We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap and cheerful”
Review of Mourtemeno Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Syvota
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mourtemeno Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Syvota
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great central location,great staff ,pool cleaned every morning.Typical Greek hotel.Tavernas,bars,bakeries and super markets within 5 min walk.Harbour 10 minutes with up market Tavernas and bars.Boats for rent.Nearest Beach 5 minutes walk.

Room Tip: top floor pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BrunoCat100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

A great apart nice pool area and bar good location and very friendly and helpful owner.close to the supermarket and restaurants. S nice stroll down to the harbour to a good selection of shops, restaurants and bars. Rooms were cleaned each day and had all you require. A good kitchen to cook a smaĺl meal in and make a tea or coffee.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank Mikie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

We spent two weeks at the Mourtemeno in apartment 14, it was spotlessy clean, the bins were emptied every day and the rooms either swept or mopped every day. The towels and bedding were changed Mondays and thursdays. We asked for extra pillows which we were given immediately and as the kitchen had no workspace we asked for and were given a very large chopping board which solved any problem for preparing any food. The shower area although small was fine with powerful hot water, The staff were lovely very friendly and helpful. The pool and pool area were cleaned every day and we used the pool often with no problems. The harbour was a short walk ( about 10 mins away) and the nearest beach a 5 min walk. There is plenty to do and see with lots of tavernas and the food was great and cheap. Tracey the rep was very knowledgeable and helpful, we had a lovely holiday and would have no hesitation in returning.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

We stayed at Mourtemeno on the 14th - 21st September. the hotel is a basic but you pay for what you get and at the price we really couldn't complain. The room was clean, sheets and towels a little worn but clean and beds comfortable. We had an inland facing room and it was spectacular to watch the sun rise onto our balcony in the morning. The bathroom was super clean and lots of hot water for the shower. The staff were delightful and very friendly and the Olympic rep was extremely helpful and very knowledgeable regarding the area and especially the beaches. We hired a car so getting places was not difficult for us Arilla Beach for us was the best but the other beaches are very good too. There is a short walk of about 15 mins into Sivota. I would really recommend the hotel if you are looking for basic but clean accommodation.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor facing inland very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rooanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

There are loads of previous negative reviews on this hotel, some I agree with but I would say that the positives far outweigh the negatives. Just back from 2 weeks booked with Olympic at a bargain price and would say that we definitely got a great deal for what we paid. We had room 15 facing the rear overlooking the mountains, a really spacious apartment, probably the biggest we have ever had in Greece. It was clean, the bins emptied daily and sheets and towels changed twice weekly. We must have been very lucky as our shower actually had a bracket on the wall for holding the shower head and the water pressure was amazing, also very hot water at all times of the day. Having read other reviews regarding kettles we took our own travel kettle but another holidaymaker asked for one and didn’t have to pay anything. The WiFi is free but only available in the reception and bar area but we only used it daily for checking emails but while out and about we noticed that most bars had free WiFi too.

We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Bar prices very good compared to down at the harbour with very large measures of spirits (not measured at all actually, just poured freehand!) €3 for a large Mythos, €2.50 for Ouzo, €5 for G&T.

Only used the pool once as we prefer beaches but it was fine, very clean and quiet on the day we used it so no problem getting a sun bed.

Our favourite beach was Zavia which did only take 5 minutes to walk to contrary to what other reviewers have said, that was strolling as hubby has a back problem and not able to walk fast. It took 8 minutes on the way back. Also Mega Ammos was around a 15 minute walk and was lovely with a good choice of tavernas but a little too busy for us.

We loved Sivota with it’s great choice of tavernas and bars, we ate at around 5 or 6 different tavernas and thought the standard of food and price was good. On average we paid around €25 -. €30 for shared starter, 2 mains and house wine. At most tavernas were given melon or cake for free.

Overall we had a lovely holiday. We have travelled extensively in Greece and have not had a package holiday for 15 years, preferring to organise our own but on this occasion just wanted a last minute holiday and this was just perfect. Not sure if we would return only because we would always try to go somewhere new but would probably book with Olympic again. Would also like to praise the rep Tracey who was very professional and helpful.

Room Tip: High floor rooms have better views and rooms facing the mountains are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LynnandTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

On arrival my daughter and I had pleasant thoughts. But after being given the key to our room I was quite shocked. The first thing I wanted to do was use the bathroom. This was wet. I mean everything was wet. It looked to me like it had been cleaned by hosing everything down! We had two rooms. This was considered an apartment. It was shabby, very old fashioned and dirty. The cobwebs were there plain to see. Cobwebs also adorned the lamps above the bed. Looking out of our back doors we had an amazing view of a large overgrown neighbouring garden. Still we kinda sucked it up and carried on. We eventually asked to move and we're informed that an elderly gentleman would like a ground floor room so we had a look and decided to do it for him. But the room was awful. The bathroom door didn't open properly due to a large sink behind it. The toilet didn't flush and the shower was a dribble. We then found out that although self catering we had to put a €20 deposit down on a kettle and then pay €1 per day if we wanted it. Also if you wanted air con that would cost you €7 a day. I've never heard of anything like it. I was furious. My daughter and myself marched to the local travel agent and asked to move from whole place. These lovely people were amazing. Within minutes we were looking at a new apartment to stay in and half hour later we were moved in. This saved our hard earned holiday in more ways than I can explain. There is unfortunately nothing good to say about this sorry excuse for a hotel. Either save your money or invest a little more to stay elsewhere. It does not warrant a 3*.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Anne-marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Went to Sivota for the first time in September, have been to Greece and the Islands many times and always enjoyed ourselves. No exception this time! Sivota was lovely, a nice harbour, several good beaches, plenty of trips, and great tavernas. Stayed at the Mourtemeno hotel and apartments self catering, found them great value for money. All the staff lovely and very helpful, one bedroom apartment very roomy and clean, centrally located, couldn't fault it. After reading some of the reviews I don't know what some people expect for the price. Loved it ! Will definitely return.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank minster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syvota hotels
1.5 km away
Domotel Agios Nikolaos
Domotel Agios Nikolaos
#3 of 10 in Syvota
142 reviews
1 km away
Sivota Diamond Spa Resort
0.1 km away
Albatros Hotel
Albatros Hotel
#1 of 17 in Syvota
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Studios Anneta
Studios Anneta
#13 of 41 in Syvota
18 reviews
0 km away
To Chorafi tou Nikola
To Chorafi tou Nikola
#17 of 41 in Syvota
4 reviews
0.7 km away
Villa Victoria
Villa Victoria
#18 of 41 in Syvota
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mourtemeno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mourtemeno Hotel

Address: Syvota, Greece
Region: Greece > Epirus > Thesprotia Region > Syvota
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Syvota
Number of rooms: 277
Also Known As:
Mourtemeno Hotel Epirus
Mourtemeno Hotel Greece/Syvota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing