We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WASFAA 2016”
Review of The Crow's Nest

The Crow's Nest
Ranked #16 of 907 Restaurants in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Reviewed April 10, 2016

Dinner at the Crow's Nest last night was exceptional. Aaron was the perfect server. His wine suggestion and food selections were right on target. The scallops were excellent and hubby had the steak. Too much food - - service was perfect and food was exceptional.

Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Human Resources at The Crow's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2016

Dear Melissa M,

Thank you very much for choosing to dine at The Crow's Nest Restaurant. We appreciate the time you took to write your review and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall dining experience. We are happy to hear that Aaron was able to make your dining experience extra special and suggested some great wines to accompany your dishes. From our local seafood featuring king crab legs and Alaskan Cod, to our 28 day dry aged new York we have a 10,000 bottle wine cellar that allows us to offer both traditional and unique pairings and everything in between. We hope to see you dine with us in the future again, or perhaps just grab a night cap at the bar.

Very Respectfully,

Alexandra Matukonis
Human Resource Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 134 of 427 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2016

The 20th floor of the Hotel Captain Cook is a picturesque location, with wonderful views of the mountains. The furnishings, staff professionalism, the diverse offerings, and overall excellence of the meals were pluses. One disappointment was an oversalted bernaise sauce on a steak.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RoffmanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Human Resources at The Crow's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2016

Dear RoffmanR,

Thank you very much for choosing to dine at The Crow's Nest Restaurant. We appreciate the time you took to write your review and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall dining experience. Our mountain views stretch all the way from Denali, on a clear day, to Girdwood, if clear enough.From our local seafood featuring king crab legs and Alaskan Cod, to our 28 day dry aged new York we add a French flair to New American Cuisine. We hope that you will return to dine with us in the future, or perhaps just grab a night cap at the bar.

Very Respectfully,

Alexandra Matukonis
Human Resource Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2016

The Crows Nest has become a firm family favorite. The view is incredible (ask to be seated on the Inlet side if possible). The cuisine is delicious and in keeping with a restaurant of this quality, although the chef has a tendency to over think some dishes - some of the vegetables especially would benefit from being a little "blander" to let the more delicate flavors of the main dish shine through. Oh and did I mention the wine list - this could be the largest and best value cellar in Anchorage - lots of hard to find vintages and a very knowledgeable sommelier. Bon appetit!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AKDut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Human Resources at The Crow's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2016

Dear AKDut,

Thank you very much for choosing to dine at The Crow's Nest Restaurant. We are very grateful for patrons such as yourself and we appreciate the time you took to write your review. The inlet side is one of my favorite views, especially at sunset time. The colors of orange and pink fill that side of the restaurant and make you feel as if you are dining atop a cloud. From our local seafood featuring king crab legs and Alaskan Cod, to our 28 day dry aged new York we add a French flair to New American Cuisine. We hope that you will return to dine with us in the future, or perhaps just grab a night cap at the bar.

Very Respectfully,

Alexandra Matukonis
Human Resource Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2016

Have dined once in the restaurant and just went to the bar another time. Great service and fantastic vodka martinis. Great for a date or a fancy drink out.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ak-sr42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Human Resource at The Crow's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2016

Dear ak-sr42,

Thank you very much for choosing to dine at The Crow's Nest Restaurant. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience in the Bar as well as the martinis. Our bartenders are some of the best out there and they really enjoy what they do, from making lifelong relationships with customers to making the perfect martini, they truly take the time in what they do. We hope to see you back in the future to enjoy another drink.


Very Respectfully,

Alexandra Matukonis
Human Resource Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2016 via mobile

Setting is nice , service was good, but the food was disappointing. I had the Black Cod , and being a lifeline long Alaskan, I have had some pretty amazing Black Cod . Seemed to be cooked well, just was obviously old and possibly slightly freezer burned . Anyways it was just a bummer and made for a less than good experience .

Thank hunt-n-gather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Human Resource at The Crow's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2016

Dear hunt-n-gather,

Thank you very much for choosing to dine at The Crow's Nest Restaurant. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal. Being located in Alaska we are always proud to offer many locally sourced seafood options. Our winter menu currently features items such as Alaskan King Crab Legs, Wild Boar, Hudson Valley Duck, as well as many others. We hope to see you return in the future to either dine with us or enjoy a drink at the bar and take in the views.


Very Respectfully,

Alexandra Matukonis
Human Resource Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crow's Nest also viewed

 

Been to The Crow's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing