We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous and luxurious”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mary Prentiss Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mary Prentiss Inn
Ranked #1 of 19 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gorgeous and luxurious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed in one of the rooms off the deck that had a real fireplace, and a jacuzzi. The room was small but very comfortable. The tub was huge. I never turned on the jacuzzi, but in three nights I took four or five baths in that thing.

The breakfast wasn't bad and when we came back from our adventures in the afternoon, there was an afternoon tea set up in the lounge each day. There was even a lazy cat hanging out by the fireplace there.

We stayed the first weekend of March so the weather was damp and raw. We loved to come back to the Inn where it was so warm and comfortable. The staff was extremely helpful--I think we had some trouble with the heat the first night and it was taken care of right away.

We loved the whole experience.

Room Tip: Choose one of the jacuzzi rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Francescamw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    64
    13
    7
    6
See reviews for
93
111
34
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
528 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

Stayed at Mary Prentiss last weekend while visiting Cambridge for a family wedding. I was extremely impressed. The rooms were very clean and spacious, and the bed was extremely comfortable. Rooms even had brand new flat screen tv's, which I wasn't expecting at a traditional B&B. Staff was very friendly but respected privacy, and let us check out at noon even though normal checkout is 11am. Included breakfasts were excellent and just the right size, while tea time cookies and tea was great. The patio outside is a great place to hang out in a group or just for a relaxing cup of coffee or beer. The kicker is the location, which is walking distance to a number of shops, bars, restaurants and transportation on the T(Porter Square on the Red Line). I love visiting the Boston/Cambridge area since I used to live there, and I will certainly consider Mary Prentiss for all future trips. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Had front room which would have minor noise issues for light sleepers, but didn't bother me. Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tjmoney44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

This Inn has nearly everything you could want in a B&B, minus the hospitality. We normally do not even like B&B's because of the hospitality...we like to be left alone & just like our privacy. Our other choices were booked. The staff here puts the "P" in privacy...their own. We had to learn the ropes on our own as to the services and amenities provided at the inn. Staff was very aloof, unfriendly, unhelpful, unaware of local events when asked. Woman who checked us in seemed annoyed to have to do so. The only instruction she gave us was to make sure we took our key with us as front door locks at 10. Period. Didn't point us in direction of room, tell us about breakfast sign up, mention afternoon tea. Nothing! Home and room was lovely. Sheets were wonderful. Pillows wimpy but bed fairly comfortable (nothing special, I suspect old mattress). Inn was clean. Room was small, translation, European. Breakfast was yummy and plentiful. Although options for breakfast were 8, 9, or 10 am. A little late for me to get my coffee. Snacks in room were nice touch on arrival, though not replenished on subsequent days. Location in Cambridge is a stretch to claim Harvard Square. Closer to Porter Square. I would choose differently next time mainly because of attitude of staff (breakfast waiter was only pleasant person we encountered other than other patrons).

Room Tip: Old house, long steep staircase to floors 2&3. With heavy luggage can be a challenge. Only roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

I came to Boston with my family to look at colleges for my brother and to visit my family who
live in Boston. When we arrived at the Inn, we saw that it was a beautiful historic building. We were greeted by a friendly staff when we entered and they brought us to our beautiful suite ( room 14) with a loft bedroom, and we settled in comfortably. We were pleasantly surprised by he gourmet meals served at breakfast that we were allowed to sign up for the day before. There were many delicious choices with everything made fresh to order. When we came back to the Inn after a long day, we were again pleasantly suprised to find gourmet tea and fresh baked cookies waiting for us--The strawberry jam shortbread thumbprint cookies were my favorite. The Mary Prentiss Inn is centrally located and we were able to hop on the T train very easily. It was a ten minute walk to Harvard and Harvard Square which was a very historic and interesting walk. I would definitely love to go back to the Mary Prentiss Inn the next time I visit Boston.

Room Tip: We loved room 14! It was a very comfortable accommodation for 1 adult and 2 children. There was also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Elizabeth Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

This historic property has great potential, but currently does not measure up to expectations. The rooms, especially if you are on the top floor with the pitched roof, are SMALL with no desk space. The property is definitely not for anyone with physical limitations - narrow steep stairs must be managed often in poorly lit conditions. Our arrival was similar to another reviewer's - we arrived @10 pm in 25 degree weather where we waited for the night manager, similarly not professionally attired, to let us in (I guess good for security). However, there was no attempt at pleasantries - we were handed a key and told to go to the top floor. That was it. We had to figure out how to arrange breakfast - you must sign up on a schedule for set times (not early enough if you have business meetings). We had a non-working clock and light which we reported to the desk the following day - "Oh, we depend upon guests to let us know these things" was the response.

We found the staff pleasant enough when you engaged them, but none displayed any interest in us nor made any offers to help us with our plans or .... We were glad that our intended 4-day stay was only 2 days.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor and the one over the kitchen - we were wakened by the noise and grease smells fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w0rldexpl0rer88_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012 via mobile

So I arrived late (10ish) on a Sunday and was greeted by a note on the door asking me to use the bell to ring the night manager (good), who promptly came to the door in his shorts and "wife-beater" (less than good). Kindly provided the key to my room, which was good... Except for the faint whiff of mildew/mold one got as they entered the room. The room was spacious and nice at first glance, but then you notice the peeling wallpaper at several places, the gaps in the quaint bathroom tile trim and the trim paint that was in terrible condition throughout the room's baseboard. Other than that, it was pleasant... Good location and good staff. If a few details were take care of this would be a 5 in my book.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mojo-Ravi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We have enjoyed all three of our visits to the Mary Prentiss and plan to stay again and again! The rooms were lovely, clean, and plenty large enough for us (including one trip with our two teen daughters in cots). The service is excellent and the food (including a lovely afternoon tea) is good. Easy walk to Harvard Square, Porter Square and Davis Square when we visit our daughter at Tufts! Highly recommend staying here instead of a hotel!

Room Tip: The attic rooms are large enough for children to join you as the bed is in a 2nd floor loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.6 km away
Porter Square Hotel
Porter Square Hotel
#18 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
1.4 km away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Veritas
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Sheraton Commander Hotel
Sheraton Commander Hotel
#8 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
1.3 km away
Harvard Square Hotel
Harvard Square Hotel
#11 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
3.6 km away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary Prentiss Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary Prentiss Inn

Property: Mary Prentiss Inn
Address: 6 Prentiss Street, Cambridge, MA 02140
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mary Prentiss Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mary Prentiss Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary Prentiss Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing