We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in the French countryside. Loved it!”
Review of Hotel Marc Hely

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Marc Hely
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Thanks to Tripadvisor and a fortuitously booked-out hotel situation in the town of St Paul, I discovered the Hotel Marc Hely, a gem of a hotel nestled in the outskirts of La Colle Sur Loup, a 7 minute drive over to St. Paul. It resembled (or was in a former life) a white stone French farm house with a lovely gravel drive, pale blue shutters and cypress trees. We booked our double room via the hotel's website for a very reasonable rate of 90 euros/night.

Here are the key points of our stay:
1. Location: The Hotel Marc Hely was near but (thankfully) not in the crazy tourist swirl that St Paul turned out to be. That place was completely jammed with tourists and guides with waving umbrellas- we fled back to La Colle after a couple of hours. Another handy aspect of the Marc Hely was that it was only about 15-20 minutes from the Nice Airport.
2. Room: Our room was furnished with creamy white bedding and wooden furniture, all done in a chic Provencal style. Out our front door, we had a stone terrace and grassy lawn with a majestic view of St Paul. Our room also had a minibar, green tea toiletries, a small flat screen TV and complimentary WiFi.
3. Breakfast: The Marc Hely's 10 euro/person breakfast was good value for money as it came with plenty of French coffee, juice, fruit, yogurt, a selection of cheese, French pastries and baguettes. This meal was served in the pretty glasswalled dining room which had a gorgeous view overlooking the lush French countryside and St Paul.
4. Pool: Alongside the hotel was a pleasantly quiet pool ringed with palm trees.
5. Service: The Marc Hely is owned by Kristina and her husband. We interacted mostly with Kristina who was very friendly and spoke great English. She loaned us a travel electricity adapter and gave several good restaurant recommendations in the area.

In short, we were extremely happy with our stay at the Hotel Marc Hely and definitely plan to return!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jemimagold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2010

We enjoyed our stay here but would recommend that you would need a car. Due to a series of disasters we had to rely on public transport to get here and to get around from here. We managed pretty well but it made everything a little less convenient. Although the website suggests that you can walk into St Paul de Vence this would be quite a hike!

Our room was beautifully decorated and very clean and had a balcony with an awe inspiring view of the hill top town of St Paul. THis is a great place to enjoy an evening drink -the only disadvantage was that in the evenings ( we went in September), we were attacked by biting midges if we sat outside.

Breakfast was nice, served in the spacious dining room with the same glorious view, but we felt a buffet would have been easier for everyone and less wasteful of food than individual service with a selection of breads, cheeses etc.

Colle sur loup has a few nice restaurants from expensive to cheap - for a good value meal we would recommend Le Tigre - basically a pizza place but the steaks were amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cazsudz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

A tucked away gem. Great rooms with all the amenities we needed; frig and coffee. The restaurant was popular with all, and the morning view was unforgetable. The staff was attentive. They went out of their way to assure we were comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lynxeng2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

My husband and I recently traveled to the south of France and stayed at the Hotel Marc Hely for 3 nights on the last leg of our trip. The hotel was clean, comfortable and lovely. The location was extremely convenient for traveling from Provence and visiting St. Paul de Vence and Nice. We didn't have the breakfast - but everything looked delicious.

Here is why we would go back and recommend that everyone stay at this hotel. The morning we were set to leave for the Nice airport and return home -- our rental car would not start. Adrian, one of the owners of the hotel stayed with us and helped us communicate with the tow truck driver. Then when it became clear that we might miss our flight he offered to drive us to the airport himself and wouldn't take any money for us for his troubles - he even paid the tolls on the highway.

This is not something you come across at most hotels. They were positively wonderful and we are incredibly appreciative for their kindness.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lysied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Possibly our best accommodation experience in the south of France.This may call itself a hotel, but the personal service from Adriaan is second to none. He was most helpful in suggesting places to go, routes to follow and places to eat. The view of St Paul de Vence from rooms and breakfast room is stunning and the breakfasts each morning were plentiful, delicious and beaitifully presented. Although we did not get to use the pool, there is one on the premises. Can't wait to come here again............

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mirike123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

This 12 bed hotel was refurbished last year. The owners were very attentive. Our room was large with a balcony overlooking a stunning view incl St Paul de Vence and well decorated. The bed was new and confortable.The pool area was tucked neatly away from the bedrooms with a good decking and seating area with large umbrellas. Breakfast was too large to eat everything and gave a good choice for us. The owners even specially purchased Ceylon tea when we said we preferred a choice to Earl Grey. We are coming back next year.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

This is a nice little place to stay for a visit to St Paul de Vence which is a 5 min drive away. The hotel has just been fully refurbished and the rooms & bathrooms look bright new and have been decorated nicely. The rooms offer a wonderful view on the old town of St Paul de Vence. I believe the hotel has c. 10 rooms, 5 upstairs with a balcony and 5 downstairs with direct access to the garden. The hotel is run by a Dutch/French couple who took over c. 1 year ago. Dutch owner Adriaan speaks French and English fluently and is very helpful and will assist with booking local restaurants and giving other advice. It was not warm enough to use the outdoor pool and terrace but I can imganine this will be a very pleasant and peaceful place in summer. We did sit on our balcony for a while enjoying the views. The only minor comment was that it was easy to hear other guests in the hotel but perhaps this was because Adriaan and his wife had not finished hanging up paintings etc causing a slight echo in reception and hallway and making the general areas look slightly empty. Adriaan did apologise for this in advance as they had been working hard to finish the re-decoration before the easter weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
1  Thank JB1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Colle sur Loup
1.7 km away
Hotel Alain Llorca
Hotel Alain Llorca
#2 of 4 in La Colle sur Loup
115 reviews
0.2 km away
La Bastide Gourmande
La Bastide Gourmande
#4 of 4 in La Colle sur Loup
196 reviews
0.7 km away
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
#3 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
#8 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
261 reviews
1.9 km away
Sandton Hotel & Residence Domaine Cocagne
1.2 km away
L'Abbaye Hotel
L'Abbaye Hotel
#3 of 4 in La Colle sur Loup
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marc Hely? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marc Hely

Address: 535 route de Cagnes | La Colle sur Loup, 06480 La Colle sur Loup, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > La Colle sur Loup
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in La Colle sur Loup
Price Range: $127 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marc Hely 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Marc Hely reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing