We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveller rating
158
58
30
17
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
158
58
30
17
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ceiling fan full kitchen rooftop pool parking garage evening reception ale house excellent stay breakfast staff living area perfect location rooms are huge pull out sofa great property recommend staying here close proximity complimentary breakfast hotel room
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 277 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2018

The room was clean, nice size and everything I needed. The DOOR was very hard to lock when leaving the room and I was able to enter the room after slamming the door closed — several times!

One time, I entered my room for the evening and it looked like the door was ajar; like someone was trying to get in. I examined the room and nothing was disturbed, but it wasn't great that the door was like that.

I did report about the door to the management the next day.

The hotel's parking was tough because the spaces were a tight squeeze, but workable.

The oddest thing was the new type of elevator button system using a touchpad. You touch for the floor and it directs you to an elevator. Then it opens and you enter it — you never need to touch a button.

While that's kind of neat, several times I entered the elevator and it went to up instead of down, etc. And, since there are no buttons to send it to the correct floor, you need to exit the elevator and start the process over.

Maybe they can update the software or something. ;-)

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NoFearGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
934gillianc, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Richmond - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks NoFearGuy! That was all very useful suggestions and exactly why we appreciate feedback from our guests! Thanks for commenting on how clean and spacious our rooms were! Come back soon please.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2018

Close to train station and everything downtown. Great property, clean room, nice people at check in. Went to American Idol audition with a group and we enjoyed staying there. Breakfast was good and lots of selection. Thank you

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank mrsrampani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2018

We chose this hotel over others in the area because of the rooftop bar and pool as well as the shuttle. We were unable to use any of these features and would have been much better off staying at the Marriott closer to the convention center

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank SwissPhiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2018

This hotel had a lot of good qualities, but we were really disappointed to walk into a smoky room on a non smoking floor. The room had a nice set up, and super comfy beds. Really tasty down home evening reception. Breakfast was just okay-nothing impressive. The bowls for fruit were always hot-which was odd. Each day I left a note for housekeeping staff asking for extra towels, but they never left any. Super high tech elevators were cool. Staff was nice. Good location.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2018

We stayed 5 nights for the convenience and the location. The location plus the included breakfast are real pluses for this hotel. On the downside, the parking spaces are REALLY narrow, so don't come here in a pick-up truck. (We didn't). 2 of the 4 elevators have doors that grind and grate. The air-conditioner is set at 68F or colder, in spite of management's offer to change it "somewhere". Our shower stall had black mold that was going to be removed (according to the maintenance man) the first day we were there. It was still there 5 days later. Our carpet was never vacuumed in the 5 days we were there. The no coffee left for us, no hand towels left for us, and the day before's coffee grounds were still in the coffee maker. All in all, not a great review.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Yvette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews