We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Library and Museum”

Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum
Ranked #1 of 55 things to do in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In a stunning combination of scholarship and showmanship, the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum immerses you in Lincoln's world and time. Journey from a rustic Indiana cabin to the Executive Mansion in the nation's capitol; follow the fate of America's 16th president and share the joys and sorrows of a family - and a nation.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
thayne, wy
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Library and Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

The two movies were very good. There is more than you can take in.... The information people were very helpful. The subway sandwich shop at the museum is very fast. Several places in the building don't allow cameras. Get real, my 12 and 14 year olds want to take some photos. Is it really a big deal?

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank jeffclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,947
    292
    71
    13
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“This was an amazing experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We loved the movies and holographic presentations, the walk through the white house with Lincoln lying in state at the end was VERY moving.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DawnD57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
174 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Interesting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

This was very worthwhile! The Library had a special exhibit that we checked out. The next day we went to the Museum. The docents in the Museum were very nice & informative. We watched one video then started through the exhibits. It's very nicely arranged! There are several parts that one may read as much or as little as interests you ( we read most). I think it must be a required field trip for most Illinois school children because there was a constant flow of them. The exhibits cover nearly every facet of Lincoln's life. We watched the 2 nd live-action video too & found it very good as well. As with all museums, you exit through the gift shop which is packed with all things Lincoln. Plan on a good 2 hours time in the museum. Overall, I'd say it is essential to visit!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Italophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great history lesson!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Abraham Lincoln is my favorite President so it's a no brainer that I love this museum! This past winter we took some friends from Florida and they absolutely loved it too! There is a ton of old Lincoln artifacts to look at as well as a room with replicas of First Lady dresses. The two "shows" we went to I compare to shows at Disney World. The animatronics were very well done. When you're done at the Museum walk across the street to the old train station. It's pretty cool as well! There is a lot to so in Sprinfield so make a day of it!!

Helpful?
Thank pmcraig67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Entertaining and Educational”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

I'm not usually a fan of museums but this was fantastic. It's very modern, interactive and high tech. You are drawn into the story of Abe Lincoln and his family. The movie and the 7 min. play are a must see. This is both entertaining and educational. This experience draws you in intellectually and emotionally. I recommend it highly!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank wesenbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing