have visited this OUTSTANDING MEMORIAL to our Veterans countless times. My Father USCG, My older Son USA, My Younger Son USAF, Myself USMC and USN. Do not MISS this experience.

Date of experience: August 2016
3  Thank Kanbaatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alaska Veterans Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Alaska Veterans Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing