We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, superb horse steak” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Hotel Anna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Country Hotel Anna
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hvolsvollur
Certificate of Excellence
Saitama, Japan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, superb horse steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed here for 1 night with our 1 yo son. We arrived at 8pm, so we could manage to order dinner, which was a horse-steak for me and fish for my wife. The horse steak was excellent, make sure you eat a lot of bread with it. My wife's fish was a bit salty. We also enjoyed the quietness and remoteness of this hotel, but we felt that our room was a bit shabby, though. Staff was very friendly, enjoyed the freshly baked bread in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eur0peankiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    101
    33
    7
    4
See reviews for
48
149
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pelham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

One of the best places we stayed in Iceland. Yes its older and quirky, but its clean and comfortable. Dinner was quite good. Nice hiking trails right out of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ji79scoutii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
257 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

If you had an Icelandic grandmother (maybe great grandmother), and you stayed with her, this is probably what the house would look like. Classic B&B feeling. Although here, breakfast is as described by others: cold cuts and bread. We stayed here 2 nights and booked through kari@extremeiceland.is, who also booked another hotel for our 3rd night in the south part of Iceland (we had previously done an 11 day tour). Had a first floor room that opened to the lobby, but it was great for us because we were dragging around 2 weeks worth of luggage. The narrow stairway to the second floor would have been a pain. Of course, being on the first floor of a very old building with people above you can get creaky. Literally. However, everyone seems to hit the sack early because of all the outdoor activities in the neighborhood, so it wasn't a problem. Room was very comfortable, but with the U.S. dollar weak, it was expensive: about $190 a night. Keep in mind that there is nothing much around there, and Iceland basically has a 3 month tourist season. Anyway, we used it as a base to do a day trip to the Westman Islands. The new ferry leaves from Landeyhofn, which is about 20 minutes from Anna's. Left our car in the lot, took the ferry over, spent the day, then took the ferry back. No place to eat at the ferry port or near Anna's. We ate on the Westman's that day. The night before we treated ourselves to Anna's for dinner. People apparently know the place more for its food than its accommodations, because there were lots of people there just for dinner. Dining room (which is almost comically faux-stone, like a cave, I guess) seats about 25. It was full at 8 p.m. on a Sunday night. Food was delicious and sophisticated(we both had fish variations). Expect to pay between $35-$45 per person. An average Icelandic dinner in a restaurant is probably only about $10 per person cheaper. It is an expensive place to eat out (except for the hot dogs). But the dinner was great and included soup, entree and vegetables. We treated ourselves to homemade rhubarb dessert - sort of like a cobbler, although called a pie. Also excellent. Wonderful place to stay along the Ring Road. Great base for hiking, also. Highly recommend you do not try to find this in the dark. It is a good 1/2 mile or more off the main road. There are a couple of signs referring to it, but they are not lit. There is a parallel road (very unusual to have more than one road in this area), and Anna's is off this parallel road. I have included photos of some of the signs to look out for. If you are coming from the west (Reykjavik), you want to turn left at the yellow sign that says 2 Asolfsskali 246. After you turn, immediately in front of you will be a blue sign that has arrows pointing to all the places off that road. One of them is Anna's. There are a couple of other signs on the main road. One is a small eye-level billboard, and the other is on the lowest part of a blue sign about 2 km from the actual turn off. Again, don't try this in the dark. Easy to miss.

Room Tip: Decide if you want to be upstairs (with a better view) or downstairs (easier with luggage because th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

If you'll read my reviews for Iceland, you'll see that I dealt with the unique problem of boarding six adults (me and my husband, in our 20s, and two sets of parents in their 50s/60s) in a country where there might be one place to stay in each town. May I recommend planning out early! I booked about 8 months ahead actually and had no problems.

This was the first place we stayed in Iceland. Let me tell you - BEAUTIFUL location, nestled at the base of the hills, surrounded by vast fields of green. A quaint farmhouse, with horses, and rooms laid out all around (it's much like staying in an actual house).

We had 2 first floor rooms, ours opened right to the "lobby." But it was quiet - sleeping was easy. Ensuite bathrooms, very clean. One room had 3 single beds and one had a double and a single. These rooms actually had the most character of any place we stayed on the trip - with antique furniture and quilts. Breakfast was great - but it's Icelandic breakfast, so be aware it's basically a lot of cold cuts and cheese and some bread. We really enjoyed this place, and I would absolutely stay there again!

Another note, booking was a bit worrisome for me internationally, because a lot of it's sort of informal feeling, over email, but everything was exactly as planned. Not a hitch, here or anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KateKnows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

We loved finding this little out-of-the-way place. We got there the wrong way around on the road: a couple of kilometers of bumpy gravel road in the direction we came, instead of from the shorter, paved direction. Didn't matter -- we got there!

The room I'd booked (a a triple) did not have a double bed, and when I asked if we could get one, we were immediately moved into a double room with a real double bed (one of the few in Iceland, it would seem) and a rollaway brought in for our daughter.

The only reason I can't give the place five stars is that the curtains let in too much light at night -- there were no blackout curtains and the sky was quite bright all night.

The hotel dining room was cozy with good service. The breakfast buffet was the smallest of the three we had in South Iceland, but sufficient for our needs. The hotel and dining room staff was friendly and welcoming.

I'd certainly stay again, but I might bring eye shades.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Two_if_by_Land
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

We stayed for only one night on our 9 day trip in Iceland at the Hotel Anna. The room was large and had room darkening curtains - which are nice to have in June. While no one comes to Iceland to watch TV it would have been nice if the TV was better situated in the room and not mounted to the wall facing oddly away. The restaurant was quite good with a wide selection. The kitchen even went out of their way to make an alternative vegetarian soup for me! The breakfast however was a bit disappointing after the nice meal we had the night before. Staff was helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nyropo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

Anna is pitched as "romantic" and "enchanting". To our eyes Anna is "shabby chic", but a bit too shabby. Furnished with "antiques", it is a mish mash of style. To our eyes the furniture is very brown, mismatched and full of dust trap carvings. We made a mistake booking this place. If you shop at IKEA or Habitat, stay away!

The room was poorly serviced; the satellite TV had (we discovered later) a plug missing and the tap was needing repair and only produced a dribble of water. To be fair, the owner responded well and at check out time, gave us half price for dinner to compensate.

Their food was good; we enjoyed dinner in the restaurant.

If you do go to Anna, be sure to find an hour to drive around the local loop road to find a fascinating little church and graveyard, the local grass covered shed and a great little waterfall.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JHCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hvolsvollur
12.1 km away
Hotel Skogar
Hotel Skogar
#1 of 2 in Skogar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
34.3 km away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,526 reviews
27.3 km away
Hotel Vestmannaeyjar
Hotel Vestmannaeyjar
#1 of 3 in Vestmannaeyjar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.8 km away
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Hotel
#1 of 14 in Vik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
14.9 km away
Hotel Skogafoss
Hotel Skogafoss
#1 of 3 in Skogar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
29.5 km away
Eldsto Art Cafe / Bistro / Pottery / Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Hotel Anna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Hotel Anna

Property: Country Hotel Anna
Address: Moldnup I, Hvolsvollur 861, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hvolsvollur
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hvolsvollur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Hotel Anna 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Country Hotel Anna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Hvolsvollur
Country Hotel Anna Iceland/Hvolsvollur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing