We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$165
US$161
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$243/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Stracta Hotel(Hella)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$235
US$227
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$255
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kanslarinn(Hella)(Great Value!)
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
US$620
US$599
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
26
86
58
28
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
86
58
28
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot watervegetarian burgerremote hotelblue plasticstaff was extremely helpfulsimple hotelskyryour luggagetiny bathroomreception areadecent sizepower stationbreadafter a long daysmoked salmonbuffet breakfastsoup
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 228 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2016

Great breakfast, nice staff, fast internet, comfy bed ad home like atmosphere. Even though the hotel is in the middle of nowhere and there is nothing around to compare it with, it maintains a really satisfactory standard.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Iguanka84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 23, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the old guesthouse, built at a time when four walls and a bed were the only requirements. Old, shabby, so so clean. The price is high for the quality of the accommodation. But the location is excellent to visit the highlands -aroun 90 minute drive to Landmanalauggar.

There is a newer section which is nicer. My advice is: if you need to stay bite the bullet and go for the higher standard.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank spanish2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2015

This was our worst experience during our two weeks in Iceland. Our "double" room should read cupboard. It was really only large enough for a single. The double bed was closed in by three walls and I had to disturb my wife by climbing over her to get out of bed. The room was one of a group of prefabs joined together. The bathroom was small with a small shower area in some "units" did not even have a shower curtain. Our group, 15 people, had our evening meal served to us but it took two and a half hours to complete the meal with no choice of meal available. This guesthouse is becoming too big and they are trying to grab every Krona they can eg, cheap and nasty rooms and very few staff to serve the guests. A do not stay here rating if avoidable.. Ours was a group tour booking.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Takeiteasytheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2015

It is not fancy but the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom adequate and the food very good. We were photographing in the area so it was perfect to have a base with three meals and a great, central location. Our dinners were ordered in advance and were great. Breakfast is the standard. If you want Skyr it is extra. They can provide sandwiches for picnics and they have a very good meat soup and soup of the day. Since there is only one other place in the Highlands, which is very nice. This one gets my votes because they are available for lunch.
You will know you are in the right place because there are plies of boots in the mud room. Bring slippers to wear around because they frown on your wearing your outside shoes in the hotel and restaurant.
The rooms are basic. One table one chair and one bed. I was alone so it was perfect. The funny thing is there is a warning that the shower's hot water ends after five minutes. I thought this was a joke, and what would two people do? Well I washed my hair- I didn't think it took five minutes and just at the end it was cooling off. So if two are staying in the room I would schedule different times for your shower.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the back of the hotel have views. Other rooms look at the adjacent wing.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teafree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2015

It is truly a wonderful place to rest your weary feet. Located at the gateway to the interior of Iceland, it is spartan but comfortable. The rooms were clean, small (as is usual in Iceland) and with an extra Murphy wall bed that we used to keep our stuff on. The bathroom is good enough, with the biggest shower we saw of any hotel during our 9 day trip to Iceland, but it is let down by the hot water supply. It only lasts for a few minutes and so two people cannot shower in tandem, you have to wait for 20 minutes for it to heat up again. It seems that instead of coming from a central supply, it is heated in a small tank in the bathroom itself. There is also the problem (as in many other bathrooms) of lack of shelf space to keep your toiletries. A small shelf above the washbasin would be very useful.

The food was very good, with the desserts truly outstanding, the service was good to very good. Breakfast is limited but enough. The menu choices at lunch and dinner are adequate. One has to remember that the hotel is in the middle of nowhere and then all your complaints will disappear.

All in all, a very nice and clean place to stay, with some caveats noted above.

One more thing, of all hotels we stayed in, this one had the best WiFi.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Prepaed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews