We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“time warp to 1990”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Omaha - Downtown / Old Market
Ranked #38 of 82 Hotels in Omaha
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“time warp to 1990”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

The central location is good for doing business in Omaha. My room was larger than a typical standard sized room. The staff were friendly. However, staying at the Omaha Downtown Doubletree is like taking a time capsule to 1990. My room hadn't been updated since the early 90s. You'd think that a Doubletree/Hilton property would refresh the room more than once in a generation. The carpet was frayed and worn, the furnishings and decor were extremely out of date, and the bathroom counter was that yellow-ish plastic that always looks dirty even when it's not. They need to invest in upgrades to the property.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TULSD, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Omaha - Downtown / Old Market, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Hello Steve F,

Thanks for your feedback - we appreciate your time given here. We were wondering when was your last visit to our hotel? We completed a $15M renovation and have no guest rooms anymore that fit your description. We agree that some of our rooms inventory needed renovation and what used to be acurately is described by you. I would invite you back to see our wonderful efforts and enjoy a stay at the 2012 fresh version of our hotel, where all bathrooms are renovated, new carpets, new furniture and new televisions also.

Please come back soon!
Team Omaha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    272
    199
    124
    94
See reviews for
262
152
27
481
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

The public areas appear to be recently and nicely rennovated. Rooms are dated, and only partially updated. Old, small tv's in the suites...need to update to flat panel. Check in was at 3:00, we arrived at 3:50 and room not ready. Checked in and waited in lounge until 5:00 when room was finally ready. Had an extra room service charge on our bill, which was fixed, but front desk clerk wasn't overly helpful getting it resolved. All in all, it's an ok value for the price, but not one of the stars of the Hilton brand.

Room Tip: Presidential suites very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omaha2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TULSD, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Omaha - Downtown / Old Market, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you Ivan321 for your feedback, we are glad to see you enjoyed your hotel room and our service. You should know that we just completed a $15M renovation to our hotel and have new furniture and televisions that are being placed into the rooms as you are reading this. Come back soon and enjoy our service and fully renovated hotel!

Thanks for traveling and for selecting the Doubletree....where we believe that little things mean everything!

Team Doubletree Omaha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I travel to Omaha a couple times a year for business and if rooms are available I will always stay at the Doubletree. The location is unbeatable, the fitness facilities are clean and nicely eqipped, and the breakfast buffet is the fabulous. But the friendly staff is the real selling point. The front desk staff and wait staff all serve with genuine smiles, which can be quite a treat after a busy day of work away from home.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GenaC12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TULSD, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Omaha - Downtown / Old Market, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you for your kind words, we are very appreciative of your comments and will celebrate your review with the team. Come back soon, you have seen nothing yet!

Kind Regards,

Team Doubletree Omaha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Overall great experience. Close to everything downtown (we went to a hockey game across the street and Creighton b-ball game a few blocks away) and they provide a free shuttle/taxi service for guests which they should better advertise. Twins at the front desk were unforgettable and Dave at the bar was a pro. If you're looking for 5 star this isn't the right place, but it is very nice and for the price maybe the best place I've ever stayed.

I also recommend Omaha for a short weekend trip and this is the best place to stay while you do it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TULSD, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Omaha - Downtown / Old Market, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thank you for your review and we appreciate your comments, so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also glad you enjoyed our large transportation fleet at your disposal.

We are placing upgraded 42" flat screen tv's itno all guest rooms starting February 20th, with that comes HD content also!

Stay tuned, and come back soon!
Stephan and team Omaha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conway, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Flat screens, new rooms and amenities, only bad thing was the construction until 6pm.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyMom10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TULSD, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Omaha - Downtown / Old Market, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Thank you for your kind words in this survey, we appreciate the comments. Of course by now all our upgrades are completed and there is no more noise....all rooms are nicely renovated and we are excited about 2012 and the great things this new year promises us.

Many thanks, please come back soon and Happy New Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

I've stayed at the Embassy Suites in Omaha, but their customer service was lacking, so I switched to the Doubletree. I can start off by saying that the management and staff here can't do enough for you. They are genuinely friendly and helpful. This place "gets" customer service.

The building itself is older (there are no "new" hotels downtown) and many of the rooms need updating. I've been here 8 times now and have yet to see a flat screen TV in any of the rooms, even though they are shown on the website pics. But the rooms are very clean, and the noise level is low. Comfortable beds, too.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TULSD, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Omaha - Downtown / Old Market, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Dear Michael C,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel and for participating in tripadvisor, we are glad to see that our "people can't do enough for you" as you experienced and we look forward to your returning soon. We actually have just completed a major softgood upgrade and you will find that the rooms are no longer dated at your next visit. Just email me directly and I will be glad to personally give you a tour it time permits. stephan.meier@hilton.com

Please come back soon, happy holiday season from us to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We had the presidential suite and although the hotel is old it was still in good shape. I really don't think there are any 'new' hotels downtown anyway. We had a nice bar area and an extra bathroom with a hot tub. Missed the breakfast buffet but it looked good.

Room Tip: lots of time the Presidential suite is close to the same price as the regular rooms so look for that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darindcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TULSD, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Omaha - Downtown / Old Market, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Thank you very much for your kind review, we are glad you stayed with us and enjoyed your stay. Please come back soon, we'll have smiles and caring people plus our famous cookies ready for you.

Safe travels from your team Omaha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Omaha hotels
0.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Omaha Downtown / Old Market Area
0.1 km away
Residence Inn Omaha Downtown/Old Market Area
0.7 km away
Hilton Omaha
Hilton Omaha
#10 of 82 in Omaha
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Courtyard Omaha Downtown/Old Market Area
0.5 km away
Magnolia Hotel Omaha
1.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Omaha - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Omaha - Downtown / Old Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Omaha - Downtown / Old Market

Property: Doubletree Hotel Omaha - Downtown / Old Market
Address: 1616 Dodge St, Omaha, NE 68102-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nebraska > Omaha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Omaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Omaha - Downtown / Old Market 3.5*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our DoubleTree by Hilton Omaha Downtown is located ideally in downtown Omaha, just off of I-480, and minutes from Eppley Airfield. We are minutes from everything, located across the street from First National Bank and Union Pacific, and 6 blocks from CenturyLink Center. We are also minutes from the Historic Old Market, Henry Doorly Zoo, Orpheum Theater, Midtown Crossing, and the Holland Performing Arts Center.Enjoy a warm and fresh DoubleTree cookie at anytime during your stay. Enjoy our luxurious accommodations, with thoughtful amenities such as a fitness center, indoor swimming pool, and excellent dining at our Signatures Restaurant. Omaha. Looking to host your own meeting? We have over 30,000 sq. ft of flexible meeting space in our Executive Meeting Center, as well as other flexible space. Come stay with us at our DoubleTree Omaha Downtown hotel and find out what you've been missing in Omaha! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Omaha - Downtown / Old Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Omaha Downtown
Omaha Doubletree
Doubletree Omaha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing