We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wasnt too bad for one night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Anchorage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ramada Anchorage
Ranked #42 of 72 Hotels in Anchorage
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wasnt too bad for one night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

The airport shuttle driver a 'Scotsman' was very helpful and informative; the staff were all good. The room was ok, nothing flash but somewhere comfy to sleep. I think I would come back

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelpied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    210
    203
    111
    48
See reviews for
126
281
88
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

I stayed at Ramada in Downtown Anchorage as HOJO downtown was closed or booked. Stay was only for 8 hours but staff was friendly and room was clean and bed satisfactory. Had free breakfast but suggest they get rid of gravy with sausage and put in scrambled eggs with reindeer sausage. Location was perfect. Price was very reasonable. Shuttle got me at 1 a.m. Will stay here in future.

Room Tip: get room on third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

When we arrived at the airport, we contacted Ramada to request their shuttle service. We were told to wait outside and they would be right there. We waited about 40 minutes before I decided to call again. This time I was told the shuttle was not in service. I asked how we were supposed to get to the hotel. I was told to take a taxi and Ramada would reimburse us. When we arrived, I told the clerk that it would have been nice to be told from the beginning that the shuttle was not in service. I said when I called nobody said anything about it not working. His reply was that I did not call! I said yes I did. And he said no you didn't. ( I am not kidding!) So I asked how we got reimbursed for the taxi. He looks out and said oh you took a yellow taxi, I told you to take the orange one! I said I don't care what color it is I want reimbursed. He just shakes his head and said I told you the orange one. I just stood there and waited and finally he grabs some money and handed it to me!! He should not be working in customer service and the first thing out of his mouth should have been I'm sorry about the mix-up!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Anchorage hotels

Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

I live in Fairbanks and decided to treat myself to a birthday weekend in Anchorage for shopping. I booked Ramada because of the amenities, (shuttle service, continental breakfast, close to downtown). When I called for shuttle, was advised shuttle not available at this time, to catch a cab and they would pay for it, which they did, no questions asked. I arrived and was met by Angela, who made my whole trip. She was very friendly and when she found out it was my birthday, she upgraded my room. I had a view of the inlet, which was beautiful at night. I am planning another trip in November and will definitely be staying at the Ramada. Perfect location to downtown, continental breakfast was awesome, hotel staff was very professional, friendly and accomodating. I will be staying at the Ramada whenever I go to Anchorage. Thank you, Angela.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlene z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed at the Ramada for 2 nights. Our check in, after being met at the airport by a nice chatty shuttle driver was amazingly poor. The girl at the desk obviously didnt want to be there, told us nothing about inclusions (internet, breakfast etc). We booked because of the location & price & the comfort of knowing what you get with the larger chain hotels but Im sure management have no idea about this girl at the front desk because her attitude was just plain rude. We only saw her that once so maybe she is kept away from the public for obvious reasons but I will never stay in a Ramada hotel again

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parkoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaAnchorageGM, General Manager at Ramada Anchorage, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Dear ParkoSydney,

You are correct that I didn't know you had this very poor experience with one of my front desk staff. I sincerely apologize for her unprofessional behavior which was completely unacceptable. One rude worker will give the property, staff and the Ramada flag a bad name. Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts and I hope you will give the Ramada Hotels a second chance because I know that most of the Ramada Hotel's staff are good workers.

Sincerely,

Susan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

I would stay here again. We stayed here for one night on each end of my trip.

The location was great close enough to walk everywhere. The staff at the front desk give us information on places to eat and gave us free toothbrushes when we forgot our own. The staff were actually pretty great :)

They picked us up and dropped off at the airport for free. Breakfast was included and decent enough to start the day. The hotel had free wireless (which sometimes worked sometimes didnt) Our room was decent enough. One room we were in had a semi bath the other didnt. Comfortable enough and suited our needs.

Overall I was pretty happy with my stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1123410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

The Ramada Downtown Anchorage is a great budget hotel. The rooms look like they were decorated in the 80's complete with brown vinyl curtains and your standard motel furnishings. Everything in the room was working and fairly clean. Room had a microwave, mini refrigerator ,Cable TV, outdoor terrace,AC, room safe & free Wi-Fi .Bathroom was standard and generic. A few spots in the room were beginning to age and were worn out. If you want a perfect room the Hilton is up the block. Free Breakfast ,Airport shuttle and downtown location get a A+
My only complaint is that the room got really cold at night. Ramada would not provide heat. I was offered a space heater and told the boiler was off till Oct. The last night I was there the heat did come on. Maybe other customers complained.
I would absolutely stay here again as long as it was not cold out

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Punktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#30 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#15 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Aviator Hotel Anchorage
#46 of 72 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#20 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Anchorage

Property: Ramada Anchorage
Address: 115 E 3rd Ave, Barrow and 3rd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 72 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Anchorage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Ramada Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Anchorage Downtown Hotel Anchorage
Ramada Anchorage Downtown Motel
Anchorage Ramada
Ramada Anchorage Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing