We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central and a good deal.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carpenter Street Hotel
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Pennellville, New York
Level Contributor
237 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Central and a good deal.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Very convenient for the Lincoln Museum, maybe a little far to his house. Very clean and large room for a good price. I got the Lincoln Two Night package and got 2 tickets to the museum too. The front desk girl was helpful and quite attractive. The breakfast was typical. I'd return here if I'm ever back in town.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank verybigv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    87
    22
    7
    4
See reviews for
67
78
21
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

The hotel was renovated in 2010. Here's a link to the article about it. ---------------

I stayed here for a weekend, it was actually very nice, close to downtown, hospitals etc. Breakfast was decent, usual hotel fare..muffins, cereal, v8, yogurt, waffles etc...Nice place to stay...

Only complaint is that hotels are non smoking but my room had a slight smoke odor..not sure if it was the room next door or the person who stayed before me...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freezin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Plaines, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

My wife and I stayed there july 4th & 5th. Great location .....about three blocks north of Lincoln Museum and close driving to all sites. Easy parking and great breakfast included. Very very friendly staff, clean room on first floor, and quiet sleep. Even a good workout room where the machines actually worked. We paid a total of $179.20 for two nights, two beds, breakfast, all taxes. ..... at senior rate. Regular would be about $200 for two nights. I would stay there again and recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdlasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WI, USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

Close to Historic District so could walk everywhere. Very quiet, very clean, exceptionally accommodating staff. Newly and very nicely remodeled.
Caters to families with members in the hospital so very quiet.
Could have more information and staff could be more familiar with the tourist attractions of the city, but that is easily obtained at the visitor center close by.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WIWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2010

Recently stayed there as my sister was in St. Johns Hospital and I could not have been more pleased. Recent remodel made the place look great. Staff went above and beyond to make sure you had what you needed and listened when you wanted to talk about family illness. Breakfast was great, Value could not be beat. Thank you Staff of the Carpenter Street Hotel

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmericanDreamsRealty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branson, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2010

Recently stayed at Caprenter St. Hotel, due to my sister having surgery at St. John's. The remodel was done fantastically. Rooms were very comfortable, staff was exceptional, and the hot water never ran out. Great water pressure, great coffee, and friendly knowlegable staff made our visit feel "at home'. HIGHLY RECCOMMEND!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustBerta65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

It was very convenient and comfortable. Every staff member encountered was very friendly and they couldn't have been more accomodating. The hotel was recently refurbished and very nice. Beds were comfy and rooms were large, they also offer a breakfast that consists of fruit, cereals, yogurt and the like. I definitely would recommend the hotel to others!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimcon55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.8 km away
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
0.7 km away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.7 km away
Wyndham Springfield City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
8.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
5.3 km away
Candlewood Suites Springfield
Candlewood Suites Springfield
#7 of 38 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carpenter Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carpenter Street Hotel

Property: Carpenter Street Hotel
Address: 525 North 6th Street, Springfield, IL 62702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carpenter Street Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our downtown boutique property is located in the growing Springfield Medical District, only one block from the St. Johns Hospital campus. Our hotel is also in close proximity to the following local attractions: Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library & Museum Illinois State Capitol Lincoln Home National Historic Site Dana-Thomas House by Frank Lloyd Wright Abraham Lincoln's Tomb Illinois State Fair Feel at home in our stylish guest rooms, with contemporary boutique-style décor and furnishings. Of course a flat-panel HDTV, 1-cup coffee maker, refrigerator/microwave, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and expanded cable television are included in all rooms, along with these other full-service offerings: Complimentary hot breakfast buffet daily Complimentary hotel-wide wireless high-speed access Complimentary weekday shuttle within 5 miles radius, upon availability ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carpenter Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing