We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (453)
Filter reviews
453 results
Traveller rating
203
137
54
30
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
137
54
30
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tennis courts arbatax park half board spa pools beaches coast
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 453 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2017

Situated near a couple of small beaches and rocks, allowing for easy snorkeling and a nice view (not from your room, though). The resort has several pools and restaurants, in addition to a a few more amenities.The buffet is not bad (and you should opt for full board unless you like trekking inside the resort - see below).

Be prepared to:
1) Pay for plenty of extras. And I don't mean just the spa treatments. Like, if you want to try a different restaurant, that's an extra 20 euros per person. Seriously.
2) Take long walks uphill under the sun to get to the parking, which you will, for example, if you intend to take advantage of the beach chairs offered at nearby Lido di Orrì (for free!). Or alternatively, you can opt for long waits in the sun until a bus takes you near the parking (also for free!).
3) Sleep in amazingly antiquated and inconvenient rooms.
For example:
- We had an ancient, Seventies' garage-sale style, three-door cupboard. Two of the doors opened the coat area - no shelves, only good for hanging long coats, suits and the like (what else are you going to bring to a beach resort anyway?). The third door opened the section with a couple of shelves and drawers. Except that it did no such thing, because the door was against the bed and you could not open it without redecorating the room. Result, you just had to leave everything on the floor, together with the sand and the dead mosquitoes.
- The air conditioning equipment seemed to come from a South American love hotel, circa 1980. The noise it made when it switched on reminded me of an old military truck running on diesel of dubious quality.
- The TV screen was smaller than the one in the laptop I am using to write this.
- The beds were literally falling apart pretty much right away. We had slats on the floor as a regular occurrence. And no one to fix them (see next point). The mattresses themselves seemed to have lived a long and mercilessly intense life.
4) Receive from the reception the same treatment you get from an outsourced helpline at a bad online insurance company. You are not sure if they understand what you are saying, but are told that they will resolve the problem right away. During the week I spent there, calls and reassurances were never followed by action.
5) Consider yourself lucky if the pointlessly noisy night entertainment will only molest you once a week.
6) Forget about staying in touch with the external world. The place is blessed with no mobile reception and a really, really poor WiFi, which occasionally takes weekends off.

All that us left is to leave your cramped room, forget about the distant parking, occupy a couple of chairs near the rocks (before 8 am) and reflect upon what a nice place like this is doing with a management like that.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roberto O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2017 via mobile

We arrived at Cagliari Airport on the Saturday and picked up a mini bus there which was convenient. The drive to Arbatax was over two hours, but we were expecting that and at least two thirds of the route was on reasonable roads.
Upon arrival we dropped the van in the car park and us and our luggage were transported to the Dune reception and then after booking in to our "room" which was actually a detached building less than 100m from the reception and overlooking the sea. It wasn't especially glamorous, but it was functional, adequately equipped and had a certain qwerkiness about it and with a fabulous sea view. We couldn't have asked for a much better location on the resort. It immediately became known as The Hobbit House.
The resort itself was huge and very beautiful with it's white painted buildings and Bougainvillea of every colour and hue growing throughout.
The staff were friendly and generally helpful. There were several bars, restaurants, swimming pools, tennis courts, a spa and even its own nature park and they were clearly geared up to please their guests. Our only criticism would be the buffet style food, lacked choice especially at lunchtime, but then we found Sardinia difficult for food choices in general with seafood being primarily at it's centre. Our other critique would be that there was was evidently events going on at various times and on various evenings throughout our week, but we knew nothing about them. It felt it was geared more towards their majority Italian guests, who presumably were better informed than we were. Perhaps some sort of multilingual hand out upon arrival would have been nice.
Other than that The Dune beach, which was man made among the rocks was clever and a nice touch, but could do with softer less gritty sand.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
4  Thank Hon-Moonraker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APCustomerCare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Arbatax Park Resort - Dune, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2017

Dear Hon-Moonraker,
thank you for sharing your opinion with TripAdvisor community. We are glad that you enjoyed our wonderful location, and also we are glad you loved the nature surrounding the Resort and the kindness of our Staff. We regret reading your words about the breakfast and dinner buffet, they are usually very appreciated by our Guests, every day our Chefs prepare various and abundant buffet in order to satisfy all Guests’ tastes. Our reception Staff speaks fluently several languages, including English, French and German, and it is always available to help our Guests. Moreover we are sorry you didn’t find the information about the events and activities, they are always available at the Reception and on our App “Arbatax Park Resort & SPA”. We would like to thank you for your feedback, your opinion is very important for us. Looking forward to welcoming you again in Sardinia and at Arbatax Park Resort. Kind Regards,
The Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 12, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 7 nights last week. (03/06/17 to 10/06/17) for our first wedding anniversary.

I'm not really one to complain but I really feel that I should write this as I don't want anyone to experience what we did as it did spoil a lot of our stay.

So, we arrived at Cagliari airport Saturday night and had already previously booked a transfer that the hotel offers for €40 per person.
On arrival, the driver was nowhere to be seen.. I rang the hotel and they said to look again, so we did, still no sign of the driver. I rang the hotel again and they advised for us to get a taxi and they'd reimburse us the money back.
So we did, the taxi cost us €240 and was a 2 hour journey.
When we arrived at the resort we were taken to reception to check in, we were driven to our room and let ourselves in. As soon as we got in the room I knew straight away that It wasn't the room or area of the hotel we had booked or paid for. We were taken to a basic room in the telis part of the resort when we had booked a superior room in the dune part.
We were far too tired to sort anything out on the first night as it was nearly 1am at this point so we slept on it.
The next day we went to reception and tried to explain that we were in the wrong room/part of the resort, and that we were told by someone on the phone that we'd have our money back for the €240 taxi. The lady I spoke to asked us to wait while she discusses it with her colleague and to sit down and wait.
45 minutes later after having to queue again to find out what's going on they said they'd investigate the transfer situation and they'd change our room later that afternoon.
I spoke to another lady who gave us both an all inclusive wrist band.
(We were only booked for bed and breakfast)
It was a nice gesture however by this point we were both stressed and felt that we had wasted so much of our first day trying to sort everything out when we should've been enjoying the start of our holiday.
Finally we checked into the Dune reception and explained the room mess up and to be fair they sorted it out and gave us our key (this was at around 5ish)

When we got to the room it was slightly bigger than the one in telis and the bathroom appeared newer and cleaner.
Overall basic.
We were about 2 minutes from the beach which was beautiful and the bar thankfully.
We tried 3 of the restaurants on the resort and the food was pretty bland which was presented as a buffet and not a lot of variety, we found. Maybe would've been better if the food was labelled in some way so you know what you're eating.
Considering Italian food is supposed to be the best in the world it was very poor quality.
A few times we were chased up from the reception and was asked "we see you owe €160 for transfers to and from the resort to the airports" having to explain 4 times that the driver didn't show up so we had to pay €240 for a taxi, still nothing was done and we never received our money back either.
On top of that we ended up having to pay €80 for the two of us to get a transfer back to the airport.
You'd think after all the hassle we went through with the wrong room and no show of the driver that at the very least they would offer us the transfer back free of charge, especially since we were €240 down. But no, nothing.

The location is another issue, a 2 hour car journey from either airport. Plus if you wanted to venture outside of the resort then you would need to hire a car. We went into Tortoli and there's a few nice beaches around the area.

Also, the shop on the resort doesn't offer much of a choice either.. it would've been helpful if there was some kind of supermarket on site.

Plus side

Bar staff and entertainment staff were friendly and hard working.
Beach was beautiful.

Unfortunately, our stay was ruined by being messed around and having to spend €240 of our holiday money on the first night.

We would never stay here again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Dinalucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APCustomerCare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Arbatax Park Resort - Dune, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2017

Dear Dinalucia,
We regret reading that your stay with us didn’t satisfy your needs and expectations. We offer to our Guests a round trip transport service to the airports of Cagliari and Olbia and it leaves from the airports at several fixed times, it’s impossible that the driver didn't show up. On 3rd of June there were many other people booked for the bus of the 20.30 and you were in the list, the driver waited for you but you didn’t show up. We’ve never had problems with the transfer anyway we are very sorry for this inconvenience. We are happy that our Staff with its professionalism has solved immediately the mistake with the room . We are glad you appreciated the up grade we offer to you from the BB treatment to All Inclusive treatment. Our Staff is always available to satisfy our Guests needs. We regret you didn’t have the occasion to try several excursions that we offer to our Guests to discover Sardinia and its beauty. Lastly, we regret you didn’t appreciate our quality menus, our Chefs try to offer different options and a wide selection of dishes from the local cuisine to the international one and we are sorry if your culinary experience hadn’t been satisfactory. It would be important for us giving you another image of the hotel so we'll invite you visiting us in the future to discover the real quality service that has always characterized Arbatax Park Resort.
Best regards, Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 16, 2017

Saw lovely photos sent to us via Secret Escapes - booked 10 days in July 2016 for a relaxing break in the sun. Unfortunately when we arrived at the Dune Arbatax Resort it was10pm and accommodation was "very basic and very tired resort" I would rate at a maximum 2 star resort (more like a holiday camp in the sun), although the resort manager went out of his way to help us relocate to another hotel. The photo's put on Secret escape web site were actually of the spa only and did not represent 99% of the actual resort at all, the Spa area had to be paid for as extra, and also had to be pre-booked daily for a limited period of time as the resort had 2500 guests - apparently they said they always had complaints from customer who booked through Secret Escape as they thought they were booking a 4-5 star holiday and were always disappointed ! We contacted Secret Escapes immediately the morning after we arrived to say the resort did not match up to their description or representation of the resort it any form and we wanted to move for the following reasons - when we opened the door to our room the damp, musty smell hit you straight away - it had 2 small beds, 1 small thin table which could only fit the TV on it, 1 dirty old fridge sitting in the middle of a bare wall and that was it, apart from the old aircon unit that was noisy and situated under the only window behind the curtain, so if you wanted it on you had to have the curtain open !!- there was not even ONE electric socket for guests to use, therefore could not even charge our phones, the room was so poorly lit it was impossible to read anything.
Secret Escapes were very dismissive and did not help us in way at all, even on our return we tried to complain to them and again they were not interested at all, saying we should take it up directly with the hotel and not them, but our contract was with Secret Escapes - We have used them before but never again !! the holiday was not cheap but any discount we had for booking via Secret Escape was totally wasted, as in the end we had to spend another £2000 in taxi's and finding another hotel for the rest of our stay. Sardinia is a beautiful resort and in the end we had a super holiday at a beautiful hotel in the north of the island called "The Bajaloglia Resort - the food was fantastic and accommodation clean and comfortable - unlike the Arbatax food which was tined or processed - with drinks including watery fruit juices and wine served from a vending machine into thick glass tumblers !! Sorry Secret Escapes but you have failed in every way, this is certainly not a true representation for promoting luxury holidays. We are 2 very disappointed ex customers.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EG201617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APCustomerCare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Arbatax Park Resort - Dune, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2017

Dear EG201617,
Thank you for your feedback from your stay.
First and foremost, We are very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your experience at Arbatax Park Resort Dune.

We are truly sorry that this was not to your expectations, especially because Arbatax Park Resort is renowned as a paradise corner still intact in its rugged beauty and our rich restuarant offer different menus every day.
Room’s typologies and dimensions are widely described, easily verifiable on our website and on all booking channels. Furthermore on our website we show only realistic photos. We truly recommend our guests to express all their wishes at the booking time, in order to be satisfied at their arrival.
However , we are currently updating our rooms, most of them in totally harmony with the surrounding context.
In the meantime, please be assured that we will make every effort to pay attention to more details providing you the high quality standard that has always identified our resort.
We appreciate your feedback and we hope welcoming you to our hotel in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2016

Stayed 11 days during August - as part of the deal had free transfer and upgrade to superior room. Well the transfer would have been free if we had wanted to wait 5 hours at the airport so ended up hiring a car last minute. Discovered that upgrade to superior just means same shabby room just nearer the sea. Concept of individual rooms is nice but does not work in practice. Shape of room meant that the bedside tables could not go by the bed as they would not fit. Room badly painted. Only two electrical points in the room which were for tv/fridge and air con so if you wanted to plug in phone, straighteners etc had to unplug one or other. Nice view from the room but nowhere to sit and appreciate it other than a very upright plastic chair on the walkway through to the other rooms. We referred to our room as our "little hobbit house" which is what it was. Bathroom was pretty shabby with cracks in porcelain and a shower that leaked every time we used it. Main pool was very noisy with music blasting at various times - as we were "Dunes" and not "Cottage" we were barred from using the Relaxing Pool. As Dunes caters for couples one assumes that couples do not normally want roudy, noisy pools. The resort has very steep hills and whilst we are not the fittest of people, we are certainly not disabled but really struggled with the steepness having to park 10 minutes walk from our "Hobbit House". Having to hire a car was in the end a god send as we could get out to the beach some 10 minutes drive away with umbrellas and beds for use of guests which I have to say was lovely. On most days very clear sea, a small bar/eatery there is you wanted anything. However on our return one afternoon we were told by one of the staff that we could not park in our usual place as "it was full" and should park to the left (which would have been a 25-30 minutes walk from our Hobbit House). We are assuming this was because he could see our Dunes wristbands and the parking was marked for "cottage guests". We ignored him only to find the demented creature running alongside our car hanging on and screaming at us. We continued to the parking area to find at least a dozen spaces. As other reviews have said the resort is tired and needs updating. On the whole apart from the "demented man" the staff were helpful and courteous. The only saving grace was the food which we could not fault. I have read other reviews which say food was rubbish but we did not find that. A good selection of salads, at least 3 sorts of pasta and then at least two meat dishes and a fish dish, Even the free wine was very drinkable which is unusual. Yes breakfast was a bit repetitive but what can you do different for breakfast. I thought overall the food was very good. As for the free spa entry we discovered this was for 2 hours. Bearing in mind it would have taken us 30 minutes to walk there as the train was normally full, we did not bother and reading other reviews I am glad we did'nt. If you are going here with children I am sure you will enjoy it (apart from the steep hills if you have pushchairs). Going as couples - far too noisy - not a lot around the resort without travelling a fair distance. Driving through the mountains is beautiful but for this reason it does take a long time to get anywhere. Could not recommend this resort

Room Tip: Do not pay extra for superior room
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank R00nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APCustomerCare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Arbatax Park Resort - Dune, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2016

Dear R00nz,
Thank you for your feedback.
While we are glad you have appreciated the food and the wonderful view.
We would like to extend to you our most sincere apologies for the issues you had with the room.
We are sorry that you have experienced delay with the transfer but we do have fixed time. The transfer timetable is available on our website.
We can assure you that we greatly value all our guests and that we will resolve all the issues mentioned by you.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Best Regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews