We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfy and friendly place”

Elderberry Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Elderberry Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #37 of 127 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A comfy and friendly place”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

My brother and I stayed here on the way to the Kenai Peninsula for a fishing trip. Our hosts were very friendly and gave us some great tips on local eating and fishing. Our accomodations were comfortable and quiet. We love the breakfast Linda fixed for us -0- especially liked being treated to our first ever taste of birch syrup (like maple only better). The patio adjacent to the breakfast room was ablaze with the most colorful flowers. We felt right at home. This B&B is conveniently close to the airport. We will definitely stay here again if we need to overnight in Anchorage.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We stayed here on our first night in Anchorage and our last day before heading home. Linda & Norman are very gracious hosts. We stayed in the Mariner room and found it to be very comfortable and spotlessly clean, as well as nicely decorated. Breakfast was excellent! We would stay here again if in the area and would recommend it to anyone spending time in Anchorage. Very close and convenient to the airport too.

Room Tip: Mariner room perfect for 3 travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3hapitravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

We spent three different nights at this B&B (not in succession) in August of 2010 during our trip to Alaska. We initially chose it because of its proximity to the airport, as our flight was scheduled to arrive at 12:30 a.m. The hosts told us not to worry about the late arrival, as they were used to it, and in fact it was no problem at all. We rented a car at the airport and were at the B&B ten minutes later -- it couldn't have been easier.

Our room was a bit snug, but the bed was quite comfortable. The breakfast the next morning was good, and the hostess shared some unusual "birch syrup" on our pancakes, a delicious new experience for us. (We noted afterwards that such syrup is quite expensive, as it is much harder to make than that made from maple trees.

What really made this B&B stand out was the graciousness of the hosts. The second night we stayed there, after returning from an overnight trip to Homer, we had to turn the car in at the airport, and the host volunteered to pick us up there. Then the following morning, he drove us to the train station for an early morning train to Denali. He told us to give him a call on our return (this time by motor coach), and sure enough he came down at picked us up after the bus dropped us off at the airport. Once again, the following morning he drove us to the train station for an early morning train to Seward.

All in all, we couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorenvca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homer, Alaska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

We stayed two nights at Elderberry Bed and Breakfast and our stay was excellent in every way. It is clear Linda and Norm have been in business a long time as their treatment of guests reflects their thoughtfulness. Besides everything being clean and comfortable and the breakfast delicious, they made us feel welcome, like old friends. Further they gave us space to refrigerate and freeze things and store purchases. Norm helped my husband figure out how to secure things for our trip home. Linda gave us a book she had just finished. Their home is located in a quiet neighborhood, but close to restaurants and shopping. Our stay couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Linda and Norm were friendly, helpful and welcoming hosts. They provided clean, comfortable rooms with great towels and linens, wonderful hearty breakfasts, a comfortable family room, and great conversation. They were very helpful with information about things to do and see and how to get places. Their location is close to the airport and easy to find. They printed our boarding passes for the trip home and we saved money on the bags we checked by doing it online ahead of time from the Elderberry. My husband and I and the friends we were traveling with found the Elderberry to be very warm and homey and would recommend it highly to anyone looking for a B&B in Anchorage.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkolousek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Windsor, NJ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

What a great B&B: close to airport, quiet location, beautifully appointed rooms, clean... we had a lovely stay on the night we flew in and the night before we left for home. Norm and Linda are generous, gracious hosts.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N&YinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
117 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We have stayed here several times and always enjoy coming back.
Linda & Norm treat their guests like family. Great breakfast always.
Great value.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluebird-Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Dimond Center Hotel
#17 of 73 in Anchorage
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Anchorage-Midtown
A Lakeside Bed and Breakfast
#23 of 127 in Anchorage
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elderberry Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elderberry Bed and Breakfast

Property: Elderberry Bed and Breakfast
Address: 8340 Elderberry St, Anchorage, AK 99502-4245
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Elderberry Bed And Breakfast Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing