We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveller rating
225
76
19
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
225
76
19
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main squarethe air conditioningtown squarethe hotel's restauranthotel is situatedhand towelslounge areadelightful hotelperfect locationumbrian countrysidemade us feelpiazzabathvalleysofamariasunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 332 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2018

My wife and I enjoyed a fabulous week at Palazzo Bontadosi Hotel. Great location right in the middle of local life with great local restaurants and wine bars....perfect base to venture out for amazing day trips to local villages...we had the room at the back with a balcony overlooking the Umbrian country side. Awesome !

Stayed: October 2017
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoBontadosi1, Direttore at Palazzo Bontadosi Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2018

Dear Mr. John G,
Thank You for taking the time to review your stai at the Palazzo Bontadosi. We're really glad to read that Your experience in Montefalco and at our Hotel was one to remember.
We're really looking forward to hosting You again in the future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2017

Despite all the wonderful reviews, we did not experience any of the things that everyone else has written about, possibly due to new management. Whilst the room was perfectly comfortable, it did not justify the price charged. The bathroom, on the other hand, was very disappointing. The shower itself was tiny, it was almost impossible to swap between the top and bottom showers (apparently to fix that would require replacing the entire shower which the management is not prepared to do) and there was no where to place the soap except for on the floor (again, apparently the management didn't want to pay for it). They also hadn't bothered to tile the floor, so it felt quite unpleasant underfoot, and the mirror was chipped. They also often didn't bother to give us a bath mat, so we had to use one of the hand towels. All in all more akin to showering in a hostel than a 4* hotel!

The staff were almost entirely absent, with no one there in the afternoons to ask questions to in English or deal with any of our complaints. In the morning, we weren't offered eggs until the last morning, and the spread on offer was rather disappointing for this quality of hotel.

The location is great, as is the attached restaurant, but I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller_C_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoBontadosi1, addetto portineria at Palazzo Bontadosi Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2017

We are sincerely sorry that your stay has not been as you expected .
I would really like to discuss these critical issues with you when you'll check out,
but we will try to take advantage of your criticisms as well.
And we hope that one day you'll come back.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2017

The hotel is set in the main square of Montefalco where you can watch the goings on in the quiet square which is always interesting, while eating breakfast or enjoying a coffee or a drink. Our room was at the back of the hotel with fantastic views over the valley - it couldn't be better situated. The room itself was beautifully decorated and quite quirky. The shower head broke near the end of our stay, however it wasn't a problem and was fixed by the time we needed it that day. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and the cakes freshly made by Alessandra and served with the breakfast buffet are amazing!
We ate at the restaurant attached to the hotel three times and really enjoyed the food and friendly service. We were meant to eat there on our last night, however the weather was sadly not great so we left one day early to go further north where the sun was shining. Despite leaving a day early (our 8th there) the staff at the hotel were very kind and did not charge us for the missed day. All in all a brilliant hotel and I would highly recommend staying there.

Room Tip: A room at the back has beautiful views over the valley.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoBontadosi1, addetto portineria at Palazzo Bontadosi Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2017

Dear Mrs Sarah,
it was a pleasure for us to have a wonderful guests like you.
Thank you so much for your kind words, we really appreciate it.
We looking forward to seeing you soon in Montefalco.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2017

This is a delightful hotel in a perfect position overlooking the main square in Wonderful Montefalco. Our room at the back of the hotel was clean, quiet & beautiful with wonderful views across the countryside. I cannot fault the hotel design and the staff who were helpful & friendly.

The restaurant is relaxing, the waiters are friendly, knowledgeable and the whole experience is a joy. Pasqualino's cooking is outstanding and creative and Paolo helps turn the meal into a truly memorable experience, this is the second year we have eaten here. We will keep returning.

What is needed though is some care with the garden and plants. Please, remove dead plants and trees from the pots and replant. The small garden at the back could be as beautiful as the hotel. Similarly the solarium needs new furniture, plants and a lick of paint, not much.

My other suggestion would be a small swimming pool at the back of the garden for those hot summer months.

Having said all this can't wait to return

Room Tip: Views at the back are amazing and completely quiet
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank selmaann2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2017

We have just returned from a great holiday in Italy, Rome, Tuscany and Umbria. While it was a wonderful experience, we were really disappointed in this hotel after having researched it thoroughly ahead of our trip. We have heard that they just went through a management change recently so that may explain it. During the course of our stay we encountered numerous service and quality problems. When we first were shown our room (and it was terribly hot out that day) , the room was hot and we are told nothing about it. So, I ask and then am told the a/c is broken and maybe tomorrow it will be working. I said we cannot stay in this room and the person did not look too happy about accommodating us even though the hotel was not even close to being fully booked. After going back to our travel service and having them speak to the hotel, we were then provided with another room. The next day the a/c was not working in the new room but the weather had cooled down so opening the window at night provided fresh cool air. The next day which we purposely left open, we were hoping to use the hotel's spa, we were told it was not working and needed repair and may be working the next day which diod not help us as we had booked other tours.

Generally, the front desk staff were not very friendly and could not speak much if any English at all. The way the front desk is constructed, when it is manned (which is on and off as the front desk person is often doing other hotel duties such as making coffee for those having breakfast), that when the person is seated behind the desk, they cannot see anyyone coming in or going out so forget about any type of greeting. It feels like the hotel has just cut back on their staffing and it is noticeable.

We found the people working in the restaurant to be much more friendly, spoke better English, and were helpful. Wish I could have felt the same way about the hotel staff.

It is a shame as the Montefalco area is great and this hotel is perfectly located and is very pretty. But it needs some real TLC in its care, upkeep, and more professional and trained staff to be considered a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank upontheroof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews