We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice room, lousy shuttle!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Suites Historic Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Suites Historic Downtown
Ranked #33 of 72 Hotels in Anchorage
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice room, lousy shuttle!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

I really liked the room and location...too bad they don't know how to operate a shuttle. I called after arriving at the airport and was told it would take 30 minutes. After a full hour I had to call again, all the while watching every other hotel shuttle come multiple times for the 15 minute ride downtown. No real apology either...I was just told that's how the shuttle is sometimes. They never tried to make it right, and didn't seem to care all that much that I was really ticked off. I wouldn't stay here again after this experience...very disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 41378Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    77
    42
    18
    12
See reviews for
70
66
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

I'm not going to write a long review, because we were here for about 14 hours. We selected this hotel because of its downtown location, and the free airport shuttle. We flew into Anchorage to begin a two-week Kenai vacation. I found that I could save several hundred dollars on our car rental if I rented from the Hertz downtown, instead of the airport location.

We had to wait about 45 minutes for the airport shuttle, but I think the driver had just left the airport when we called. So, he had to deliver the guests to the hotel, and return for us.

The neighborhood is safe, with lots of shopping nearby. We walked to a local diner for supper.

The rooms are large enough - two queen beds and a sofa bed in a seating area. Microwave, fridge, etc - what you would expect in a "suite" at a mid-price hotel. The room seemed a bit narrow, but not really a problem. The window shades were dark, which is important in the summertime in Alaska!

Check-in and check-out were easy. Breakfast was abundant, with a nice variety - NOT just sweet rolls and cereal. I walked about 5 blocks to the Hertz rental office, and we were gone by 10 AM to begin our Alaska adventure.

Check-out my trip blog at: http://kenaipeninsulavacation.blogspot.com/

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ExpectingQuality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

Not a fancy hotel, but good enough for us. AC was broken the night we got there. They fixed that. Breakfast was in a large area. Pool was ok. We fit a family of 4 and another adult with 2 queens and a pullout sofa with 1 bathroom. Worked out fine. Decent rate and close for a short taxi to train station. Calling a taxi was cheap and convenient for getting to the train station for early departure.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

We are a couple on our 60.We staid in the hotel 3 nights in July 2011 n 3 nights in August 2011. The hotel is near downtown-good location.
We got a very nice suite on the 3rd floor.The suite was kleen and quiet.
Coffee and tea in the room and all day long in the lounge.Good breakfast.
Pliete n helpfull staff.Free shuttle from and to the air port.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uukearv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springfield,illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

Our tour dropped us off at the Egan Center which is within walking distance. The hotel was close, clean and had a great cafeteria style breakfast, although don't be late for breakfast as they did run low on food the day we were there. Would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jms1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

Although certainly not a luxury hotel, this place was great for my business trip. The shuttle drivers were professional and on time every trip I took and the guest services were very responsive. One of the best breakfasts I've had at a hotel and for FREE. The free internet was also very helpful and appreciated. Would definitely recommend for business travels.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NVTravels057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

Loved the location and the friendliness of the staff. We traveled as a family so the two separate rooms were great! Very clean room, great FREE breakfast in the morning and FREE wifi, which is hard to find these days.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyTravelers11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Clarion Suites Downtown
#28 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#16 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#11 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#30 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites Historic Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Historic Downtown

Property: Quality Suites Historic Downtown
Address: 325 West 8th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501 (Formerly Quality Suites Near Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Suites Historic Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy relaxing accommodations for a great value at the Quality Suites(R) in Anchorage, AK, minutes from the Dena'ina Civic and Convention Center, Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center and The Imaginarium. Nestled in the heart of downtown Anchorage, we offer quick, convenient access to an abundance of Alaskan attractions, including: Anchorage Museum University of Alaska Anchorage Alaska Railroad Anchorage 5th Avenue Mall WildRide Sled Dog Show Take a day trek to the Alyeska Ski Resort, Portage Glacier and Mt. McKinley-all within driving distance. Several restaurants surround the property, including Glacier Brewhouse, Simon & Seaforts and the Snow Goose Cafe. Unwind after a day of sightseeing in our indoor heated pool, exercise room and adjacent jogging trail. Additional hotel amenities include: Free hot breakfast buffet Free Wi-Fi Internet access Free 24-hour airport and Alaska Railroad shuttle service Free coffee Free local calls All guest rooms feature refrigerators, microwaves, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, irons and boards. Non-smoking rooms can be requested. Take advantage of our 950 square feet of meeting space for your next business or social function. A business center with copy and fax services is located on-site. Valet cleaning service is available. We are a FEMA-approved property for government travelers. Experience the inviting accommodations and superior guest service of the Quality Suites in Anchorage, AK. We look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Quality Suites Historic Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites Near Hotel Anchorage
Clarion Hotel Anchorage
Clarion Anchorage
Anchorage Clarion
Quality Suites Historic Downtown Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing