We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!”
Review of Tio Pablo

Tio Pablo
Ranked #185 of 1,846 Restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Reviewed December 10, 2016 via mobile

Really enjoyed lunch at Tio Pablo! Everything here is gluten-free, which was fantastic to have the option of selecting anything & everything on the menu!! I had the taco plate. Didn't care for the Al Pastor taco (most of the meat in this taco was globs of fat...not a pleasant eating experience). Completely on the other end of the spectrum was the Huevos Rancheros taco, which I would reorder any time. It was amazing. Black beans were great. Homemade salsa in the squeeze bottles were really good (make sure you ask for them, otherwise you will get a dish of onion-dominated "salsa" with your chips), and the Tres Leches cake was delish. Go for lunch, not the best neighborhood for dinner or traveling solo.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank stephLexington_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 55 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2016 via mobile

Have been more than once and it seems to get better every time. Had a Cuban pork taco, shrimp taco, and Chiles Rellanos this time. All excellent. Attentive, friendly service and an enjoyable atmosphere. Will continue to be a regular!

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank Windmill32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2016

Discovered this place on Yelp, which doesn't seem very well established in Richmond. Anywho:

5 star items:
+pico: so fresh! Probably the best pico ive had at a restaurant

Habenero salsa: no joke spicy, i used it to doctor up the cheese dip

Chicken taco: well seasoned and the cheese goes nicely

4 star:
Margs: mixed well it is a smooth marg and goes down easy

3 star:
Cheese dip: i love cheese and this is no exception but it needed the salsa add for flavor

Al pastor: needed more time in the marinade i think. A little bland

Black bean side: just beans i was hoping for the puree style but my bad for not asking

Potatoes: cooked well but meh. Potatoes.

Food came quickly and THANK YOU for serving your full menu and not being dumb like DC and only doing brunch

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nderiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

Looks like a great place to meet friends or a date for a drink. We went with whole family for my second time. Drinks are great and pupusas are heavenly. The decor is awesome. Also if you require or are into it, everything including drinks is gluten free.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2016

Small restaurant with lots of character. Food always good and original. Not the usual Mexican type food - but not fancy either.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank F6309LCjennifern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tio Pablo also viewed

 

Been to Tio Pablo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing