We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hmm...Just Okay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Springfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Springfield
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hmm...Just Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

I chose to stay at this hotel because of the convenience of free airport shuttle since the rental car desk at SPI would already be closed when my flight arrived at 10:45pm. When I made my reservation, I was told to call the hotel the day before to confirm the airport shuttle, which I did. When I arrived at the airport, no Crowne shuttle to be seen. I called the hotel to see if they were on their way, but the guy said he would head out now and be there in 20-25 mins. I thought the point of me calling the day before to confirm was so we wouldn't have to wait, especially after traveling for 8 hours already. =/ However, I do have to mention that the shuttle drivers we had were both very, very nice! Not sure if it's a mid-west thing, but I did definitely notice and appreciate that.

Check-in was fine, but the front desk girl didn't seem very knowledgeable. She kept on having to ask the other front desk lady what to do on the computer. Also, I am a new Priority Club Reward member so I was unaware that free wireless was offered to members until after I returned and read the reviews. It would have been nice if the front desk had reminded us that. There is a business center by the front desk, so I asked if I could print my boarding passes from there. I was informed that only one of the printers had ink. The next day, I wanted to get check-in online for my flight and print boarding passes, but the computer that was linked to the printer with ink was already taken. The other printer was free, but it had no ink, so that was rather inconvenient.

As for the room, it was nice, clean, spacious, and had decent closet space. The one issue I had was that the guest room doors shut very hard and very loudly. In the morning, about 6am, I could hear multiple doors slamming shut down the halls. Good thing I am a morning person, so it didn't upset me too much. It was just unpleasant not to be able to sleep in on a Saturday morning due to all the noise, especially after travelling long hours and getting to the hotel really late.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank syc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSpringfield, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Springfield, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us Feedback. I apologize if we did not explain our shuttle procedures better. With the delays that flight times can have, we ask that our guests contact us when they arrive at the airport. Our shuttle drivers will depart the hotel right away. Thank you for complementing our drivers. I will be sure they are aware of your compliment.

I was disappointed to read you did not have a better experience with our front desk. We have recently hired several new agents and are working to get them up to speed. I apologize they did not provide you with the information in regards to free wifi. If you contact hotel, we would be happy to resolve this issue for you. Thank you for bringing to my attention the problem you had with our business center. I will address this.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    114
    85
    45
    24
See reviews for
82
61
17
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

I finally got to stay in this hotel after many years of admiring it from the outside. The room was nothing special whatsoever. The lobby is very nice, but the staff seemed stuck-up and looked at you like you were a criminal. Once was enough for me.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank GetMeOuttaThisTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSpringfield, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Springfield, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
I am sorry to read you did not have a pleasant experience while staying with us. I would certainly expect more from my staff, and considering how much effort we put into customer service, I was taken back to read some of your feedback. I have followed up with each department to ensure we are treating our guests with the respect they deserve. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss your review and experience. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Check-in was unusual, being on the second floor but it was very quick and pleasant. We were given a room on the 8th floor with two comfortable double beds with plenty of soft pillows and a huge bathroom. The bathroom was very clean and looked newly decorated with a lovely powerful shower. The room had a coffee-maker, fridge, iron, ironing board and hair dryer but no safe. Free parking was included in the large car park at the front of the hotel. Wi-fi was free in the lobby but $9.95 per 24hrs in your room. We signed on in our room but found that the fee had been waived when we checked out which was a nice surprise.
The hotel is a short drive from the centre of Springfield but there are plenty of good restaurants nearby, including Outback Steakhouse, IHOP, Arbys, Red Lobster, Smokey Bones.
Would happily stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwyndolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSpringfield, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Springfield, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for providing feedback about your stay. I truly appreciate your compliments of our room amenities and cleanliness. We do offer safety deposit boxes at the front desk free of charge.

We currently offer free wifi to all members of the Priority Club program. This is a free program that includes all hotels in the IHG chain.

I am glad to read your check in was pleasant. To offer an explanation as to why our front desk is located on the 2nd floor; it is to allow conferences to check in their attendees on the conference level.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I booked the Crowne Plaza very last minute on Friday afternoon. We were going to UIS to see a comedian and planned to spend the night but didn't make reservations in advance. Last time we stayed downtown and had a blast. Crowne Plaza is right on I-55 and in the middle of all the chain restaurants. Not really our kind of atmosphere but it worked. I got the room for $99 on Priceline vs. the quoted $139. The fact that I got a deal made me happy from the beginning. Check in took quite a while, probably longer than necessary. The front desk staff warned everyone there was a LARGE junior high group spending the weekend there. He wasn't joking! There were hundreds of them! It made walking through the lobby almost impossible and they were very loud early Saturday morning but that was the only time we noitced them. The room was great - very large, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was huge. Great mirrors! We were totally satisfied. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Not sure if they have rooms that don't face I-55 but ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmeisen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSpringfield, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Springfield, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad to read the kids were not too much of an inconvenience during your stay. Thank you for complementing our rooms and our cleanliness; that is much appreciated. We are pleased to read you were totally satisfied. I hope we can count on your reservation next time you make a trip to Springfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Have stayed at the Crowne Plaza twice in the past few years. Both were excellent stays. Nice rooms, good staff, nice pool, nice exercise room.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shiny62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSpringfield, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Springfield, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
A simple review can go a long way. Thank you for taking the time to compliment our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012 via mobile

Big Prioirity Club member here and generally go for a Crowne Plaza if I can get a competitive rate. I got the rate, then got a little scared after reading some reviews on TA.

Important to note: while TA reviewers seem to delight in praising restaurants, and they seem to love ripping hotels - you'll find very few positive reviews. What convinced me to keep my reservation at this hotel was the way the GM responds to TA reviews.

At 100 nights plus a year, I'll tell you most stays are average and uneventful. Crowne Plaza was one of these stays. Staff checked me in, upgraded me when I asked and all the hotel systems were in working order. The hot water issue you may read about is no longer a problem - in fact the water may be too hot. It looks like they are due for a renovation in the near future, and I would welcome info on that - furnishings were a little tired.

This is a big property with something for everyone. I'd stay again -gladly so after a refresh. -the Farmer

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank WanderingIowaFarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSpringfield, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Springfield, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for your review, Farmer. I appreciate you reassuring our guest that our hot water issue has been resolved. And to answer your question, yes, we will be making updates to our hotel in the near future. As the details to our updates are in the process of being finalized, I can only offer that we are very exited for what is to come. We have just recently installed 42’’ TV’s in all of our guest rooms, and we now offer complimentary internet to all members of the Priority Club program. We are in-the-works of making more great things happen! Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. louis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We had a wonderful weekend visit to Springfield, IL. Crowne Plaza was a wonderful hotel with all the amenities. We scored this hotel off of priceline. We enjoyed our visit our visit to the Land of Lincoln. The Lincoln Museum was fabulous. One of the best museums I've visited.

Room Tip: The higher the floors have less highway noise. Request a room away from the laundry center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crmstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPSpringfield, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Springfield, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and our city. We hope you will stay at the Crowne Plaza if you return to Springfield for another trip to the museum. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
8.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
0.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
5.3 km away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
#7 of 38 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
5.2 km away
Wyndham Springfield City Centre
0.7 km away
Candlewood Suites Springfield
Candlewood Suites Springfield
#6 of 38 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Springfield

Property: Crowne Plaza Springfield
Address: 3000 South Dirksen Parkway, Springfield, IL 62703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Springfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel - Springfield is designed and decorated with the gracious charm of a fine European hotel. The Crowne Plaza - Springfield has newly upgraded bedding in all guest rooms, featuring plush comforters, feather pillows, and pillow-top matresses. Reserve your room now and have have the confidence you are receiving the lowest rate you can find on the Internet guaranteed. Conveniently located directly off Interstate 55 and historic Route 66 and near the World Headquarters for Bunn-O-Matic Corporation, Illinois Department of Transportation and the Illinois Secretary of State office complexes, the Crowne Plaza-Springfield is also just minutes away from Springfield's historic Abraham Lincoln sites, including the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum.To take care of your professional needs, we have a complete Crowne meetings department that can handle meetings from 10 to 2000.Join the Crowne Plaza - Springfield for dinner at our Rosewood Dining Room and follow with a relaxing after dinner drink at The Mahogany Bar and Grill. The Crowne Plaza - Springfield also is proud to offer Starbuck's Coffee in our Lobby CafePlaytime is covered also by our 14th floor Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, Sauna and sundeck ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Springfield Hotel Springfield
Springfield Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing