We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
FindHotel
Destinia.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
86
8
5
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
86
8
5
2
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 105 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2018

Spa Suite - I was visiting my girlfriend in Sankt Gallen and decided to go somewhere for the weekend. I found this hotel and booked the best room for 500 EUR per night. I have stayed in a few rooms for this price before and it is usually a wonderful experience, in this case it was a disappointment. The owners have absolutely no feel for the hotel business, and don't know how to aggregate value for the premium rooms. The only difference between our room and the standard rooms was a hot tub, which is all fine and well but we were only allowed to use it once. They literally only allow you to use the bathtub once, and when you are done, they take away the drain tap so that you cant use it again (note 500 EUR p/ night!!). Other then that we were promised a wine tasting which we never received. When we asked for it they said that they were busy. When sitting by the pool, do not expect anyone to come offer you a drink or bring a menu, there is no such thing here. This all being said, they are great wine makers, the sparkling and white were absolutely delicious. Also the gin was so impressive, possibly one of my favorites. The rooms were comfortable and the place is stunning. They have everything there to have a great hotel, with a beautiful setting, comfortable rooms, great drinks, and a vibrant family. Unfortunately, they are to stingy to take advantage of this. Note that by the end of my stay, I received an email message offering me three free nights in their lake view suite if I posted a positive review... This is really concerning.

Room tip: The bathtub in the Spa Suite can only be used once. They take away the drain tap once you are done...
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank italoc2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulicaRenn, Inhaber at Burgunderhof Bodensee Adult Only, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2018

Dear Italo C,

thank you for your review. You had reserved by phone the SPA-Suite for two nights. In this room we have a special concept, which was also explained to you by phone. The suite is our largest room with a beautiful lake view, facing pool and a romantic, integrated Jacuzzi in the room.

In order to make the experience perfect for our guests, we offer a package for this room, the so-called "Romantic Days".

This package includes things like a wine tasting, breakfast, a bottle of wine and a bottle of water in the room as well as the filling of the hot tub (once in 2 days). This was explaines to you by phone.

On the day of arrival the room was prepared romantically for you with rose petals, sparkling wine, fresh fruits and chocolate as well as a sea of candlelight. On the phone you were also told very clearly that the hot tub should not be filled by yourself. That's why it should have been clear to you from the start.

Furthermore, we do not advertise a restaurant inhouse, but refer to the good food in Hagnau. That's why there is of course no catering at our outdoor pool.

It is not understandable to us that you criticized not having the wine tasting. The boss, Heiner Renn himself, gave you a detailed explanation and wine tasting as well as a gin tasting.

Furthermore, we are a little disappointed that you complained that we did not spent time for and attention to you... On the day of arrival we took one hour for to explain you everything about out house and concept, on the second day the wine tasting also took nearly 1 hour time. Also, we are a bit surprised to receive such a bad review because you found only praiseworthy words for us while staying with us.

If we had known that you feel so uncomfortable, we would have liked to do something on the spot. Unfortunately, you did not give us the chance ...

After the check-out of our guests, we send them an email to encourage them to share their feedback with us and other potential guests. This e-mail simply states that there is a chance of winning three nights in each of their ratings.
We just want to urge guests to share their experience with us to continually improve ...



We are very pleased that our wine as well as our gin convinced you and that you liked the room and the place. Also, we think it's great that they you found words of praise for the environment and the family.
We have received your feedback and try to implement it as well as possible.

Thank you for that

Best regards,

Julica Renn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2018

Nestled in a vineyard, this hotel is beautiful and peaceful. We were graciously welcomed by the owner, Andrea. Enjoyed the grounds, the pool and lovely views. The European breakfast is wonderful with a short walk to Hagnau for dinner.

Next time we look forward to learning more about the families vineyard and distillery... as I said, two nights are not enough.

Please note: the hotel ratings were not working when I wrote this review. To be complete, we would give this hotel five stars in service, rooms and location.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulicaRenn, Geschäftsführer at Burgunderhof Bodensee Adult Only, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2018

Dear Kathleen,thank you so much for your review. Sounds like you had a great time at Burgunderhof Hagnau! We are looking forward to having you again. Kind Regards, Renn Family & team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 21, 2018 via mobile

We come to Friedrichshafen every year for an aviation trade show. Hagnau is a short 14 km away and home to an amazing B&B that is also a working winery. We have been booking rooms at Burgunderhof for our team for the last 7 years and will continue to book for years to come. The rooms are very large, modern and spotless. The views from all rooms are breathtaking. You can see Lake Constance a short distance away and on a clear day you can see the Swiss Alps across the lake. You are surrounded by vineyards which makes it even more special. A short walk down the hill to Hagnau gives you numerous restaurant choices with excellent food.

The staff is the family who owns the winery and they speak very good English. Heiner, Andrea and their daughter Julica welcomes you as part of their family and makes you feel comfortable from the moment you check in. Breakfast is typical European with fruits, yogurts, meats, juices, coffee and whatever omelet or eggs you desire.

The best part is that it is a working winery so you can have a wine tasting or schnapps or Julica’s amazing gin that she makes herself. The only bad thing I can say is that it is very hard to leave! I highly recommend this wonderful B&B.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank av8or2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgunderhof H, Inhaber at Burgunderhof Bodensee Adult Only, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2018

Thank you so much for your review. Sounds like you had a great time at Burgunderhof Hagnau! We are looking forward to having you again. Kind Regards, Renn Family & team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2017

This was a peculiar hotel, I have looked at the other reviews and I can not believe that anyone who stayed in this hotel could possibly rate it so high. The family was very hostile to us only because my daughter had emailed them in wonderment at the fact that their reception was closed before 15:30. The reason for her email was the fact that I would have been travelling for 14 hours to get to Friedrichshafen for Eurobike and being an older person, she was worried that I would have to spend another 2/3 hours at Friedrichshafen airport before going to the hotel.

Because of this one inquiry they wanted to deny us the rooms, were rude to my children and truly created the most awful atmosphere for us. Incidentally they made us wait outside for 10 minutes (from 15:20-15:30) when we first arrived... I felt like a naughty school child who had shown up early for his punishment. And if finding another place to stay was an option then we would have left there and then. However, being the busiest time in that area we had no choice but to lump it.

The three of us could not wait to leave this hotel. We checked out and left (have the bill to prove it), later on, they charged my daughter a bogus charge for unmatched first name on the booking.com site, claiming that this is their policy. We have since checked with Booking.com and they have assured us that their claim is incorrect, the owners have been disingenuous and that we should be refunded.

All in all this is a B & B with no atmosphere and most of the time you have to either keep to your room or your patio and if the weather is bad, then forget the patio. The rooms are not 4 star decorated and bedding/mattress/pillows etc need to be upgraded/changed.
To be fair we did not try the spa, but the B&B had a perpetual look of a property that was closed, abandoned or empty.

Due to the very strict and unfriendly nature of this hotel, I can not fathom how this hotel would be relaxing or romantic?

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank kazem2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgunderhof H, Inhaber at Burgunderhof Bodensee Adult Only, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2017
Google Translation

ACHTUNG - folgende Bewertungen wurden von ein und demselben Gast abgegeben:

"Rudest hotel ia all the land! More of a detention centre than a hotel!"
"Rude und dishonest"
"Poorly run B&B in beautiful countryside"

Dieser hat versucht uns zu erpressen um das Geld seines Aufenthaltes zurück zu bekommen. Selbst booking.com (über dieses Portal buchte der Gast) hat uns angeraten den Gast mit Polizeigewalt aus dem Hotel entfernen zu lassen.
Selbstverständlich lassen wir uns nicht erpressen!

Mit freundlichen Grüßen
Julica Renn



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2017

We stayed at this hotel for one week in July.

The property is located in the vineyards, 10min. walk away from the little town of Hagnau.

Ample (free) parking available in front of the hotel. The rooms have a lot of light, are modern and have a good layout. The beds are large and comfortable. Everything at this hotel is labelled “BIO”, from the soaps to the tea, biscuits, juices beers, …, and all products are great. Our room had a terrace (others may have a balcony).

The garden and pool area are very well kept and there are plenty of deck-chairs for everyone (with towels). The hotel caters to the quieter traveler, who is looking for a healthy, stress free and peaceful holiday. If you want to indulge in the livelier parts of the area, you are just a walk away from the lake.

Breakfast is fantastic, and the owners look after you in a friendly and welcoming way.

I would certainly stay here again and can recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank touristtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews