We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,233)
Filter reviews
1,233 results
Traveller rating
671
372
118
46
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
671
372
118
46
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews row houses valet parking garden room rocking chairs shuttle service period furniture edgar allen poe historic feel urban farmhouse the main house street parking historic property high ceilings charming hotel cookie cutter within walking distance chain hotels
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,233 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived about 6: 30 p.m. to one person at the desk and no one to help with our bags. We were directed to go through the door make a right, make a left go up stairs. It was dark and we couldn't find the room. Got more directions to go to the back of the property. Then up about a dozen steps with our suitcases (we're in our 70s). Didn't see that coming. The door knob/lock was loose making it hard to insert key. When I closed the first drape a bunch of plastic clips fell on the floor. But the WORST was going through the courtyard area at night to get out -- RATS were scurrying around both nights we were there. We were never told there was a marathon going on on Saturday and that we wouldn't be able to access our valet-parked car or use the inn's van as the streets were shut until the afternoon.
On the plus side the staff were extremely nice and tried to accommodate. The knob issue was fixed while we were at dinner, and the drape the next morning.The bathroom was nice, the room was clean, and the public spaces are pleasant. But management needs to do their part and give these folks a better managed property.

Room Tip: The garden room is a separate building and the upstairs requires you to climb about a dozen outside steps.
  • Stayed: November 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavaraHospitality, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We are terribly sorry for all of the issues you encountered during your stay at our historic property.

Needless to say, it is clear that we failed on many fronts during your visit. To that end, we will be working with the relevant members of our team to review and correct our processes for preventative maintenance in guest rooms, and for ensuring that all guests are receiving the necessary communication and support beginning at the time of booking.

We are also appalled to hear about the sightings noted in our garden area, and have contacted our pest control provider to investigate further.

We have attempted to communicate with you to make discuss your experience in further detail, and would welcome the opportunity to continue our conversation and make amends. We hope that you do consider giving us another chance should your travels bring you back to downtown Richmond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We pulled up late on a rainy night to Linden Row. Unless you've done a little research, it's not clear exactly where you go inside to check in, or where you're supposed to leave your car. We did find the lobby and check-in desk; the clerk was very helpful, got us checked in, and suggested the options for parking our car (there's no hotel parking lot).

Valet parking is available for $18, which (if you're not going to come up with your own parking solution) needs to be factored in to the cost of staying the night. This is the middle of Downtown, after all. We decided to park about half a block away on First Street, figuring, correctly, that we wouldn't get a ticket that night or on the morning, and it worked.

The hotel itself is partly a century-old Women's Seminary, along with courtyard row houses. It has twists and turns and gardens and courtyards and alleys and is a lot of fun, and VERY nicely done. You'll never see another one like it.

The room was cozy, clean, and well-equipped. One wall was brick, with an old fireplace in it, and charming. Refrigerator, microwave, Keurig, and a nice tiled bathroom with a good shower.

With nearby downtown hotels being $250+ per night, the $104 + $18 was a bargain, and I can't imagine staying anywhere else in downtown Richmond if a room is available here!

  • Stayed: November 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travellerone2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavaraHospitality, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We appreciate you for taking the time to write this detailed review about your stay with us. Since our property was converted into a hotel from seven row homes, Linden Row Inn has a lot of history behind its very unique layout. We are glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Six girlfriends stayed here for 2 nights to attend the flower show at the VMFA. Robyn, the manager made every effort to give us rooms close to one another. The lovely parlor was great for an after dinner gathering where we brought a bottle of wine and crackers and cheese. There are a couple of courtyards that we would have enjoyed had the weather been warmer. It’s just a short walk to The Jefferson if you want to go for dinner too. And Mike the shuttle driver is also a great tour guide, thank you Mike.
Hint - don’t pay extra for the breakfast package, it’s not that great and service is slow. Better off walking around the corner to the Jewish deli Pearlys. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank fkubick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavaraHospitality, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are thrilled to hear that you and your friends got to enjoy a stay with us at Linden Row Inn for a girl’s getaway weekend! With its variety of art galleries, historic attractions and dining locations, downtown Richmond is a great place to visit. Please come back to visit us again should your travels bring you to Richmond!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Well kept historic hotel in the middle of downtown Richmond. I stayed here for the Richmond Marathon and it was perfect because the starting line was only about 4 blocks away. The front desk was friendly. There are some public parking areas near the hotel but we decided to valet so we didn’t have to worry about getting towed. The valet is $18 per day. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom/room was clean. The only complaint was that the walls were thin so I heard people coming in and out of their rooms during the night. There is a nice cafe in the lobby that serves breakfast and has a variety of beer/wine. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay downtown in Richmond.

Stayed: November 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank JasonB296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavaraHospitality, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us during Richmond Marathon! We are so happy to hear about your positive experience, and we greatly appreciate your kind words about our guest rooms and guest service. Please come back to visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed for a long weekend for a friends’ wedding.
The price was affordable. I was very impressed.
Being that I work in a library, the historic charm was right up my alley!
My room, located in one of the courtyard carriage houses was warm & so comfortable.
The staff were so sweet, friendly & accommodating!
The restaurant at the Inn was quaint & country-style. The food was delish!
I didn’t want to leave & can’t wait to go back!
Anita

Stayed: November 2018, travelled solo
Thank Anitafuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavaraHospitality, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your delightful review and for choosing to stay with us during your time in Richmond for your friends’ special day. We greatly appreciate your kind words and are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We cannot wait to welcome you back to Linden Row!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews