We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (373)
Filter reviews
373 results
Traveller rating
179
138
42
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
138
42
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews good size lovely hotel a pool view room minute walk from the centre boiled eggs santa teresa stayed here for a week changed daily hot drinks we stayed half board early june the air conditioning each evening hotel is located porto cervo enjoyed our stay supermarket
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 373 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2018

Following the positive reviews, we decided to stay at Hotel Funtana. What a major mistake that was from beginning to end. I walked to the check in desk and the first words uttered were "Pay the city tax now and in cash". Not welcome nothing. I look around to look at the faces of my family. There look said it all. We had made a big mistake. This was confirmed when entering the room and sitting on the bed as hard as rock cakes. We thought we would forget that and go and get a drink at the bar. Nobody was there to serve. Beware that the bar is largely unmanned and you will struggle to get a drink during your stay. We finally decided to get some dinner. Oh what a another major mistake, We ordered pasta (my daughter couldn't eat it and it looked like pebbles that had seen better days. My son ordered seafood which was delivered in a paper bag and looked like the fish had been caught in the last century. That was left uneaten. As for my steak, I would have needed a chainsaw to make in roads. My wife's vegetable casserole looked like mini sting rays that had seen better days floating aimlessly on the sewerage works. £150. Do not eat there. There is a plan whereby hotel recommend each other. There a much better restaurants in the vicinity. Lungano five minutes away is excellent - not in the eyes of the management of the Funtana. Management are the most obnoxious vitriolic people I have met on holidays. Francesca being the worst. Let's go back to the bar. we were served some nibbles with a drink. Beware, they are seconds and have travelled from plate to plate. We noticed many foreign bodies in our bowl. Thus, crisps that aren't finished are tipped from the bowl back into the packet and then onto your plate. I decided the next day to buy our own from the supermarket. Upon ordering a drink I opened them only to be confronted by a junior waiter you came out finger wagging. I spent over £600 on drinks so did not take kindly to being banned at eating my own crisps. After remonstrating, he gave me the offer of either ordering drinks or I could drink from the fountain in the garde. Beware of Gabriel, a vicious little boy

I have had some of the best holidays of my life in Italy. This was my first trip to Sardinia and last. The staff, facilities, rooms give Sardinia a very very bad name. remember the back scratching between the hotels and do your research before going near this hell hole of a place and it's terrible staff and level of Customer Service

Stayed: July 2018
4  Thank WBJB45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caterina L, Proprietario at Hotel La Funtana, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2018

Dear Sirs WBJB45, we remember very well your family, who stayed in the Hotel from the 24th July to the 7th of August, even if you left early because you had health problems.

Managing your stay at the Hotel has been very problematic for us, but the Hotel should not be blamed for your medical condition, indeed the staff have tried in every way to help you.

The director Francesca, does not deserve your complaints, since on several occasions she has accompanied you with her own car at the doctor, avoiding you the expense of taxi or go by walk.
In this regard, remember that you were angry even with the doctor who visited you, which, in your opinion, was not up to height.

As regards to our staff was always friendly with you, even Gabriele, the barman who has just asked you not to consume food and drinks bought outside the Hotel, because doing camping by the pool with the envelopes and food of the supermarket is not decent in a Hotel ****.

Regarding the kitchen, which is our strong point, considering previous reviews of our guests, I can only state that probably your palate is not prepared for a gourmet kitchen as we offer in our Hotel. If you had expressed this complaint in the Hotel, we would certainly have found a way to settle, but you did not and you left, almost without warning, a few days before, just for health reasons.
I also remember that one morning you accused the waiter of giving you a boost and we had confirmation that your vision of reality is heavily filtered by your personal problems.

We are humanly sorry for the problems you have encountered in the Hotel and in life, but our task is to make you spend a good holiday, not to improve the status of your existence.

The Hotel assumes the responsibility for disservices or shortcomings, when motivated and manifested, but against the negative attitude that you had from the beginning to the end of the holiday, we cannot do anything.

Dear Madam, sometimes the baggage that life forces us to carry is heavy, but if we have been given it, perhaps it is because we are able to bear them and make them become experiences that ripen us, without attributing their dissatisfaction to third parties.

I invite you to try to look at life with greater benevolence and wish you all a happy and conscious future.
Best regards,
The staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2018

Our first impressions, the hotel was well maintained, decent size rooms, nice pool and limited choice of food at breakfast.Situated a 10-15 minute walk from the centre of Santa Teresa but a pleasant walk apart from the rickety bridge.Check in was efficient but not very welcoming.
Firstly the room, basic with a very hard bed,(2 singles pushed together) bathroom good size with decent shower and plenty of towels, changed daily if required.
Reception- the staff on reception were not exactly welcoming, they would reluctantly answer any questions but just didn’t seem interested. We had to ask several times for someone to fix our TV, at the fourth attempt someone sorted the problem.
Bar staff, the two young barmen were quite helpful and more accommodating than the other bar staff.We asked one of the girls at the bar if we could borrow a couple of glasses for our room as we didn’t like to drink from the plastic cups provided.She didn’t understand much English but asked the receptionist who said firmly NO not allowed and promptly gave us more plastic cups.We thought this was highly unprofessional and petty.
We couldn’t fault the cleaning staff they were excellent and generally friendly.
Breakfast, typical continental breakfast good choice of bread and pastries hard boiled eggs cold meats etc with scrambled eggs every morning and fatty bacon.What was most surprising was that the fresh fruit in Sardinia was lovely but the hotel only supplied canned fruit or prunes- very disappointing.
Pool, very nice kept beautifully clean and very quiet during the day.Parasols a different matter, one day when the temperatures were 28 degrees we were told no parasols allowed as it was too windy.
Restaurant again the staff let it down, we booked a table for 7.30 pm arrived at 7.25pm and were told by a very arrogant guy to wait in the bar as they were not ready for us.We both had a meal, one was excellent the other was average,wine recommended by one of the young barman was very nice but expensive.
Our overall opinion was that we were an inconvenience rather than guests and despite the good points, the attitude of the staff tainted our stay.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank charliefrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2018

Welcoming staff, doing everything to make you welcome. We arrived late but they still found and excellent meal for us.The pool is good but your photo makes it look far bigger than it is. Nice breakfasts overlooking the pool with plenty of variety.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank roye887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2018 via mobile

Do not touch this place at all. Bad experience of Sardinia! Terrible holiday experience with bad attitudes and lies from the Management and Reception team. Personal items disappearing from my room and public areas, no service by the pool,no lunch menus, waiters telling us that the lunch food was terrible and expensive anyway and suggested us to go to the supermarket across the road to buy bread and make some sandwiches to eat in our room or by the pool. We had to hunt around for someone just to serve us a drink throughout our holiday as public areas and Reception were constantly unmanned. Lovely breakfast with lovely breakfast staff which was a positive. The owners dog constantly drinking out of the hotel pool was not nice to see and unhygienic!The hotel is lovely and could be great but needs a serious change of ownership and Management!! Sardinia is now off the holiday map for us! Shame!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
6  Thank dramakfxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caterina L, Proprietario at Hotel La Funtana, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2018

Dear Mr dramakfxxxx ..., this is your second review on Tripadvisor on this matter. If you want you can write another one.
Your problem is that you lost your passports and you accused us to have stolen them (but we find it in your room after your departure).
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2018

Very enjoyable stay at this friendly family run hotel. Rooms were spacious and very clean. Hotel staff also very helpful and friendly. The hotel restaurant is very good with choice of menus. We found the food good, breakfast excellent choices..The hotel was quiet although fairly close to a road that leads into town of Santa Teresa Gallura. It's about a 15mins walk into town for additional bars and restaurants plus shops. The town church is worth a visit.There is a local beach and also a port close to the hotel with bars and restaurants, worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank donmorris2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caterina L, Proprietario at Hotel La Funtana, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2018

Thank you very much for the good review. We hope we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews