We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bummer”
Review of The Crow's Nest

The Crow's Nest
Ranked #20 of 932 Restaurants in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Reviewed March 26, 2016 via mobile

Setting is nice , service was good, but the food was disappointing. I had the Black Cod , and being a lifeline long Alaskan, I have had some pretty amazing Black Cod . Seemed to be cooked well, just was obviously old and possibly slightly freezer burned . Anyways it was just a bummer and made for a less than good experience .

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank hunt-n-gather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Human Resource at The Crow's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2016

Dear hunt-n-gather,

Thank you very much for choosing to dine at The Crow's Nest Restaurant. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal. Being located in Alaska we are always proud to offer many locally sourced seafood options. Our winter menu currently features items such as Alaskan King Crab Legs, Wild Boar, Hudson Valley Duck, as well as many others. We hope to see you return in the future to either dine with us or enjoy a drink at the bar and take in the views.


Very Respectfully,

Alexandra Matukonis
Human Resource Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 156 of 446 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2016

An amazing restaurant - and a true dining experience. And as long as you understand that this is a 5 Star restaurant with a 7 Star price range you won't be shocked by the bill. And please, bring your table manners with you and don't bring children if they can't behave because this type of experience can be ruined with ill-behaved children. However, it is a wonderful learning experience for those children who can enjoy a very special meal with proper table manners.

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank newtoWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Human Resources at The Crow's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2016

Dear newtoWashington,

Thank you very much for choosing to dine at The Crow's Nest Restaurant. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful meal and dining experience. Being on the 20th floor we are proud to offer wonderful views of The Chugach Range, Cook Inlet, downtown Anchorage, and even Denali on a clear day. We hope to see you return in the future to dine with us or just grab a drink at the bar.


Very Respectfully,

Alexandra Matukonis
Human Resource Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 15, 2016

The Crow's Nest is absolutely amazing! My husband and I were very pleased with our visit. The view we had of the mountains was amazing. The atmosphere was very relaxed and inviting. The staff was very prompt and friendly. We had a red pepper bisque to start with and it was so wonderful. For an appetizer we ordered the cheese platter and that was simply amazing. Very light with the fruit and honey but a wonderful starter. For dinner I had the New York steak and it was cooked perfectly. My husband had the boar and that was very delicious. The wine selection was incredible. After dinner we had dessert. We had chocolate cake with raspberry sorbet. The hot tea and coffee during dessert was great too. This was such an amazing place to eat and a great experience. We were so pleased with the visit we hope to go back for our anniversary. I would highly recommend coming here to anyone who would like a special night out with someone!! Thank you so much for a great visit : )

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bethany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Human Resource at The Crow's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2016

Dear Bethany2586,

Thank you very much for choosing to dine at The Crow's Nest Restaurant. We greatly appreciate the time you took to write your review and provide us with such excellent feedback. We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience and that you plan to celebrate your anniversary there. The cheese slate is one of our most popular appetizers and it features such unique and different cheeses from around the world, and is a great start to any meal. The boar is one of our most popular winter items and it is a treat on any occasion. We again thank you for dining with us and we look forward to seeing you back once again!


Very Respectfully,

Alexandra Matukonis
Human Resource Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2016

We were given the best table in the house, which had the best view overlooking Anchorage. The meal was phenomenal, from the starters to the dessert. Loved the service too, our waitress did a great job in making our meal a very memorable one.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ee_OMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Human Resources at The Crow's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2016

Dear Ee_OMK,

Thank you very much for choosing to dine at The Crow's Nest Restaurant. We greatly appreciate the time you took to write your review and we are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful time. The Crow's Nest is very proud to offer delicious local seafood options along with many other choices ranging from wild boar to duck, accompanied by some of the finest views in Anchorage. From overlooking the port and Sleeping Lady, to the Chugach Range and even Denali on a clear day, we never tire of the views. We hope to see you return again in the future and celebrate once more.


Very Respectfully,

Alexandra Matukonis
Human Resource Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2016

The Crow's nest probably has the best view in Anchorage. I made our reservations six weeks in advance. Our table was terrible...seated outside the kitchen door. In and out and we could hear the loud noises of the kitchen. There were many open tables and I asked if we could move. "No those tables are spoken for"...wow, I thought you couldn't request a table in advance it was first come first serve. This is what I was told when the reservation was made. Service was super slow. Took forever to get drinks. Prices are too high for what it is. My potatoes had no flavor and looked unappealing. The crab was suppose to equal a pound there was no way it was even close...for $58 it is not worth it. The bread they served before dinner was fabulous. The soup in the espresso cup was fun and great. The Bananas Foster was not cooked properly or long enough. IF you are going to this desert take the time to do it correctly. I went to their brunch years ago I think that is probably a better dining experience rather than dinner. So bummed as it had been a long time since I was in Anchorage and it will be years before I return again.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Therese b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Human Resources at The Crow's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2016

Dear Therese b,

We would like to thank you very much for choosing to dine with us at The Crow's Nest Restaurant for the Fur Rondy Fireworks and your evening out. We are sorry to hear that your evening was not quite what you pictured. For the seating assignments we try our hardest to go based on requests and when the reservation was made. Unfortunately that night we had many large parties and almost everyone wanted a table with a view of the fireworks. Wouldn't it have been amazing if they shot them off more over downtown so we all would have a better view, but that is wishful thinking. The soup in the espresso cups was our amuse bouche and it is one of my favorite things on the menu, as well as the bread! For the crab legs, they are split down the middle which makes eating them very easy and not so messy, but can make them look a little smaller. We hope that the fireworks helped make your evening special and we hope to see you return in the future to celebrate a nice night out or just a drink at the bar.


Very Respectfully,

Alexandra Matukonis
Human Resource Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crow's Nest also viewed

 

Been to The Crow's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing