We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great bed but that's about it”
Review of Quality Inn North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn North
Ranked #69 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great bed but that's about it”
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Stayed here with my two children. The facility is aged. Had a room on the second floor and when got to room, noticed someone had jammed a towel in the "locked" outside door to the hallway. When getting ice, also noticed that a first floor outside door had a broken lock thereby letting anyone into the hotel. Our room was ok...carpet was dirty around the edges. The beds had terrific mattresses. No sign of bedbugs (had checked website Bedbug Registry and no sign of this hotel on it). There was a big birthday party in the hotel's conference room, but fortunately wasn't too loud. However, noticed vomit in the hallway the next morning while on my way to the exercise room. The continental breakfast was terrible...Fruit Loops and Frosted Flakes, small stale bagels, tiny lemon poppyseed muffins, and coffee. Zero healthy alternatives. Overall, decent beds but that's about it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    18
    27
    29
    31
See reviews for
46
28
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed one night on our travel to NY. It was 98 degrees outside and the air conditioning was off in the the room. We turned it on and it never did cool down. The sheets were dirty and there was alot of mold on the inside of the shower curtain. Avoid at all cost.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill195753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We checked in to this hotel on July 3 and, upon being given the electronic key and directions to our room, found the "secure" door propped open by a brick and a sign that said the lock was broken "sorry" -- and we went to the check-in clerk and indicated our concern. We also stated we were going to dinner and if the lock was not fixed, we would not stay. Upon our return, the lock was not fixed so we left. The only reason I didn't give the hotel a "terrible" rating for service is because the hotel clerk was wonderful The hotel's check in clerk was very helpful in trying to locate another Choice Hotel room for the night - but that does not fix the security problem. Also, I noticed that someone else posted the "towel" blocking holding the door open in June - so this is obviously an ongoing problem. DO NOT STAY HERE until the security lock is fixed - it is UNSAFE. I attempted to contact Choice Hotels Corporate office three (3) times and each time got the "72 hour investigate and respond" automatic reply. They have not contacted us yet - and it is now July 19th (you do the math: that' is 16 days!) I repeat - do NOT STAY HERE until this is fixed.

Room Tip: Do not stay here until the security locks are fixed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaroonSiwash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We had two rooms; one for my brother, his wife, and my 1 yr old nephew, and another for my son and me. Our room was fine.. except for that it was supposed to have a microwave, but there was just an empty space where it should have been. We asked the front desk for a microwave the first night we were there, but never received one during our three night stay. Maybe they forgot? No big deal.

As for my brother's and his family's room(s)... a nightmare. We arrived into Richmond late at night after a long 15 hour drive from Chicago. When we got in, we all unpacked all of our things, and were getting ready for bed. My sister-in-law went to take a shower, and there was actual raw sewage coming up from the sink and bathtub in their bathroom. It smelled HORRIBLE!!! The front desk was very apologetic and gave them a key to a new room. My son and I helped them repack up all of their things and carry everything down the hall. When they arrived in this new room, the toilet was broken; It didn't flush. At all. Needless to say, my sister-in-law and I had to go back to the front desk and ask for yet another room. The third room they were given was much better than the two previous, except for the fact that when we were unloading our things from the car while in the parking lot, we noticed two men and a woman exit their room via the patio door. We weren't sure if it was their room or what the heck was going on at this point. We went back to the front desk for the fourth time, and they reassured us no one else had keys. Exhausted, we went to their room, no one was there, but had left/forgotten a present in the toilet without flushing. We had no clue who they were, why they were there, or if they were coming back. My sister-in-law was a little freaked out, but my brother reassured her everything would be fine. Weird.

The pool was disgusting, filled with garbage, bugs, and just generally unkempt, period.
The little 50's diner next door is really cute.
And everything else was just ok.

It was worth the $60/night, but I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leblancmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

After check in I went to get ice. The ice machine was missing. I went to the front desk and they said the only other ice machine was in another building. I went to the other building and I noticed that the door were being kept from completely closing by pieces of towel. When I found the ice machine it was totally covered in mold. When I went back for more ice I noticed the towel pieces holding the doors open were gone. I realized that they were holding the doors open because the hotel key cards didn't work on the doors. Turned out that only one door per building had a working door. I had to walk all the way around both buildings to get in.

The next morning when I went to take a shower there wasn't even enough water coming out of the spigot to make the shower head work. I called the front desk and the phone range for 20 minutes. I went to the front desk and there was no one there. I flagged down one of the cleaning staff and they took me to the laundry room where the front desk guy was. It turns out he's in change of the front desk and doing laundry. The laundry room is all the way at the opposite end of the hotel from the front desk. He then gave me a key to another room down the hall. When I went to that room is was evident that someone had just checked out and the room hadn't been cleaned. I then went back to the front desk to get another room. Again I had to track the front desk guy down in the laundry room. Finally on the third room, I had a clean room with a working shower.

I will never stay at this hotel again. The original room was clean enough, but it's obvious that the hotel isn't being maintained properly.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Napoleonva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Pet Friendly Place. Best i can say. After driving 9 hours, we were happy to see that the rooms were very clean and the staff polite.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryMacTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

This motel was very nice. The room was large. The beds were comfortable and the room was very clean. We didn't really care for the grab and go breakfast, but it is good for someone that doesn't have time to sit and eat in a dining room.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
6.5 km away
Clarion Hotel Richmond Central
0.5 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#33 of 81 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.8 km away
Days Inn Glen Allen
Days Inn Glen Allen
#19 of 23 in Glen Allen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Quality Inn West End
Quality Inn West End
#38 of 81 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.7 km away
Best Western Plus Glen Allen Inn
19.0 km away
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn North

Property: Quality Inn North
Address: 801 E Parham Rd, Richmond, VA 23227-1107 (Formerly Clarion Inn North)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Inn North 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Otel, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn North Hotel Richmond
Holiday Inn Richmond
Richmond Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing