We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,182)
Filter reviews
2,182 results
Traveller rating
1,425
436
150
90
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,425
436
150
90
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cookies and milk old market happy hour cookie buffet valet parking historic building orpheum theater beautiful hotel shuttle service evening reception within walking distance few blocks lounge area free shuttle free breakfast would stay again downtown area
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 2,182 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2018 via mobile

The location of the hotel is in the heart of everything; walking distance to shopping, restaurants, etc. It is also a pet friendly hotel and the fact that there is no additional charge for your pet is fantastic!! The place is beautiful, clean and the service is always exceptional. There is a bar downstairs that has great drinks and is a nice place to unwind from the day and relax. Would stay here anytime we need a hotel in the area and would recommend this to friends, family and even strangers.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kristine8913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie G, Manager at Magnolia Hotel Omaha, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

Hey Kristine8913,

That was awfully nice of you to drop us such a positive review of us here at the Magnolia, and we want to thank you for it. Here goes.

Thank you.

See you next time you need a hotel. :)

Yours in Hospitality,

Jamie G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018

Really disappointing in the cleanliness and the less than professional staff. Way better choices available in Omaha. Also, you really don't want to smell Fbreeze when you're walking through the lobby. That said, the old building that houses the hotel is beautiful, and there are good cafes nearby. Next time will stay at one of the big chains.

Date of stay: June 2018
1  Thank Travelathon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie G, Manager at Magnolia Hotel Omaha, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

Dear Travelathon,

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing your stay with us. While we take this review and use it to help improve our services, we hope you'll take another chance on us. The scent you may have smelled when you walked in was from a company called Scent Air and we do change that scent out. We're in the business of satisfying customers and we look forward to doing just that during your next stay. Thanks again.

Warm regards,
Jamie G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2018

TBH I'm still trying to figure out people's comments about spacious rooms....we were in 403 and it was small, esp. the bathroom was very small, and worn. Could definitely use updating. First night we arrived we put the air down to 66. When we arrived back in the room 6 hrs later at 1:00 am, it was 78. Called the front desk to tell them, the lady said she would restart the system (huh?) and could send up a box fan. So thats how the first night went. When we left the next morning we told the front staff again about the AC and to a nice surprise it was fixed when we returned early afternoon. The rooms are quiet and comfy beds. Overall, staff is friendly (minus housekeeping), the bartender esp. was very nice and did a great job! Atrium is nice to sit out in and have a drink but I would like to see cushions on the wicker chairs.

Good location and walking distance to Old Market area. They have a complimentary shuttle that will take you within a 3 mi radius of the hotel, 24 hours a day, and even to Ameristar Casino bc it is highly requested.

I recommend parking on the street instead of valet. It's $1.25 per hour; 9a - 9p, Mon - Sat. (NC on Sun.) We did this Friday thru Sunday and it worked out great! You can pay w/coins at the meter or on your phone through an app -- do the app. Then you can pay when you need to from wherever you are. We always got a parking spot directly in front of the hotel.

Food and drinks are very reasonable here. Beer $4, mixed drinks $6; you can get a descent meal for $9. And grab free, cold, bottled water as you come and go -- great perk!!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlafrentz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailen G, Front Desk Supervisor at Magnolia Hotel Omaha, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2018

Hi jlafrentz,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your feedback gives us great insight into ways we can improve customer service and the status of our rooms. Thank you for being a part of what makes us better.

Yours in Hospitality,
Kailen G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2018 via mobile

The service was wonderful! Everyone was very helpful and always pleasant, but most importantly genuine.
Let’s talk beds. I usually don’t like hotel beds, because they are stiff or uncomfortable, but the bed I slept in at Magnolia was absolutely amazing! I did not want to get out of bed in the morning.
I have stayed at several other hotels in Downtown Omaha and I have to say this is my absolute favorite. Thank you for great stay.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Kristin Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailen G, Front Desk Supervisor at Magnolia Hotel Omaha, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2018

Dear Kristin,

It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We love our beds too and are glad you enjoyed them!

We hope you will come back and visit us soon!

Warm regards,
Kailen G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2018

We travel to Omaha regularly and we wanted to try a new hotel. Our stay at the Magnolia was somewhat disappointing. The outside of the building is beautiful and it is great that it is within walking distance of the old market. Upon check in we were met by a front desk gal that wasn’t that friendly, monotone voice and gave us our info as if reading off a script in her head. The hotel was clean and rooms were spacious. Decor was just ok. Kind of plain, we were hoping for upscale features but didn’t get that. After our drive to arrive we both needed to use our room bathroom. Toilet paper was low and no extra rolls, lucky the maid cart was right outside our room so we could grab one. Hotel had beautiful outside patio with chairs and lighting. It would have been nice to be able to order a drink outside or have music. We visited the bar for early evening drink. Bartender was friendly and welcoming. Other reviews stated how they were given complimentary water bottles, no such thing for us. We only had the option to buy a $6.00 bottle in our room. It was our anniversary and my husband ordered champagne, roses and chocolate covered strawberries to our room. They did a fantastic job with this. There were rose petals outside our door, on the floor inside and on the bed! We had breakfast in the morning and my meal was not good. The service was very slow and inattentive. There were 2 servers and about 5 tables with few people at the tables. It felt as though they could have cared less if we were even there. The bacon on my sandwich was so overdone that I couldn’t even eat it. The waitress took it off our bill and offered to replace but at that point too much time was spent waiting. The Magnolia hotel was just ok, we were disappointed and won’t be staying her again.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GinaKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie G, Manager at Magnolia Hotel Omaha, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

Hi GinaKat,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your feedback gives us great insight into ways we can improve customer service. We are so sorry you missed the complimentary bottled water. We have a large decorative container by our front door all day that offers complimentary water.
We are sorry we will not see you back again, but thank you for being a part of what makes us better.

Yours in Hospitality,

Jamie G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews