We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Highland Center Hrauneyjar
Nearby Hotels
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$307
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Vos(Hella)(Great Value!)
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$254
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Snotra Hostel(Hella)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kanslarinn(Hella)(Great Value!)
US$258
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Welcome Riverside Guesthouse(Hella)(Great Value!)
US$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
Stracta Hotel(Hella)(Great Value!)
US$341
US$152
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
25
85
55
28
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
85
55
28
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot watervegetarian burgerremote hotelblue plasticstaff was extremely helpfulsimple hotelskyryour luggagetiny bathroomreception areadecent sizepower stationbreadafter a long daysmoked salmoncold meatsbuffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 222 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2014

This is one of only two hotels in the middle of nowhere but actually pretty convenient if you're 4x4ing. Because of car trouble, we had the opportunity to experience both of them. Hrauneyjar has a reasonably priced simple restaurant and a gas station. The food was nothing fancy, but quite ok. We chose a room with attached bath, and though it was small, it was also clean and comfortable. There are also rooms with shared bathrooms and hostel style rooms. What really impressed us was how incredibly nice and helpful the staff were. We found ourselves stranded there due to car trouble, and they must have made dozens of phone calls arranging assistance for us. There really isn't anything to do there if your car isn't working, so the free wifi was a lifesaver.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lanis-adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2014

fantastic location just at the edge of Landmanalugar, the must see wild region of Iceland. A very warm welcome and a nice cooking at the restaurant. Rooms are simple and clean. At the farm which belong to the same owner a few kilometers before, you can receive precious advise for your trip in the region; don't miss it.

Room Tip: every room are more or less the same
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

The cook does not seem to be very knowledgable about food; everything we ordered was overdone and not too fresh. The staff is completely disinterested. Avoid if possible. Unfortunately it is the first stop after a desert trip (or the last one before), so one might be tempted to go there. Again: avoid if possible.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Robbert67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed in by far the tiniest room of our whole trip. There was barely room to open our suitcases. The bathroom was tiny also. With the toilet being place almost in the shower. This hotel is very basic, but its location makes up for that. This is the right starting point to visit the beautiful and rugged Landmannalaugar. Actually this hotel is more a hostel, with long, unwelcoming halls.

We also had dinner here, since there were no other options around. Too bad the vegetables on our plate were cold. Probably the vegetables were placed on the plate some time before the meat. We would have send it back, but we were so hungry that we ate our cold dinner. A pity. Breakfast was also basic, but ok.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolienBAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2014

First impressions were worrying, situated in a beautiful and remote spot the guesthouse itself looked little more than a collection of huts.Decribed as the last port of call before entering the "inhabitable interior" of Iceland we really felt like we were embarking on a rugged adventure.
However despite appearances, this guesthouse was pleasant and cosy and our room with ensuite was clean and comfortable.We weren't too keen on the see through glass petition in the ensuite where NOTHING is left to the imagination- whoever though of that one!
I would not have wanted to rough it in the economy rooms with shared facilities but if on a tight budget I'm sure they would suffice.
The canteen was clean but no airs and graces, this is a back packers hostel really where food is wholesome and plentiful but not a 4 star hotel. We had full board so we ate our meals in a slightly more separated area of canteen with waiter service.All the staff seemed very young but they spoke perfect English and were always polite and helpful even though at times(this was peak season) they were very busy. We enjoyed our meals there and the Vegetarian option served daily was fine. A lovely fresh salad bar and homemade soups were an excellent start to the meal. Breakfasts were OK too, nothing fancy but all you could need -although no cooked options. We also had a packed lunch daily for our travels which consisted of freshly made sandwiches, fruit, carton of juice, Skyrr or yogurt and chocolate bar- very tasty indeed.
I admit I am a middle aged traveller who's not that keen on roughing it but this was fine as a three day stay and it certainly was a great position for 4x4 touring in the area ,even if it did bring back vividly 40 year ago memories of youth hostelling !It also had it's own fuel station and car wash hose- pretty crucial in such an out of the way position! A resident 4x4 trails expert also was on hand to give guests suggestions and advice for their daily adventures- he was brilliant and gave us some really good places to go off the beaten track.

Room Tip: I'd definitely go for the ensuite rooms unless you don't mind sharing facilities and being on the main corridor through the guest house- potentially noisy.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fujismum55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews