We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The "W" of Omaha!”
Review of Hotel Deco XV

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Deco XV
Ranked #18 of 82 Hotels in Omaha
Certificate of Excellence
Harlan, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The "W" of Omaha!”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Unbelievable service! Last minute stay - sisters flying in from both coasts. NYC sister comes in late - they picked up her, dropped her off @ our restaurant & delivered bags to our room. They treat you like royalty. Rooms spacious, modern & clean. Zin Room is an added bonus!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    119
    59
    34
    35
See reviews for
62
191
22
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

This is one of the most impressive hotels that I have ever stayed at. It is in a wonderful part of downtown Omaha right across from the Orpheum Theater and within walking distance to many nice restaruants and bars. This hotel has many wonderful features that make it an incredible value. One of the most convenient is the complimentary valet parking. You simply pull your vehicle up in front of the hotel and they take care of the rest. All of the staff is very nice and helpful. Once you walk into your room you realize that you have entered a high level of luxury. The rooms are very plush and bright. The windows provide excellent views of downtown. The television is nice and has HD channels and there is an iHome sterio in the room. The best part, however, is probably the shower in the bathroom. It is probably one of the most unique shower experiences that I have ever had. There is a large shower head that points down and six smaller nozzles that spray horizontally. It is a very soothing experience and the shampoo that the hotel provides is very good. Adjacent to the lobby is the very unique Encore bar where complimentary Starbucks coffee is served in the morning. There is also complimentary newspaper in the lobby. There is only one minor complaint that I have about my stay at this hotel and it is that the elevators are very slow. Often, it was faster to just take the stairs. Overall, this was a wonderful hotel to stay at and I hope that I can stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tedsmith68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

I bought a Groupon for Hotel Deco and wish I hadn't. If I had not have prepaid for the hotel, I would have left and found another place to stay. Our experience was bad.

The hotel is in a good location in Old Market, but it's loud on weekends. We went for a nice and relaxing evening and barely got any sleep. The hotel is super noisy and the room doors only shut if they are slammed shut. The windows are old (some were cracked in our room) so there is no sound proofing from the outside. So we were kept awake until 3am listening to the music from the bars across the street from the hotel and the drunk people screaming and shouting. It was awful and earplugs didn't help.

The rooms at Hotel Deco are nice and we had a spacious and comfortable room. However, the bathroom was dirty with hair left from previous guests.

Most importantly, the service was bad - except for the valet which was good. As part of our Groupon, a $50 dining credit was included at the Encoure lounge. We had to wait to get our appetizers and drinks until a private party was concluded, two hours after we arrived. We were understanding and didn't have an issue with it. We waited two and a half hours until 8:30 to return to the lounge. The party was still lingering, so we decided to order our appetizers and drinks to have room delivery. It took over 2 hours for our simple appetizers to be delivered to our room. We went downstairs once to check on it and called once. Each time we were told 30-40 minutes and no one was ever apologetic. That amount of time and the poor service is ridiculous. In total we waited 4 and a half hours for appetizers.

I would not recommend Hotel Deco unless you plan on going out all night and not sleeping until 3am. Don't bother ordering food, unless you don't mind a ridiculous long wait. The service (except for the valet staff) is poor and your money will be better spent elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderlust678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Girlfriends weekend in Omaha. Stayed in a queen suite overlooking Harney. Room was very clean and beautifully appointed. Love the decor. Shower is hot and amazing. Our group enjoyed drinks in the the encore lounge. Joshua was superior helping ensure our check in was efficient and our room accomadations met our needs. Valet service was respectful and responsive. Concierge was timely. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Hosted our sales training in Omaha and had the team stay at the Deco - received only RAVE reviews from everyone. Way to make me look good :)

Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank sbooth17509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I typically write reviews when I have an excellent experience or a really lousy one. This one is definitely the former. Full disclosure, I am not a big fan of Omaha per se, but this hotel makes it quite worthwhile.

First, location is the best. As anyone who knows downtown Omaha, there isn't a lot to do besides Old Market and a few others bars and restaurants. This hotel is located within walking distance to all the action. Hige plus, they have their own Mercedez drop you off in style if needed.

The rooms - get a corner one if you can. Really well lit, good sizes, excellent finish and amenities. Welcome change from the typical chain hotel. The bathroom showers are something else - basically a number of buttons and and an array of pressure points for the water.

I like the hotel's own restaurant as well. They have a $7 special for 7 selections for lunch which is a great deal. The late night food and cocktail menu at the bar is excellent as well. Overall an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 887parag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, USA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I live in the Omaha area, and was intrigued when the Hotel Deco opened last year. Like several other reviewers here, I bought a Groupon for a one-night stay that included drinks and appetizers in the lobby.

We were lucky to be placed in a King Suite, and it was one of the nicer hotel rooms I’ve ever stayed in. The room was enormous; everything was attractive and comfortable, the fancy shower was fun, and the hardwood floors (instead of carpet) were an unusual touch. It was a privilege to stay in our room, even for just one night.

The lobby also looks great, and the location is convenient to everything in downtown Omaha.

At present, the staffing does not appear to be at the same level as the accommodations. Staff members often seemed overwhelmed and unprepared, and everything was out of supply.

When we visited the lobby bar for appetizers, they were out of plates, forks, wine glasses, martini glasses, and even napkins. It took an employee at least 20 minutes to round up everything necessary.

In the morning, only one elevator was operating, creating long waits for the remaining elevator. Coffee and tea was supposed to be available, but neither cups nor hot water was available.

The hotel’s web site also promises a number of other small amenities that staff members profess to have never heard about before.

It would appear that the Hotel Deco needs to either hire some extra employees for the weekends, or provide extra training.

I want to echo another reviewer who warned about excessive street noise on the weekends. There was screaming and loud, pounding noise for hours on Saturday night. I had difficulty sleeping, and was glad that I had brought earplugs.

The Hotel Deco is a beautiful, historic building featuring wonderful rooms, and I still recommend it for locals and visitors alike. I hope that the staffing and planning can be brought up to the same level as the rooms.

Room Tip: If you are visiting on the weekend, ask for a room on a higher floor to minimize surprisingly loud s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brewbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Omaha hotels
0.2 km away
Magnolia Hotel Omaha
0.3 km away
Residence Inn Omaha Downtown/Old Market Area
0.4 km away
Hyatt Place Omaha Downtown Old Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Omaha Downtown / Old Market Area
0.6 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Omaha - Downtown/Old Market
0.9 km away
Hilton Omaha
Hilton Omaha
#9 of 82 in Omaha
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deco XV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deco XV

Property: Hotel Deco XV
Address: 1504 Harney St, Omaha, NE 68102-2211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nebraska > Omaha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 82 Hotels in Omaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Deco XV 4.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Deco XV is Omaha's only 4 Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel in the greater metropolitan area. Designed to serve the most discriminating guests, the Hotel Deco XV provides elegant and exquisite accommodations and exceptional, personalized service. Rooms feature extraordinary furnishings, surface flooring, and amenities to ensure the highest standard of guest comfort and satisfaction. Indoor valet parking is just part of the "Extraordinary" service for only $20 per night per vehicle. The expert Concierge staff will assist with dining reservations, travel, and provide tips on Omaha arts and entertainment offerings. For the first half of 2017, Hotel Deco will be in the process of renovating our restaurant, bar and meeting spaces. For the duration of this project the hotel will be offering complimentary "grab- n- go" breakfast for all guests, as well as a welcome signature cocktail, age permitting. For in room dining, we offer an extensive menu from the famous Sullivan's Steakhouse, a well-respected landmark in Omaha. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Deco XV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing